Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/10/13

It’s been awhile since I featured something American.  I have been waiting for the new She & Him album and it’s finally out.  Looks like it’s gonna be an adorkable playlist this week.

Simply named “Volume 3”, Zooey Deschanel and partner Matt Ward (aka M. Ward), released their 3rd collaboration as She & Him.  To be completely honest, maybe my expectations were too high.  As a whole, the album sounds very similar from track to track and to “Volume 1” and “Volume 2” and so the tracks didn’t immediately peak my interest.  I’d say you have to be patient with the album and listen to it several times.  Overall, it was the lyrics of the originally composed/written track that drew me to the songs.

Sidenote: Upon my search for the album’s lyrics, I noticed a lot of false/wrong lyrics circulating on the internet so I had to sit with the track and transcribe it by ear.  That’s why I love that K-pop lyrics are readily more available in the album jackets or on internet music portal sites.  I don’t understand why many Western artist don’t include this info on their website.  Don’t you want fans to be singing the correct lyrics?  Honestly, some of the She & Him lyrics on the web don’t even make sense.

Zooey Deschanel wrote most of the lyrics on the album and while the melody has that distinct, perhaps innocent, sounds of the 50’s, the lyrics are sardonically modern.  “I’ve Got Your Number, Son” and  I Could’ve Been Your Girl” have a lot of similarities.  There’s the subject matter and even the melody.  Really, they should have combined the best lines of both songs into one.

But I enjoy listening to both songs.  “I’ve Got Your Number, Son” has got this spunky phrasing and an energetic use of the piano.  The girl is asking her guy who does he think he is, warning that she’s not above telling everyone details about their relationship and his selfish ways.  However, I decided to go with “I Could’ve Been Your Girl” because I love the lyrics of the chorus.  She basically gives the guy his coulda, woulda, shoulda’s while comparing him to her lucky charm if he had stuck by her.  Also while she doesn’t sing in the same key as Doris Day, her intonations here remind me of the classic starlet.  I could so imagine Doris singing this to Rock Hudson.

She & Him – I Could’ve Been Your Girl

She & Him – I Could’ve Been Your Girl

I Could’ve Been Your Girl

It doesn’t matter,
If I were willing
It doesn’t matter that the lights are tender love
Oh, oh,
I know you have to go
It doesn’t matter,
I fought my heart
It’s broken, shattered to a million and one
I’m done, I guess I haven’t won

Cause I could’ve been your girl
And you could’ve been my four leaf clover
If I could do it over
I’d send you the pillow that I cry on

It doesn’t matter,
I just begun.
And if you see me,
Just move on.
Cause we are free and never meant to be

Cause I could’ve been your girl
And you could’ve been my four leaf clover
If I could do it over
I’d send you the pillow that I cry on

Cause I could’ve been your girl
And you could’ve been my four leaf clover
If I could do it over
I’d send you the pillow that I cry on

Cause I could’ve been your girl
And you could’ve been my four leaf clover
If I could do it over
I’d send you the pillow that I cry on

I could have sworn that Doris Day sang “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me” but I just can’t find her version.  I know the Connie Francis version but the song was originally made famous in 1952 by Karen Chandler.  Simply put, it’s romantical.  I thought it was a good choice to add it to their album because many of their songs, like the one above, are more angsty.  Just try not to get all swoony after hearing their version.

She & Him – Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me

She & Him – Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me

Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me

Hold me, hold me, never let me go
Until you told me, told me what I want to know
And then just hold me, hold me,
Make me tell you I’m in love with you

Thrill me, thrill me, walk me down the lane
Wish I will be, will be, hiding others just the same
As we’ll be, we’ll be when you make me tell you I love you

They told me be sensible with your new love,
Don’t be a fool, thinking this is the last you’ll find
But they never stood in the dark with you, love
When you take me in your arms and drive me slowly out of my mind

Kiss me, kiss me, and when you do I know that you will
Miss me, miss me if we ever say I do
So kiss me, kiss me, make me tell you I’m in love with you

They told me be sensible with your new love,
Don’t be fool, thinking this is the last you’ll find
But they never stood in the dark with you, love
When you take me in your arms and drive me slowly out of my mind

Kiss me, kiss me, and when you do I know that you will
Miss me, miss me, if you ever say I do
So kiss me, kiss me, make me tell you I’m in love with you,
Make me tell you I’m in love with you

And finally, I had to add this Blondie cover of “Sunday Girl”.  She & Him’s style is more folk-sy and I like that this song is more of that indie pop vibe with a hint of disco.  While I mentioned that the rest of the album sounds very similar from one track after another, this one definitely made my ears perk up.  Plus, a section of the song is in French.  It’s been awhile since I last spoke French and I’m a bit rusty so literally pardon my French and the translations below if there are any mistakes.

She & Him – Sunday Girl

She & Him – Sunday Girl

Sunday Girl

I know a girl from a lonely street,
Cold as ice cream, but still as sweet,
Dry your eyes, Sunday girl

Hey, I saw your guy with a different girl,
Looks like he’s in another world,
Run and hide, Sunday girl

Hurry up, hurry up and wait,
I stay awake all week and still I wait
I got the bruise, please come see
What your love it makes to me

She can’t catch up with the working crowd
The weekend mood and she’s feeling proud
Live in dreams, Sunday girl

Baby, I would like to go out tonight,
If I go with you, my folks will get uptight,
Stay at home, Sunday girl

Hurry up, hurry up and wait,
I stay awake all week and still I wait
I got the bruise, please come see
What your love it makes to me

Hey, j’ai vu ton mec
Avec une autre fille
Il semblait dans un autre monde
Cours te cacher, Sunday girl

Quand je t’ai revu
L’éte j’ai decidé
Si ton amour était pareil au mien
Je pourrais être, Sunday girl

Dépêche-toi, dépêche-toi et attends
Toute la semaine absent et pourtant j’attends
J’ai le cafard, je t’en prie viens voir
Ce que ton amour represente pour moi

Dépêche-toi, dépêche-toi et attends
Toute la semaine absent et pourtant j’attends
J’ai le cafard, je t’en prie viens voir
Ce que ton amour represente pour moi

Got the blues, hurry up, hurry up,
Hurry up and wait.
Hurry up, hurry up, hurry up,
Please come see
What you do to me

Sunday Girl

I know a girl from a lonely street,
Cold as ice cream, but still as sweet,
Dry your eyes, Sunday girl

Hey, I saw your guy with a different girl,
Looks like he’s in another world,
Run and hide, Sunday girl

Hurry up, hurry up and wait,
I stay awake all week and still I wait
I got the bruise, please come see
What your love it makes to me

She can’t catch up with the working crowd
The weekend mood and she’s feeling proud
Live in dreams, Sunday girl

Baby, I would like to go out tonight,
If I go with you, my folks will get uptight,
Stay at home, Sunday girl

Hurry up, hurry up and wait,
I stay awake all week and still I wait
I got the bruise, please come see
What your love it makes to me

Hey, I’ve seen your guy
With another girl
He seemed to be in another world
Run and hide, Sunday girl

When I reexamined you
The summer I decided
If your love was the same as mine
I could be, Sunday girl

Hurry up, hurry up and wait
Absent all week and still I wait
Feeling gloomy, please come to see
What your love represents to me

Hurry up, hurry up and wait
Absent all week and still I wait
Feeling gloomy, please come to see
What your love represents to me

Got the blues, hurry up, hurry up
Hurry up and wait
Hurry up, hurry up, hurry up,
Please come see
What you do to me

Leave a Reply

