Just Bananas About: Week of 7/29/13

I’ll admit that the first two episodes of Blade and Flower were pretty ridonculous.  So much so that I wasn’t sure it would be worth continuing but the romance between Princess Moo Young (Kim Ok Bin) and Yeon Choong (Uhm Tae Woong) does certainly make me go, ‘Awww.’

First, let me get into a brief history lesson which this drama is based on.  Goguryeo’s King Young Ryu (Kim Young Chul) tried to keep tensions at bay with the Tang Dynasty in China but as they gained power he decided to build a wall called Cheolli Jang Seong, a project headed by Yeon Gae So Mun (Choi Min Soo).  In the South, there was the threat of the Silla Dynasty and actually most of Goguryeo lands eventually becomes unified under Silla after Goguryeo’s fall.  Historians are still at odds as to whether Yeon Gae So Mun is a national hero or traitor.  General Yeon Gae So Mun felt they were conceding to the Tang Dynasty by allowing diplomatic relations when he felt that Goguryeo’s rise to power was built on the strength of its military.

According to my readings, there’s no mention of Princess Moo Young or Yeon Choong nor Yeon Gae So Mun’s illegitimate child, though I’m not surprised about the latter. So I’m inclined to think that they were created just for the drama. As much as the story of how they met and how their romance began was so over-the-top, Uhm Tae Woong and Kim Ok Bin’s subtle acting creates a nice balancing act that made me want to continue the drama.  For me, I’m less interested about the historic and/or political storyline. That’s just the backdrop that adds fuel to the Romeo and Juliet fire.

From sheepish smiles to curious glances to longing looks, it’s those little touches in their acting that draws me to the characters. Considering how fast the romance blooms (heh) in this drama, I almost understand why it felt the need to go all spiderman kiss scene (with no kiss) in the first episode.

Wax – 사라아 (My Love)

왁스(Wax) – 사랑아

The romance had to be extraordinary in order for them to make the choices that they did.  In order to counteract the ridonculousness, the drama trusted in the acting of its actors for the romance to flourish with minimal dialogue.

We have a ways to go in the drama and it’s hard to say if I’ll feel the same way at the end but from an laughingly bizarre start to toning it down, the drama has certainly done an interesting 180 and we’re not even at the halfway point yet.  But so far, I am a fan of the Moo Young and Choong’s sweeping love story.

_____________________________________________________

Okay, it’s hard for me to not even mention 2NE1’s guest star appearance on Running Man in yesterday’s episode.  However since I posted about Running Man last week, I’m reluctant to talk about the show again this week but I will say that the girls live up to the hype. The episode was funny and entertaining.

The thing that cracked me up the most was the reappearance of Sandara Park’s old hairstyle.  Since the theme of the episode was aliens who needed to complete mission in order to get back home, her look definitely fit the theme.  Except it’s kinda hard to hide in the bushes with that hairstyle. And it does look like an antenna sticking up when she gets in the car to drive.  Hee hee. The reactions of the members are hilarious though.

One thought on “Just Bananas About: Week of 7/29/13

  1. You are making me consider, digging The Blade and the Petal out of the dropped list and putting it back to the on hold. My mom is a huge fan of Uhm Tae-Woong so we started this for him but then even she got bored with it, which is pretty unbelievable. But it might also be that having to wait for new episodes every week makes mare less patient. Yeah, we’ll definitely give it another chance once the series ends. Thanks for this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

