Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/28/13

There are days when I struggle to figure out what song I’m going to write about for this post.  And other days when I have too much to write about one band/musician.  This week I have too many artists that I want to feature.  They all moved me in some way that I didn’t want to put off one or two of them until next week.  Two are indie bands: one is a brand, spankin’ new discovery while the other is a band I’ve kinda been following over the years.  And the last artist is someone I covered not too long ago but I just couldn’t help it.  All the songs are definitely being replayed on my iPod over and over again so it left me no choice but to share why I’m moved by these songs.

I fell in love with Monni at first listen, which was during their first performance for Mnet’s MUST Band Generation.  Sure, Lead Singer Kim Shin Ui was half naked for it.  I swear that had nothing at all to do with it.  Don’t look at me that way.

But seriously, he’s quite the singer.  While the entire band certainly plays an important role, Kim Shin Ui certainly is the star due to the emotional and powerful voice.  As revealed last week on Band Generation, he did mention that he was using that voice of his in a musical as well as performing with the band.  He’s got such a great voice for musicals as evidenced by the Hedwig and Angry Inch performance.

The band debuted in 2005 but I think they were introduced beyond the Hongdae scene when Kim Shin Ui decided to be a judge for Top Band.  They then decided to compete for Top Band 2.  Recently, they released a mini album and I like all 3 songs on it.  Albeit, the last two are different versions of the same song but more on that later.  The title song, “술자리 (Drinking Party)” is a fun song though it may not really sound like it at first.  It’s got a youthful but thoughtful vibe but I was particularly moved by “노인 (老人) (Elderly)”.  There’s a piano version which sounds intimate and a bit lonely but I’m actually featuring the full studio version.  Kim Shin Ui’s voice is aided by the rest of the band as well as stringed instrument and for me it makes the emotion brim over in a different way from the piano version.

It’s kind of weird to have a young band talking about what it’s like to be old and looking back on old memories.  In Korean culture, it’s taboo to talk about aging in front of elders and they’d probably call you out for it.  However, this song is an interesting paradox in that it’s kind of like writing a letter to your future self and putting it inside a time capsule.

Monni – 노인(老人) (Elderly)

몽니(Monni) – 노인 (老人)

노인(老人)

긴 여행길에서 이곳에 도착했고
짐을 풀으려 하네

시들어가는 나의 얼굴에는
수많은 추억이 녹아있고
바래져가는 사진 속에 나를
오늘도 하루종일 바라보네

난 많이 지쳐버렸고 더는 갈수도 없고
잠시 쉬어가려 해

시들어가는 나의 얼굴에는
수많은 추억이 녹아있고
바래져가는 사진 속에 나를
오늘도 하루종일 바라보네

난 누구보다 뜨거웠고 후회없이 살아왔고
난 널 아직까지 기억하네

시들어가는 나의 얼굴에는
수많은 아픔이 녹아있고
바래져가는 사진 속에
너를 나는 사랑했고
저물어가는 나의 하루는
수많은 눈물이 녹아있고
당신을 기억해
당신을 기억해
당신을 기억해

Elderly

On that long journey, I’ve arrived here
Try to unpack

My withering face
Countless memories are melting
My fading self in photographs
Seem to be looking at it all day again today

I’m very exhausted, can’t go any further
Gonna rest for a bit

My withering face
Countless memories are melting
My fading self in photographs
Seem to be looking at it all day again today

Hotter than anyone else, lived without regrets
I still remember you

My withering face
Countless memories are melting
My fading self in photographs
You loved me
Coming to a close, my day
Countless tears are melting
I remember you, darling
I remember you, darling
I remember you, darling

_____________________________________________________

I’ve been listening to Singer/Songwriter Eco Bridge ever since his 2nd album, whose real name is Lee Jong Myung.  I still like the song, “ 사랑을 시작하다 (As We Begin Our Love Relationship)” but since then I can’t say that I loved all his releases.  Not bad but just didn’t strike the same chord for me.  “어느날 문득 (Suddenly One Day)” is different with its jazzy blues vibe.  It’s another song that suddenly has you looking back and reminiscing about your first love.  Hmm, I guess that’s another theme running through today’s songs.  Time might pass but memories about the people you love seem to stay with you.  The song should be listened to in tandem with “너는 봄처럼 (You’re Like Spring)” as the thoughts about his love clearly flows from one song to the next.

에코브릿지(Eco Bridge) – 어느 날 문득

어느 날 문득

어느날 문득 따뜻한 바람이
니가 보낸 걸까 니 냄새가 나
참 향기롭다 참 오랜만이다 이런 기분

커피를 들고 좀 걸어다닐까
그때 한창 듣던 음악을 귀에 꽂고
듣기 좋다 니 생각이 난다 보고 싶다

지금쯤 넌 뭘하고 있을까
유난히 좋아했던 이 봄도 다 지나가는데
늘 나와 함께 했었던
이 봄을 나눌 사람은 있니

얼마나 됐지
계절이 두번쯤 바뀐 것 같은데
난 아직 니가 보고 싶은가봐

지금쯤 넌 뭘하고 있을까
유난히 혼자 있는 걸 싫어했었잖아 너
늘 나와 함께 했었던
이 봄을 나눌 사람은 있니

어느날 문득 봄바람에 실려
니가 찾아왔어
난 아직 니가 보고 싶은가봐

니가 많이 보고 싶다
미칠 듯이 보고 싶다
보고 싶다 보고 싶다
보고 싶다 보고 싶어

Suddenly One Day

Suddenly one day, a warm breeze
Did you send it, it has your scent
Truly fragrant, truly been a long time, this feeling

Holding some coffee, shall we walk a bit?
Plugging our ears with that popular song back then
Sounds good, makes me think of you, miss you

What are you up to now?
Especially liked this spring, mostly gone
Always spent with me,
this spring, do you have someone to share it with?

How long has it been?
Seems like the seasons have changed twice
I must still be missing you

What are you up to now?
Especially being alone, you hated that
Always spent with me,
this spring, do you have someone to share it with?

Suddenly one day, carried by the spring wind
You looked me up
I must still miss you

I miss you a lot
Miss you like crazy
Miss you, miss you
Miss you, want to see you

_____________________________________________________

I’ve been really loving Ra.D a lot these days.  I still play “고마워 고마워 (Thank You, Thank You)” over and over again.  He recently released a song for the drama Dating Agency; Cyrano and every time one of the couples’ eyes meets on the show, this song plays and I get goosebumps.  Especially now that Lee Jong Hyuk’s Seo Byung Hoon and Choi Soo Young’s Gong Min Young are sending loving looks at each other.  It even makes me forget that they have a 16 year age difference.  Ugh, I can be such a girl.

Aided by a soft and gentle voice, Ra.D expresses such a sweet and delicate nature of love so well.  Plus, I’ve been really loving the drama.  Not only is the love story developing between the main characters but every two episodes you get a new client (as well as some great cameos) and their own love story.  So it’s like 8 or 10 different romantic comedies in one.

We approaching the end of its run and I’m starting to feel a bit bummed because I wouldn’t mind seeing the agency take on several more clients.  I’m just not ready to let it go.

Ra.D – 어떤 설레임 (A Certain Heart Fluttering)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/01-ec96b4eb96a4-ec84a4eba088ec9e84.mp3%20

라디(Ra.D) – 어떤 설레임

어떤 설레임

처음부터 모든 게
익숙할 순 없는 거잖아
아른거리는 순간들을
떠올려봐 다시 설렐 수 있게

아무도 그 누구도
완벽할 수는 없는 거잖아
두근거렸던 기억들을
떠올려봐 다시 빛날 수 있게

가끔은 아프고 조금은 어색해도
한걸음씩 시작해
말론 못할 어떤 설레임으로

처음엔 몰랐어
어떤 의미인지
뭘 어떻게 해야하는지…

고민하지 말고 먼저 다가서서 보여줘
설레는 그 마음을..

가끔은 아프고 조금은 어색해도
한걸음씩 시작해
말론 못할 어떤 설레임으로

가끔은 아프고 조금 어색해도
서두르지마 괜찮아
바래왔던 것만큼 되지 않아도
기다려 보는거야
어떤 설레임으로…

가끔은 아프고 조금은 어색해도
한걸음씩 시작해
말론 못할 어떤 설레임으로

A Certain Heart Fluttering

From the beginning, nothing
seems familiar, does it?
Flickering moments
Think of them, so you can get all nervous again

No one, absolutely no one
Can be perfect
Memories that make my heart beat fast
Think of them, so they can gleam again

Sometimes you hurt and feel a bit awkward
Start with one step at a time,
Can’t explain with words, a certain heart fluttering

Didn’t know it at first
What that meant
What I’m supposed to do…

Don’t hesitate, approach me first, show me,
That fluttering feeling

Sometimes you hurt and feel a bit awkward
Start with one step at a time,
Can’t explain with words, a certain heart fluttering

Sometimes you hurt and feel a bit awkward
It’s okay not to rush it
Even if it doesn’t happen the way you hoped
Let’s just wait
With a certain heart fluttering…

Sometimes you hurt and feel a bit awkward
Start with one step at a time,
Can’t explain with words, a certain heart fluttering

Leave a Reply

