Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/7/13

Today, I’m featuring some artists that I have been listening to but haven’t had the opportunity to feature yet.  It’s been awhile since Lee Hyori and Dick Punks have released their latest album but I just wanted to spend some listening to them before I decided to write about them.

Lee Hyori has been making her rounds with her latest album titled “Monochrome”.  As a singer, I like Lee Hyori but I haven’t really been loving the songs that she has been promoting.  They’re alright but for me “Bad Girls” and “미스코리아 (Miss Korea)” felt like it was just missing something.  That je ne sais quoi.

The song that probably caught my ear first was “내가 미워요 (I Hate Myself)”.  It’s got that doo wop style of the 60’s and Lee Hyori’s sultry voice totally suits the slow sway of the track.  The oxymoronic thing about her singing is that the lyrics seem to tumble out of her mouth illustrating how hurt she is and how those thoughts are coming out at the speed of thought but at the same time Lee Hyori has that distant chill in her voice.  She wants to be that cool, ice queen but hates the fact that she can’t get over him.  Don’t we all.

Lee Hyori – 내가 미워요 (I Hate Myself)

이효리 – 내가 미워요

내가 미워요

홀로 반짝이고 있는 밤하늘 저 별이
오늘은 유난히도 서글퍼 보여요

그대 떠난단 말 믿을 수 없어요
날 영원히 사랑한단
그 단꿈에 젖은

내 눈에 흐르는 눈물에 어리는
서운한 이맘을 그댄 알까요
애가 타는 마음 전하지 못한 채
눈물만 흘리는 내가 미워요
내가 미워요

따스했던 말도 다정한 눈빛도
또렷이 기억해요 눈부신 그 미소도

정말 떠나나요 내가 미워졌나요
영원히 함께하잔
그 설렘에 젖은

내 눈에 흐르는 눈물에 어리는
서운한 이맘을 그댄 알까요
애가 타는 마음 전하지 못한 채
눈물만 흘리는 내가 미워요

그대 나를 떠난다면 떠난다면
나 홀로 살 수 없어 견딜 수 없어
제발 그 마음을 돌려요

떠나는 그대를 환하게 웃으며
보내지 못하는 내가 미워요

다시 돌아와요
저 날이 밝기 전에
예전처럼 또 나를 사랑해줘요

내 눈에 흐르는 눈물에 어리는
서운한 이맘을 그댄 알까요
애가 타는 마음 전하지 못한 채
눈물만 흘리는 내가 미워요
내가 미워요

I Hate Myself

Shining alone in the night sky, that star is
Particularly looking somber today

Can’t believe the words that you’re leaving
That you’ll love me forever,
Drenched in that sweet dream

Bursting tears, falling from my eyes
This sad heart – would you understand it?
This anxious heart – couldn’t express it to you
Only able to shed tears, I hate myself
I hate myself

Your warm words, even your affectionate eyes
I remember them well, even your dazzling smile

Are you really leaving? Have you grown to hate me?
Saying let’s do it forever
Drenched in that longing

Bursting tears, falling from my eyes
This sad heart – would you understand it?
This anxious heart – couldn’t express it to you
Only able to shed tears, I hate myself

If you leave me, leave me
I can’t live by myself, can’t take it
Please return those feelings to me

Brightly smiling at you who is leaving,
Unable to send you off that way, I hate myself

Come back to me again,
before the day grows bright
Love me again like before

Bursting tears, falling from my eyes
This sad heart – would you understand it?
This anxious heart – couldn’t express it to you
Only able to shed tears, I hate myself
I hate myself

“Love Radar” is more of that typically style you expect from Lee Hyori. Aww, who am I kidding. I love Beenzino and that’s what drew me to the track at first. However, I really do like the lyrics for this song. You feel like you’re just getting drunk on love and the addictive hook just sucks you into this love whirlpool.

Lee Hyori – Love Radar (feat. Beenzino)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/03-love-radar-feat-ebb988eca780eb85b8.mp3%20

이효리 – Love Radar (Feat. 빈지노)

Love Radar (feat. 빈지노)

Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love

쉴새없이 도는 My love radar
내 손길을 원하는 너를 잡고
신비로운 사랑의 Ecstasy
두근대는 Heartbeat
그 설렌 맘을 내 귀에 살며시 속삭여봐

Baby 우린 불타는 저 태양 아래서
밤새도록 빛나는 저 달빛 속에서
꿈을 꾸고 취하고 사랑도 나눌까
If you believe it, we are together

Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love

난 사랑에 미친 Queen of love
지친 너의 가슴을 안아줄거야
또 시작되는 사랑의 Fantasy
떨리는 너의 눈빛
날 원한다면 뭘 해 주저없이
내게 다가와

Baby 우린 불타는 저 태양 아래서
밤새도록 빛나는 저 달빛 속에서
꿈을 꾸고 취하고 사랑도 나눌까
If you believe it, we are together

주파수처럼 맞춘
너와의 Eye contact에서
내가 본 건 영화에 나올법해
First of all, 너의 얼굴의 옆 탠
여태껏 본 여배우들보다 더 예뻐
특히 입술에선 빛이 나고
내 심장은 점 점 점 뛰지 막
And it is like an earthquake I’m fallin’

Baby 우린 불타는 저 태양 아래서
(쏟아지는 햇살처럼
널 내 품안에 담겠어)
눈부시게 빛나는 서로를 향해서
(너 말곤 아무것도 필요없다는 듯이
눈을 감겠어)

Baby 우린 불타는 저 태양 아래서
밤새도록 빛나는 저 달빛 속에서
꿈을 꾸고 취하고 사랑도 나눌까
If you believe it, we are together

Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love

Love Radar (feat. Beenzino)

Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love

Ceaselessly turning, My love radar
Wanting my hand, I grab on to you
Mysterious, Love’s Ecstasy
Thumping Heartbeat
Gently whisper that fluttering heart in my ear

Baby, us, beneath that burning sun,
Glowing all night in that moonlight,
Shall we dream, get drunk and also make love?
If you believe it, we are together

Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love

I’m crazy for love, Queen of love
I’ll embrace your exhausted heart
Beginning again, Love’s Fantasy
Trembling, your gaze
If you want me, do something without hesitation
Come closer to me

Baby, us, beneath that burning sun,
Glowing all night in that moonlight,
Shall we dream, get drunk and also make love?
If you believe it, we are together

Like tuning to the right frequency,
Eye contact with me,
From what I’ve seen is something out of movie
First of all, your face’s tanned profile
Prettier than the actresses I’ve seen so far
A light shining especially from your lips
My heart keeps beating more and more and more
And it is like an earthquake I’m fallin’

Baby, us, beneath that burning sun,
(Like the spilling sunshine,
I’ll keep you in my embrace)
Shining brightly at each other
(As if I don’t need anything else without you,
I’ll close my eyes)

Baby, us, beneath that burning sun,
Glowing all night in that moonlight,
Shall we dream, get drunk and also make love?
If you believe it, we are together

Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love
Get get get my love love love

_____________________________________________________

Dick Punks is a fairly new band for me.  I’ve wanted to introduce them since this album came out in April but while I was immediately intrigued by their music, they did require some getting used to.  They debuted in 2010 but I think they really got attention from appearing on Super Star K4.  The band is made up of four members: Kim Tae Hyun (vocals), Kim Hyun Woo (keyboards), Kim Jae Heung (bass) and Park Ga Ram (drums).  Their latest mini album is titled “Viva Primavera” meaning Spring Alive in Spanish (although I think also translates the same way in Italian, too).

Fittingly, their title song is called “Viva 청춘 (Viva Youth)”.  The song is nostalgic and so relatable.  Although this band is really known for their punk rock, I would say that this song has more of that musical feel.  The lyrics certainly paint a picture and I could imagine the story in the lyrics being played out on stage.  There is a Jonathan Larson (playwright/composer of the musical Rent) quality to this song and if anyone has seen his pre-Rent work called tick, tick… BOOM!, I think you’ll know what I mean.  Anyways, the song doesn’t immediately grab my attention but it does creep up on and when it grabs you it’s pretty inspiring.

Dick Punks – Viva 청춘 (Viva Youth)

딕펑스(Dick Punks) – Viva 청춘

Viva 청춘

꽤 오래된 스니커즈 그 허름한 편안함
널 만나러 가는 길은 설렘
자꾸 걸음이 빨라져

음 너와 둘이서 걸으면 말야
왠지 좋은데로 가는 기분이야
어디라도 난 좋은걸

(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 바람이 분다
(니가) 웃는다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 햇살은 부서진다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 공기가 달다
(니가) 참 좋다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 청춘은 또 빛난다
반짝여라 젊은 날
반짝여라 내 사랑

늘 거닐던 이 거리
그 익숙한 다정함
고개 돌려보면 니 옆얼굴
나도 모르게 웃곤 해

음 너의 얘기를 들으면 말이야
왠지 좋은 일이 생길것 같아져
언제라도 난 좋은걸

(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 바람이 분다
(니가) 웃는다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 햇살은 부서진다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 공기가 달다
(니가) 참 좋다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 청춘은 또 빛난다
반짝여라 젊은 날
반짝여라 내사랑

VIVA

멋진 날이야 (멋진 날이야)
멋진 일이야 (멋진 일이야)
너와 함께있는 오늘이 푸르게 반짝여
손잡아볼까 가만히 라라라라라라
입맞춰볼까 가만히 라라라라라라
반짝여라 젊은 날
반짝여라 내 청춘

(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 바람이 분다
(니가) 웃는다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 햇살은 부서진다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 공기가 달다
(니가) 참 좋다
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) 청춘은 또 빛난다
반짝여라 젊은 날
반짝여라 내사랑

꽤 오래된 스니커즈 그 허름한 편안함
널 만나러 가는 길은 맑음
멋진 오늘이 기다려

Viva Youth

Really old sneakers, that shabby comfort
Nervous on my way to meet you
Can’t help but walk faster

Mmm, you know when I walk alone with you
Somehow feels like we’re heading someplace nice
Doesn’t matter where, I like it

(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The wind is blowing
(You) are smiling
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The sunlight breaks through
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The air is sweet
(You) I like a lot
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) Our youth shines again
Shine on the youthful days,
Shine on our love

Always walked on these streets,
Familiar with that tenderness
When I turn my head, your face profile
Without knowing it, I also smile

Mmm, you know when I listen to you talk
Somehow feels like something good will happen
Doesn’t matter when, I like it

(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The wind is blowing
(You) are smiling
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The sunlight breaks through
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The air is sweet
(You) I like a lot
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) Our youth shines again
Shine on the youthful days,
Shine on our love

VIVA

It’s a wonderful day (It’s a wonderful day)
Things are great (Things are great)
Together with you, today is shining brightly
Shall we hold hands? Carefully, lalalalalala
Shall we kiss? Quietly, lalalalalala
Shine on the youthful days,
Shine on my youth

(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The wind is blowing
(You) are smiling
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The sunlight breaks through
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) The air is sweet
(You) I like a lot
(VIVA PRIMAVERA) Our youth shines again
Shine on the youthful days,
Shine on our love

Really old sneakers, that shabby comfort
The path is clear on my way to meet you
Waiting for this wonderful day

In fact, this song grabbed my attention immediately. Okay, okay, perhaps I was self-congratulatory towards the New Yorker part. And yes, it bugs me that there’s no space there. This song has a more steampunk rock vibe but still totally in that musical style. I love that “Newyorker” pays a brief homage to 10cm’s “Americano”. However, the lyrics totally make me crack up. Is that how non-New Yorkers see us? I guess we’re always going to associated with being fashionistas and the club scene but really this could describe any major city in the world. The song itself is amusing and energetic.

Dick Punks – Newyorker

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/03-newyorker.mp3%20

딕펑스(Dick Punks) – Newyorker

*SNS= Social Network System meaning social media.

Newyorker

Newyorker Newyorker
Newyorker Newyorker

아침에 눈 비비고 일어나
나를 깨운 따가운 햇살에
Americano를 마시면서
Must have item Hot하게 차려입고
자 이제 나가볼까?

이게 바로 Newyorker
거리에 사람들은 나를 봐
오 기분이 좋아 하! 오예
오늘은 누가 나 좀 봐줄까

Brunch는 어떨까
Terrace가 있는 Café 가 좋겠어
친구에게 전활 걸어 Hot place에서 만나
포크 들기 전엔 사진 한장 찍고
SNS로 널리 알려야지

이게 바로 Newyorker
수 많은 사람들이 나를 봐
그 시선이 좋아 하! 오예
얼마나 엣지 있어 보일까

이게 바로 Newyorker
수 많은 사람들이 나를 봐
그 시선이 좋아 하! 오예
얼마나 엣지 있어 보일까

밤이되면 아는 오빠 디제일 만나
클럽에서 놀다보면 아침 7시
왜 이렇게 사는 걸까
뭔가 허전해 (이러다 철들겠지)
이게 바로 Newyorker야 나의 하루야

이게 뭐라고

이게 바로 Newyorker
수 많은 사람들이 나를 봐
그 시선이 좋아 하! 오예
얼마나 엣지 있어 보일까

이게 바로 Newyorker
수 많은 사람들이 나를 봐
그 시선이 좋아 하! 오예
얼마나 엣지 있어 보일까

이게 바로 Newyorker

Newyorker

Newyorker Newyorker
Newyorker Newyorker

Rub my eyes in the morning and wake up
Waking me up the scathing sunlight
Americano, if I drink it
Must have item, getting dressed like I’m Hot
Now shall I go out?

This is exactly a Newyorker
People on the streets look at me
Oh, feeling good Ha! Oh yeah
Who’ll look at me today?

Brunch, how is it?
A Café with a Terrace is good
Call my friend, Let’s meet at the Hot place
Before I grab a fork, take a picture
Letting everyone know through SNS*

This is exactly a Newyorker
Countless people look at me
Like being in that line of sight Ha! Oh yeah
How I have edge, will it be apparent?

This is exactly a Newyorker
Countless people look at me
Like being in that line of sight Ha! Oh yeah
How I have edge, will it be apparent?

At night, meet an older brother DJ that I know
At the club, after letting loose it’s 7 AM
Why do I live like this?
Something is missing (at some point I’ll mature)
This is exactly a Newyorker, my day

What is this?

This is exactly a Newyorker
Countless people look at me
Like being in that line of sight Ha! Oh yeah
How I have edge, will it be apparent?

This is exactly a Newyorker
Countless people look at me
Like being in that line of sight Ha! Oh yeah
How I have edge, will it be apparent?

This is exactly a Newyorker

Leave a Reply

