Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/31/13

For those that aren’t fans of jazz music, I apologize.  However, I had been looking forward to Lee Ki Chan’s latest album for awhile due to the genre.  Plus, it was a little hard to find this album so get ready to jive.  I promise to vary things up next week.

Lee Ki Chan’s latest album is called “Twelve Hits” and while he’s mostly known as a ballad artist, this latest release is all jazz and big band.  As the title suggests, he covers 12 hit songs in the jazz style, collaborating with Czech National Symphony Orchestra and the Holland All Star Band.  I can’t say that I consistently listened to Lee Ki Chan since his debut but I know he’s done a lot of OST music, most recently for Arang and the Magistrate.

Though I’m not featuring K-Pop this week, here is an old school K-Pop song by the ‘90’s group, Cool.  The group (kinda) disbanded in 2005 but came back together to make an album in 2008 and 2009.  These days, they occasionally still put on performances together as a group.  Cool is made up of 3 members: Rapper Kim Sung Soo, Lead Singer Lee Jae Hoon and Female Singer Yuri.  “슬퍼지려하기 전에 (Before You Get Sad)” is their hit song from 1995 and Lee Ki Chan’s version totally caught me off guard.  Below is the original version:

I didn’t notice the song at first (forgive me, after all the song is from 18 years ago) because the original poppy song was so nicely transformed and arranged into this big band number.  It gives the song a completely different feeling.

On a sidenote, Lee Ki Chan also does Kim Gun Mo’s “첫인상 (First Impression)” on the album but I prefer the original version.  Although Park Jung Hyun does a noteworthy cover of the song on I am a Singer – if you look past the awkward dancing.  I kid!  Maybe.  It’s just that hearing a jazz version, albeit with a latin vibe, is kinda expected with this song.  Whereas it’s a bit unexpected with “슬퍼지려하기 전에 (Before You Get Sad)”.

Lee Ki Chan –  슬퍼지려하기 전에 (Before You Get Sad)

이기찬 – 슬퍼지려하기 전에

슬퍼지려하기 전에

가끔씩 그대 생각을 할 때마다
늘 가까운 듯 멀게만 느껴지는데
오 이렇게 널 만날 때에
날 사랑한다지만
뒤돌아서면
왠지 슬픈 예감만이

너무도 변해버린 모습은 내게
말할 수 없는 아픔을 전해주지만
그래 너 이젠 그만 힘들어 해
나 그런 너의 맘을 이해 할 수 있어

오, 나를 바라보는 그대 눈빛
말하지 않아도
우리의 마지막을 난 준비하려해

오, 나의 사랑을 속여가며
웃음지려 한 건
뒤돌아 흘릴 눈물
눈물 때문이야 오

그래 나이젠 널 떠나보내 줄게
더이상 슬퍼지려 하기전에

오, 나를 바라보는 그대 눈빛
말하지 않아도
우리의 마지막을 난 준비하려 해

오, 나의 사랑을 속여가며
웃음 지려 한건
뒤돌아 흘릴 눈물
눈물 때문이야 오

그래 나이젠 널 떠나보내 줄게
더이상 슬퍼지려 하기전에

Before You Get Sad

Occasionally, whenever I think of you
It’s as if you’re always near but I feel distant
Oh, when I meet you like this
You say that you love me
When you turn around,
for some reason, only a sad apprehension

A completely different look, to me
Sends a unspeakably painful message
Yeah, now you’re no longer having a hard time
I can understand your feelings

Oh, the way you look at me,
though we don’t say anything
I’m getting ready for our end

Oh, I try to hide my love,
putting on a smile
but turning to shed tears,
it’s because of those tears, oh

Yeah, so I’ll now try to send you off
No longer will it be before you get sad

Oh, the way you look at me,
though we don’t say anything
I’m getting ready for our end

Oh, I try to hide my love,
putting on a smile
but turning to shed tears,
it’s because of those tears, oh

Yeah, so I’ll now try to send you off
No longer will it be before you get sad

“사랑은 유리같은 것 (Love is like Glass)” is a song by 80’s singer, Won Jun Hee. The song was originally released in 1988 and if you can look past the shoulder pads, here is a live performance sung by the original singer:

As you’ll probably hear, there isn’t a vast amount of rearranging done from the original number.  However the song is pretty soulful and I think Lee Ki Chan captures the fragility of love well.  I like the slow pacing of this song but Won Jun Hee did another version where she starts off slow but the tempo speeds up and suddenly you’re listening to a dance number.  Recently, Ivy did that version for Immortal Song and even mashing up a little bit of “Sunny” in the transition.

Lee Ki Chan –  사랑은 유리같은 것 (Love is like Glass)

이기찬 – 사랑은 유리같은 것

사랑은 유리같은 것

정말 몰랐어요
사랑이란 유리 같은것
아름답게 빛나지만
깨어지기 쉽다는 걸

이제 깨어지는
사랑의 조각들은
가슴 깊이 파고드는
견딜 수 없는 아픔이예요

오 슬픔은 잊을 수가 있지만
상처는 지울수가 없어요
오랜 시간이 흘러도
희미해질 뿐이예요

오 사랑하는 그대여
이것만은 기억해줘요
그토록 사랑했던 내 영혼은
지금 어두운 그림자 뿐임을

슬픔은 잊을 수가 있지만
상처는 지울수가 없어요
오랜 시간이 흘러도
희미해질 뿐이예요

오오 사랑하는 그대여
이것만은 기억해줘요
그토록 사랑했던 내 영혼은
지금 어두운 그림자 뿐임을

Love is like Glass

I really didn’t know it
That love is like glass
It shines beautifully
But it breaks easily

Now breaking
the pieces of love
Is burrowing deep into my heart
It’s a pain that I can’t bear

Oh, you can forget sadness
But you can’t erase scars
Even if a great deal of time slips by
There’ll probably be faint traces

Oh, to my love, you
Remember only this
All that time spent loving you, my spirit
Is now just a dark shadow

You can forget sadness
But you can’t erase scars
Even if a great deal of time slips by
There’ll probably be faint traces

Oh oh, to my love, you
Remember only this
All that time spent loving you, my spirit
Is now just a dark shadow

Leave a Reply

