Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/24/13

Spring always puts me in a jazzy kind of mood.  And I guess the other thing you can’t really escape about spring are songs about love.  There are a couple of songs (and artists) that I’ve been meaning to introduce but I just didn’t get a chance until now.  Let’s start with a group that I’m happy to see have made their comeback.

2PM is back!  I like their album.  I do.  But I can’t really say that there’s anything on the album that blew me away.  Despite the title of the album, sound-wise 2PM hasn’t really grown all that much.  The tracks of “Grown” sounds typically 2PM but as men?  Well, let’s let the pictures do the talking.

I could have been annoyed about the music aspect but I’m strangely okay it.  Lately I’ve been feeling like JYP has hit the creativity wall and been really bummed about how Park Ji Min (15&) is being managed unlike her runner-up counterparts but that’s a long story for another day.

As for “Grown”, I like both of the title songs, “이 노래를 듣고 돌아와 (Listen to this Song Before You Come Back)” and “하.니.뿐. (Ha. Nee. Bbun. – abbreviation of All Day, I Think Only of You)”.  Actually for “하.니.뿐. (All Day, I Think Only of You)”, I was attracted to the music video and the dance more than anything else.

However, the track I wanted to post about today was “오늘부터 1일 (Day 1 Starting From Today)”.  Okay, it’s more of an R&B number rather than jazz but the chorus caught my ears due to the use of what sounds like synthesized brass instruments.  It’s a sweet confession song that you expect from the likes of these jim-seung-dols (짐승돌) or Beastly Idols/Untamable Idols of 2PM.  Rawr.  Hee hee…

2PM – 오늘부터 1일 (Day 1 Starting From Today)

2PM – 오늘부터 1일

오늘부터 1일

Yeah I think I’m in love
Think about your love
Yeah I’m fallin’ in love Listen
멀리서도 네가 보여
난 느낌이 와 왠지 난
오늘이 그 날 우리 사귀는 그 날
다른 남자와는 달라 난
너 빼고는 out of mind
더 못 참겠어 좀 더 가까이 와
(Oh girl) 솔직히 말할게
(Oh girl) 이러다가 미칠 것 같애
(Oh girl) 아침 태양 같애
이제 네가 없는 밤이 길어
내 곁에만 둘거야
오늘부터 1일인거야 우리
드라마 같은 운명인거야 둘이
영화 같은 설렘일거야 I do
너에겐 내가 딱이야
진짜 이런 적이 이번 첨이야
왜 좋냐고 내게 묻지마
하루 1분 1초가
너만 보다가 금세 사라지나봐
다른 남자와는 달라 난
나 빼고는 믿지마
더 못 참겠어 좀 더 가까이 와
밥, 영화 n coffee n go home
아무 일도 없이 보낸
date course no more
널 그냥 보내고
메모했던 taxi number가
어림잡아 벌써 수십 개가 넘어
이쯤 되면 너도 감 잡았잖아
고백하면
눈 딱 감고 받아줘라
Baby girl, would you be my girlfriend?
that’s right 오늘부터 1일
오늘부터 비밀이 생길거야
오늘부터 너만 내 여잔거야
오늘부터 너랑만 아는 거야
(너에겐 내가 딱이야
진짜 이런 적이 이번 첨이야)
처음부터 미친 듯 끌린거야
처음부터 완벽할 순 없잖아
처음부터 하나씩 알아갈래
(너에겐 내가 딱이야)

Day 1 Starting From Today

Yeah I think I’m in love
Think about your love
Yeah I’m fallin’ in love Listen
I see you from faraway
Somehow I have that uncanny feeling
Today is the day, the day we start dating
Different from other guys, I’m
Without you out of mind
Can’t take it, get a little closer
(Oh girl) Let’s talk honestly
(Oh girl) I’ll go crazy like this
(Oh girl) You’re like the morning sun
Now nights without you are long
I’ll just keep you by my side
It’s day 1 starting from today, for us
Drama-like destiny, for us two
Movie-like thrill, I do
For you, I’m the perfect fit
Really, it’s the first time this has happened
Why do I like you? Don’t ask me
One day, one minute, one second is
Immediately disappear after looking at only you
Different from other guys, I’m
Without me, don’t believe anyone else
Can’t take it, get a little closer
Dinner, movie n coffee n go home
Like nothing happened,
date course no more
Just sent you home and
the written down taxi number is
already countless by my rough estimate
By this time, you must have also caught on
When I confess,
close your eyes and please accept
Baby girl, would you be my girlfriend?
that’s right, day 1 starting from today
Starting from today, secrets will form
Starting from today, you’re my only woman
Starting from today, I’ll know only you
(For you, I’m the perfect fit
Really, it’s the first time this has happened)
From the start, I was crazily attracted to you
From the start, it couldn’t be perfect
From the start, one by one I’ll get to know you
(For you, I’m the perfect fit)

_____________________________________________________

Gain and Cho Hyung Woo collaborated on an album together called “Romantic Spring”.  I don’t really know much of anything about Cho Hyung Woo except that he was on Star Audition: The Great Birth.  However, I kind of like this new look to Gain.  For me, she always comes off sexy and it totally works for her.  Seeing this sweet side is a change pace.  A nice change of pace.

The whole album has this softness, except for maybe “Sway”, which is my least favorite song on the album by the way.  I think perhaps I was expecting Dean Martin’s “Sway” (covered brilliantly by Michael Bublé several years ago).  “Sway” on “Romantic Spring” album just… doesn’t… make me… sway.

However, I love the gentleness of “2시의 데이트 (2 O’clock Date)”.  You can hear it in the words, you can hear it in the melody, you can hear it in their voices.  You get a sense of the anxiousness in their voices as they’re waiting for the date but the song’s melody doesn’t feel at all hurried.  Like the ticking of the clock, it keeps its pace.

Gain & Cho Hyung Woo – 2시의 데이트 (2 O’clock Date)

가인 & 조형우 – 2시의 데이트

2시의 데이트

1시 1분, 1시 2분, 1시 3분
시간이 참 안 간다
유난히 오늘
1시 4분, 1시 5분, 1시 6분
너무 빨리 왔나봐
너의 집 앞에
내가 맘이 급해 이런 걸까
그댄 지금 뭐할까
드디어 너를 만날 그토록 기다렸던
2시
지금 나갈게

그대의 Tender Love, Tender Kiss
부드런 속삭임
ooh~ 매일 그대를 어제보다 사랑해요
Tender Touch, Tender Lips
오후를 닮은 너
날 사랑하나요
다 알면서도 또 듣고 싶어
그 말

4월 1일, 4월 2일, 4월 3일
시간이 참 더디다 유난히 내겐
내가 더 좋아서 이런 걸까
끝도 없는 설레임
드디어 떠나는 날 그토록 기다렸던
그 날
몇 시에 볼까

그대의 Tender Love, Tender Kiss
부드런 속삭임
ooh~ 매일 그대를 어제보다 사랑해요
Tender Touch, Tender Lips
오후를 닮은 너
날 사랑하나요
다 알면서도 또 듣고 싶어

난 그대가 참 좋아요
사랑한단 말보다
자주하는 말

마지막 한 사람 고를 수 있다면
난 그대 할래요
다시 묻고 또 물어도
그대가 맞아요 그대는 어때요?
ooh~ 그런 표정은
나만 볼래요
사랑에 빠진 얼굴

2 O’clock Date

1:01, 1:02, 1:03
Time doesn’t seem to be moving,
particularly today
1:04, 1:05, 1:06
Must have come too early,
in front of your house
Is it because I’m impatient?
What could you be doing right now?
Finally, waiting all that time to meet you,
it’s 2 o’clock
Will come out now

Your Tender Love, Tender Kiss
Soft whispers
ooh~ Every day, I love you more than yesterday
Tender Touch, Tender Lips
You resemble the afternoon
Do you love me?
Though I know it, I want to hear it again
Those words

April 1st, April 2nd, April 3rd
Time sure is slow, particularly to me
Is it because I like you more?
Endless nervousness
Finally, waiting all that time for the day we leave,
it’s the day
What time shall we meet?

Your Tender Love, Tender Kiss
Soft whispers
ooh~ Every day, I love you more than yesterday
Tender Touch, Tender Lips
You resemble the afternoon
Do you love me?
Though I know it, I want to hear it again

I like you very much
Rather than saying I love you,
the words you often say

If I can choose my one, final person
I want to choose you,
even if you ask again and still ask again
It’s you, how about you?
ooh~ that expression,
want to be the only one who sees it
A face of a person in love

_____________________________________________________

I’ve been listening to this indie group for a while now but I just never heard a track from them that overwhelmed me like the one below.  Vanilla Acoustic debuted in 2008 and there are three members: “Vanilla Man” Jung Jae Won, Cho Na Rae and Sung Ah.

“잿꽃 (Ashen Flower)” is the title song off their most recent album which they released a little over a month ago.  I was really drawn to the melody.  In fact, it sounds eerily familiar to another song but I can’t quite place my finger on what that song is.  If anyone else can figure it out, please share in the comments below.  At first I was thinking Leessang’s “광대 (Clown)” but I think it was the steady beat of the song that reminded me of it as the melody is kind of different.

Unlike the two songs I featured above, this is not a happy love song but I still really wanted to share it.  I love Sung Ah’s voice here because it’s just so intoxicating.  Even more so, I love the title of the song and how it depicts how this relationship has withered.  And yet she’s holding on.  There are things worth hanging on to but you need to know when to let other things go.  I suppose that’s the whole point as the song has been relentlessly playing over and over in my head.

Vanilla Acoustic – 잿꽃 (Ashen Flower)

바닐라 어쿠스틱(Vanilla Acoustic) – 잿꽃

잿꽃

뒤척거리다 포기하죠
잠든다는 게 이렇게 힘들었나요
며칠 동안 뜬 눈으로만
지새웠죠
TV를 보다 꺼버렸죠
혼자라는 게 이렇게 외로웠었나요
네가 있던 그 빈자리가
참 크죠
내 맘에 이렇게 커다랗게 상처만 남긴
사랑이
어디가 좋아서 아쉬워서
왜 자꾸만 흔들리죠
친구를 만나도 소용 없죠
헤어지는 게 이렇게 힘들었나요
너의 자리 아무도 채울 수 없죠
생각에 잠겨 추억에 갇혀
오늘도 울고 있네요
괜찮았는데 견딜만 했는데
다시 또 아파오네요
나빴죠 그거 알죠
이렇게 아픈 사람이
왜 좋아서 아쉬워서
나 자꾸만 생각나죠

Ashen Flower

After tossing and turning, I give up
Was falling asleep always this hard?
For several days, with only my eyes open,
stayed up all night
Turned off the TV after watching some
Was being alone always this lonely?
That empty space, where you used to be,
is quite large
Left a big scar on my heart like this,
this love
How was that good, because I’m sad
Why do I keep wavering?
Though I meet friends, there’s no use
Was it always this hard to break up?
No one else can fill that space you occupied
Locked in my thoughts, trapped in my memories
It seems I’m crying again today
I was okay, though I could bear it,
Again the pain is coming back
You’re awful, you know that, right?
There’s a person in pain here
Why did I like you? Because you’re sorry,
do you keep thinking of me?

Leave a Reply

