Mmmusings… – Pow! Zap! Holy Affleck, Batman!

After seeing the casting news of Ben Affleck as the new Batman came out, it’s been quite an interesting read in the Twittersphere lit up on how people felt about seeing the former Daredevil in the next Man of Steel sequel.

Many people moaned about why Christian Bale didn’t just take the $50 million dollars they were offering to play the role again but I think Richard Dreyfuss’ comment sums it up best:

After playing Daredevil (and witnessing its subsequent failure), Ben Affleck was quoted as saying for WENN, “By playing a superhero in Daredevil, I have inoculated myself from ever playing another superhero. Wearing a costume was a source of humiliation for me and something I wouldn’t want to do again soon.”  Well I guess 10 years has been long enough.  However to be completely honest, Daredevil was during the time he was dating J.Lo.  Career-wise, it was a low point for Affleck as the other “prizewinner” from the Bennifer period was Gigli and Jersey Girl.

I’ve noticed recently that some of my favorite superheroes heroes tend to emotionally unattainable, rich men (e.g. Batman, Iron Man, etc).  Not sure what that says about me but personally I just don’t see Ben Affleck as Bruce Wayne/Batman.  In all the roles that Affleck’s played over the years, his characters haven’t been dark.  Sure, there were dark tragedies but it always felt like his characters could see there was a light at the end of the tunnel.  Some have said the lightness of having Henry Cavill as Superman would create some nice chemistry between him and Affleck but I’m just not buying it just yet.  Not until I’ve seen the trailer.

I never really thought that Christian Bale was the perfect Batman (it’s the raspy voice that really annoyed me) but he was a pretty darn great Batman in recent memory.  Personally, I’m glad he walked away from this role because I would hate for a talent like his to be whittled down to a single role.

I agree that Ben Affleck has surprised me before.  Then I’m reminded of the Val Kilmer and George Clooney travesties.  Thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Mmmusings… – Pow! Zap! Holy Affleck, Batman!

  1. I totally agree that Bale’s “Batman” voice was a little exasperating. I like Ben Affleck for the most part, so I’m pretty interested in his portrayal of Batman… And I’ve found “At least Ben Affleck isn’t George Clooney” does seem to be the general consensus. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

