Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/14/13

Aaah summer is almost here.  At least, I think.  I can’t tell from the weather lately but I want to believe that it is almost here and that I’ll be sitting somewhere scenic soon with a Mai Tai in hand.

So who better to represent summer than Jack Johnson who released a single from his upcoming album this week.  His sixth studio album comes out later this year in September.  Jack Johnson exudes Hawaii and his voice just wants me to pack my bags, don on a lei and book a flight to Hawaii.

I love the feel-good nature of his songs and even though his songs are typically slow in tempo, it just puts me in a good mood.  And how much do I love that this song is an ode to his wife, Kim.  The lyrics feel like one of those exercises you do at corporate retreats.  The one where you have your back to your partner and just trust that they will catch you.  Well, Jack Johnson’s got you and in a world where it’s hard to relinquish control over everything, it’s just nice to know that Jack Johnson has got my back.

Jack Johnson – I Got You

I Got You

Back when all my little goals seemed so important
Every pot of gold fill and full of distortion
Heaven was a place still in space not in motion
But soon

I got you
I got everything
I’ve got you
I don’t need nothing
More than you
I got everything
I’ve got you

We went walking through the hills
Tryin’ to pretend that we both know
Maybe if we save up
We can build a little home
But then the hell storm came and yelled,
“You need to let go, you’ve got no control. No.”

I got you
I got everything
I’ve got you
I don’t need nothing
More than you
I got everything
I’ve got you

This weight’s too much alone
Some days I can’t hold it at all
You take it on for me
When tomorrow’s too much
I’ll carry it all
I’ve got you

And when tomorrow’s too much
I’ll carry it all
I got you

I got you
I got everything
I’ve got you
I don’t need nothing
More than you
I got everything
I’ve got you

_____________________________________________________

Maybe it’s weird how I identify certain artists with certain seasons, Nell always seemed like a winter to me.  I love Nell but their slow melo rock always puts me in a mood.  Not a bad one, just a contemplative one.

“Ocean of Light” felt entirely different though.  As cheesy as it sounds, the song appears to have a positive light emanating from it enhanced by the lyric’s figurative language.  It’s kinda of refreshing to hear as Nell’s music tends to be on the dark side.  Or at least the songs that I love and listen on repeat.  Hmm, what does that say about me.  However, even this song’s backing track is more upbeat and somehow it reminds me of Coldplay when I listen to it.

넬 (Nell) – Ocean Of Light

Ocean of Light

지금까진 전부 잊어
조용히 두 눈을 감고,
널 가둔 그 벽을 부숴
알고 있었던 모든게
아무것도 아닌게 될까,
그렇게 될까봐 두려워?

Just breathe in & breathe out
your dreams with me

I’m in the ocean of light
내 꿈이 숨을 쉰다
눈부신 빛의 파도들 속에서
새롭게 태어나고 있어

I’m in the ocean of light
내 꿈이 춤을 춘다
거대한 빛의 파도들 속에서
난 다시 태어나고 있어

In the ocean of light

새로워질 너를 믿어
조용히 두 눈을 감고,
늘 꿈꿔왔던 너를 그려
믿어왔었던 모든게
아무것도 아닌게 될까,
그렇게 될까봐 두려워?

Just breathe in & breathe out
your dreams with me

I’m in the ocean of light
내 꿈이 숨을 쉰다
눈부신 빛의 파도들 속에서
새롭게 태어나고 있어

I’m in the ocean of light
내 꿈이 춤을 춘다
거대한 빛의 파도들 속에서
난 다시 태어나고 있어

In the ocean of light

I’m in the ocean of light
내 꿈이 숨을 쉰다
눈부신 빛의 파도들 속에서
새롭게 태어나고 있어

I’m in the ocean of light
내 꿈이 춤을 춘다
거대한 빛의 파도들 속에서
난 다시 태어나고 있어

In the ocean of light
In the ocean of light
In the ocean of light
In the ocean of light

I’m in the ocean of light

Ocean of Light

From now on, forget everything
Quietly close both eyes,
Break that wall that’s got you trapped
Will everything you know
become nothing?
Are you afraid that will happen?

Just breathe in & breathe out
your dreams with me

I’m in the ocean of light
My dreams are breathing
In that bright shining light, in the waves,
Being born again new

I’m in the ocean of light
My dreams are dancing
In that big light, in the waves
I’m being born again

In the ocean of light

Believe in yourself who will be renewed
Quietly close both eyes,
Draw yourself whom you’ve always dreamt of
Will everything you believed in
become nothing?
Are you afraid that will happen?

Just breathe in & breathe out
your dreams with me

I’m in the ocean of light
My dreams are breathing
In that bright shining light, in the waves,
Being born again new

I’m in the ocean of light
My dreams are dancing
In that big light, in the waves
I’m being born again

In the ocean of light

I’m in the ocean of light
My dreams are breathing
In that bright shining light, in the waves,
Being born again new

I’m in the ocean of light
My dreams are dancing
In that big light, in the waves
I’m being born again

In the ocean of light
In the ocean of light
In the ocean of light
In the ocean of light

I’m in the ocean of light

Now this song is more of what I expect from Nell. First off, I like that the melody of this song can unexpectedly reaches into your core. Really, I feel like that’s what Nell is really great at doing with their music. The worming their way in and you discover more about yourself through Nell’s music rather than the other way around.

Also, it’s interesting that the song is written in English.  It’s about someone who is held captive by their addiction to drugs.  Warning: the lyrics are very, very dark.  I like the song but wasn’t going to feature it at first because the tone is so different from the two other songs featured this week.  However, this subject matter is so rarely discussed in Korean music.  Forget K-Pop, but it’s even true for the K-Indie scene that it begged attention.

My immediate response upon listening is to feel sorry for the speaker because the song’s title is “Haven” but that meaning is completely twisted.  His idea of haven is different from ours and it’s clear that he believes that all hope has been lost.  However, he doesn’t want your sympathy tears because he has his own resolution.  Quite dark and twisty, huh?  The epilogue for this track continues with the next track (the album’s ending track) called “Walk Out.”  I feel like the period at the end of that title is supposed to give a sense of finality.

Nell – Haven

넬 (Nell) – Haven

Haven

Don’t cry over me

I know it’s a dark cave and
even though it’s far from heaven
Maybe this could be my haven

Don’t cry over me

I know it hurts you when I fucking shiver
Well, trust me I was such a strong believer
But what’s the point of searching for that halo
My eyes are blinded and my heart is shallow

It’s getting worse and worse as I think deeper
It’s just like staring at a burning river
Well, now it’s time stop Just pull the trigger
I want to end it all I wanted over

6 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/14/13

    • I guess when they started out they were on the indie Hongdae scene but even now I don’t think they perform on music shows. Do they? Don’t really see music shows all that often so I’m not 100% positive. Plus band music is more popular on the indie scene in Korea anyway. It feels like their activities are still on indie level.

      Like

    • There are bands all over the place and I’m sure there are great bands from Busan. I listen to K-indie music but have no idea the musician’s lives or even what many of them look like. I strongly recommend checking out Mnet’s MUST Band Generation for a look into some of the bands out there. Currently one of the big bands of the indie scene is Daybreak. Whom I love and have been listening to for some months now. They’re a pop band. Monni is one I recently discovered through that show. J-Rabbit is a cute, melo girl duo. I actually like when Romantic Punch contributes to OSTs but I don’t love their album music. They’re okay. There’s many more but I can’t quite remember their names off the top of my head. Really if you want a peek in the indie scene that’s a great program to try out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

