Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/19/13

J-Lyn is a fairly new artist whom I’ve kinda been following.  She’s a decent singer but really hasn’t produced a breakout hit.  However, her latest single definitely did catch my attention.

To be completely honest, she’s not a very unique singer.  She got a decent singing voice but doesn’t have a unique voice.  Her name reminds me of LYn and then suddenly instead of listening to J-Lyn, I want to go through my Ipod to find old LYn songs.  Not to mention there are singers who go by the name J-Min, J-Cera, to name a few.  Ugh, I hate the “J” hyphen names.

Having said all that, when J-Lyn’s latest single comes on my Ipod, it makes me go, “Ooh, who is that?”  So I guess that means I like the song.  The melody sure is nice even though it sounds like that very typical K-Drama OST ballad track.

What J-Lyn does well is create an interesting dichotomy between her voice and the song’s lyrics.  She has this control over her voice and sounds even-toned.  Mind you, I’m not saying she’s monotone.  She trying to have the appearance of being mature and sounding dignified even though the breakup has proven to be agonizing.  It’s a nice, touching ballad, even if it’s not at all exceptional.

제이린(J-Lyn) – 눈물로 살아

눈물로 살아

그대라서 행복했다고
그대라서 좋았었다고 울어
때늦은 아픈 가슴에
한숨같은 애원 보내면 돌아올까

기다려도 올리 없는데
대답 없을 그댈 아는데 불러
참 모진 슬픔 주고 간
원망스런 이름 하나도 못 잊어서

그대 때문에 그대 때문에
차갑게 날 버린 사람 때문에
사랑했던 시간만큼
눈물로 살아
마음에 못이 박혀서
나쁜 그대 때문에

잘 지내지 못해 미안해
약해지는 나를 용서해 그래
괜찮아 걱정하지마
눈치없이 그댈 찾는 일 없을 테니

그대 때문에 그대 때문에
차갑게 날 버린 사람 때문에
사랑했던 시간만큼
눈물로 살아
마음에 못이 박혀서
나쁜 그대 때문에

죽을 만큼 미워하고 싶은데
아프도록 가슴치고 싶은데
곁에 없어서 그럴 수 없어서
대신 날 미워해
날 아프게 해

사랑 때문에 사랑 때문에
미련토록 못난 사랑 때문에
시린 가슴 안고 사는 나를 본다면
다시 돌아와줄래 사랑했잖아
거짓말이라 해도
믿고 살던 나잖아

I’m Living with My Tears

Because it was you, I was happy
Because it was you, I cried ‘cause I liked you
Belatedly hurt feelings
When I send a sigh-like plea, will you respond?

Though I wait, there’s no way you’ll come
I know you won’t have a response but I call
A really intense sadness you left me with
A spiteful name that I just can’t forget

Because of you, because of you
Because of the person who coldly tossed me aside
As much time we spent being in love,
I’m living with my tears
‘Cause there are nails embedded in my heart
Because of the awful you

I can’t be well, sorry
Forgive me who grows weaker, yeah
I’m alright, don’t worry about me
Won’t search for you, like a senseless person

Because of you, because of you
Because of the person who coldly tossed me aside
As much time we spent being in love,
I’m living with my tears
‘Cause there are nails embedded in my heart
Because of the awful you

As much as I’m in agony, I want to hate you
Painfully, I want to beat your chest
Because you’re not there, I can’t do that
Instead, you hate me,
hurt me

Because of love, because of love
To the point of foolishness, because of this horrid love
If you see me, who is stuck in this heartache
Come back to me again, we used to be in love
Even if they’re all lies,
it was me who lived believing in you

Leave a Reply

