Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/23/13

Big Bang’s maknae, Seungri, recently released another mini album.  Musically, I can sense that he’s trying to create his own sound, separate from Big Bang, but I think he has a ways to go before he reaches the same level as his hyungs.  On the other hand, Seungri is a lot of fun to listen to and I enjoyed his first album a lot.

I’ll be honest.  I enjoyed the first album a lot more than this one.  Mostly because the first album sounded more like him but there’s a lot of posing with this album.  “Let’s Talk About Love” partly sounds like he’s been influenced by JT (and Timbaland) from “Future Sex/Love Sounds” which is so 7 years ago.  And then I feel GD and Taeyang’s fingerprints all throughout the song.  It’s not merely because they feature on the song itself during the rap and singing parts of the song.  The song feels like a jigsaw puzzle where GD exclusively put his input in for the rap and Taeyang for his singing part.  Altogether, it doesn’t really feel like Seungri’s song.

As for the title song, “할말 있어요 (Gotta to Talk to You)”, all I can think about is Rick Ross’ “Everyday I’m Hustlin’”.  It’s a great hit song but again, doesn’t feel like the song is uniquely Seungri.  And let me just say that at first I thought Seungri was saying “헛소문 (hut-so-mun)” which translates as false rumor so I was a bit disappointed when I actually read the lyrics.  Not to mention that the whole meaning of the song changed for me.

However, I do really like the 3rd track of the song.  The sound kinda reminds me of Gwen Stefani but I like the guy twist to it.  So I’ll give it to Seungri.

You know, I’m not a perfect Korean speller but I knew there was something wrong about how the titled was spelled.  I was thinking maybe Bugs music had a typo but no, the song is spelled “지지베” with the compound vowel ㅓ(uh) and ㅣ (ee) .  Typically, it is spelled “지지배” (ㅏ(ah)ㅣ(ee)).  This subtle difference can probably be heard by native Korean speakers.  The difference being between ji-ji-beh and ji-ji-bae.  The word itself is a slang word meaning “bitch” which originated from Jeollado but has worked its way into a lot of people’s vocabulary.

These lyrics clearly come from a personal place.  Seungri brings out a bit of his John Mayer/Eminem side with this story about his nameless ex-girlfriend.  In regards to this song, he has said, “It’s not that women are the only ones who are being tricked by men but now it’s an age in which men are also being tricked by women.”  “The girl I used to see, whenever she opened her mouth, she lied.  Every time I learned of her lie, it was a big shock to me.”  “If I could say one thing to her, ‘As much as what you’ve done to me, listen to this song and get with the program.’”  I think the lyrics are a bit awkward in that he writes in long sentences instead of short prose but again, he’s not at the same level as the other members.  He’s working his way there and the song is pretty entertaining.



Seungri – 지지베 GG Be (feat. Jenny) (Bitch (GG Be) (feat. Jenny))

승리 – 지지베 GG Be (feat. Jenny)

GG Be (지지베)

OH 너 어디니란 문자에
너는 집앞에 있는
카페에 커피 한 잔 한다 했지
흠… 요새 커피shop에서는
다들 춤추나보지

Oh 얘기 좀 해란 내 말에
너는 혀가 꼬인 말투로
날 쳐다보며 둘러댔지
흠… 붉게 달아오른 네 얼굴이 불을 지르지

(솔직히 말해)
왜 내가 널 좋아한지
나도 잘 모르겠지만
그래도 이건 아니지 내 여자가
왜 날 두고 다른 사람 찾아
왜 그럼 난 뭐니
나를 가지고 논 거지 이 나쁜

GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh

OH 네 생일이 되던 그때
네가 좋아하던 모카 케익
사들고서 기다렸지
흠… 왜 넌 기분 나쁜 검은 차에서 내리는지
OH 누구였니란 내 말에
너는 아버지가 일 끝나고
데려다준 거라 했지
넌 아빠에게 오빠라고도 부르나보지

(솔직히 말해)
왜 내가 널 좋아한지
나도 잘 모르겠지만
그래도 이건 아니지 내 여자가
왜 날 두고 다른 사람 찾아
왜 그럼 난 뭐니
나를 가지고 논 거지 이 나쁜

GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
(Hey girl Talk to Huh)

[jenny]
OH sweet ma baby 나는 그게 아냐
그저 우리 사이 식어가던 건
너도 알고 있잖아 그게 사실이잖아 넌

(솔직히 말해)
이제 더 이상은 나도 이젠 참지 않아
(누가 할 소리를 나도 지쳐 모두 관둬)
오늘부턴
너와 난 서로 갈 길 가는 거야
잘 살아
HUH, 이 나쁜

GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh

GG Be (Bitch)

OH When I texted you asking where you are
You said you’re near your house
at a café, drinking a cup of coffee
Hmm… these days, at the coffee shop
everybody must go dancing

Oh When I say to talk,
You, with your tongue-tied talk
Looking at me while you make things up
Hmm… your reddened face, inflames me

(Be honest)
Why do I like you,
I don’t even know why I do
But still, this isn’t right, for my girl
Why does she leave me and look for someone else?
Why? And what does that make me?
You just played with me, right? You awful

GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh

OH When it’s your birthday,
the mocha cake you liked,
bought it and waited
Hmm… Why are you getting out of that dreadful black car?
OH When I asked who that was,
You said your dad, after he finished work,
Would bring you here
I guess you call your dad ‘Oppa’ too?

(Be honest)
Why do I like you,
I don’t even know why I do
But still, this isn’t right, for my girl
Why does she leave me and look for someone else?
Why? And what does that make me?
You just played with me, right? You awful

GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
(Hey girl Talk to Huh)

[jenny]
OH sweet ma baby, that’s not how it is
Things are just cooling off between us
You know it too, that’s the truth

(Be honest)
Now I’m no longer gonna be patient about it
(Look who’s talking, I’m tired too, let’s call it quits)
Starting from today,
you and I will just go our separate ways
Be well
HUH, You awful

GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh
GG BEBE GG BEI GG BEBE GG BEI
GG BEBE GG BEI Eh Eh Eh Eh

Leave a Reply

