Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/30/13

I’ve been in a soulful mood lately.  Maybe it’s because of the rain lately.  Raaain.  Or maybe it’s because summer is coming to a close.  Two songs have been creating harmonious atmosphere with this ‘bout of mother nature lately.  Both Yoo Sung Eun and John Park have released their albums earlier in the summer and while I’ve enjoyed listening to them sometimes it’s all about the timing.

While I won’t be featuring him here, another soulful number worth taking a listen to with the two songs below is Michael Bublé’s “Who’s Lovin’ You”.  The song simply makes me sway and wish that Michael Bublé would make another acapella appearance on my subway line.

Yoo Sung Eun is a fairly new artist with a nice soulful voice which reminds me a bit of Park Ji Min’s from 15&.  Her road to a recording contract was paved by becoming one of the finalists on The Voice of Korea.  I found her title track, “Be Ok”, on her first mini album to be nice but just okay.  Rather, I just didn’t like her music video because I found her makeup to be too distracting and really unflattering.

However, I did find myself playing “집으로 데려가줘 (Take Me Home)” over and over again.  Yes, it is a love song but home takes a metaphoric connotation as the lyrics really show that home is where the heart is and her heart is with the guy she loves.  The song is simple but pretty sweet.  If she continues with numbers like this, I will definitely become a fan.

Yoo Sung Eun -집으로 데려가줘 (Take Me Home)

유성은 – 집으로 데려가줘

집으로 데려가줘

아침을 닮아 있어요 햇살이 비추는 그댄
슬픔이 내려 앉은 이 밤을 닮아있는 내게
완벽한 하루가 된 거죠

아이처럼 난 웃고 있죠 항상 그대만 보며
이제는 잠시라도 그대의 품을 떠난다면
싫어요 너무나도 추워요

집으로 데려가줘 그대라는 꿈속으로
매일 밤 그대 품속에서 살고 싶어
난 아무것도 필요 없죠
my love 난 사랑해요
you’re my everything
you’re my only one
꼭 잡은 내 손을 놓지 말아요 그대

아무말 하지 말아요 날 그냥 꼭 안아 줘요
길을 잃어 버린 이 추운 내 맘속에
그댄 따뜻한 나의 집인거죠

유난히도 빛이 나네요 내겐 그대 눈빛은
어둠이 내려 앉은 이 거리 어디선가 나를
비추는 저 하늘의 별이죠

집으로 데려가줘 그대라는 꿈속으로
매일 밤 그대 품속에서 살고 싶어
난 아무것도 필요 없죠
my love 난 사랑해요
you’re my everything
you’re my only one
꼭 잡은 내 손을 놓지 말아요 그대

거짓말은 난 못하죠
단 하루도 그대 없인 안돼요
내 맘은 그댈 그리워하고
바보처럼 그대만 찾죠
이런 날 아나요
이젠 어떻게 하죠

집으로 데려가줘 그대라는 꿈속으로
매일 밤 그대 품속에서 살고 싶어
난 아무것도 필요 없죠
my love 난 사랑해요
you’re my everything
you’re my only one
마주 잡은 이 손을
놓지 말아요 우리 우리

Take Me Home

Resembling the morning, the illuminating sun, you
Sadness settles down, resembling this night, me
It’s become a perfect day

Like a child, I smile, every time I look at you
Now, if I leave your embrace, even for a moment
Don’t like it, it’s so cold

Take me home into your dreams
Every night, I want to live in your embrace
I don’t need anything else
my love, I’m in love with you
you’re my everything
you’re my only one
My hands tightly held, don’t you let go

Don’t say anything, just hold me tight
Lost my way in this cold heart of mine
You’re my warm home

Particularly illuminating to me, your look
The darkness fades, somewhere on this road, I
Shining up there in the sky, a star

Take me home into your dreams
Every night, I want to live in your embrace
I don’t need anything else
my love, I’m in love with you
you’re my everything
you’re my only one
My hands tightly held, don’t you let go

Lies, I can’t do
Can’t be without even for one day
My heart longs for you
Like an idiot, I just search for you
Do you know days like this?
Now what am I supposed to do

Take me home into your dreams
Every night, I want to live in your embrace
I don’t need anything else
my love, I’m in love with you
you’re my everything
you’re my only one
The opposite hand holding this one,
don’t let it go of us, of us

_____________________________________________________

Lately, John Park has been becoming quite the variety star showcasing a cute bromance with his badminton partner, Kang Ho Dong, on Our Neighborhood Variety Sports.  Sure, his expressions don’t vary much from the same vacant expressions but he’s quite adorable.

After listening to all the tracks on his first full album, “Inner Child”, there are quite a few numbers that I like.  “Baby” is cute but I find the lyrics to “철부지 (Immature)” be much more dynamic.  However my favorite song on the album is probably “지워져간다 (Becoming Erased)”.  I feel like this acoustic track clearly represents a bit more of his American side as it doesn’t sound like your typical K-Pop number.  Unlike the countless K-Pop songs about love, whether it’s falling in love or breaking up and everything in-between, this song is about the broader subject of life.

The acoustic guitar and soft singing reminds me of early John Mayer.  The way I felt about this song is similar to when I first heard “No Such Thing”.  At that moment and at that place, I really identified with the song’s lyrics.  Yeah, I was angsty and I never really got to go back to high school to just run through the halls screaming at the top of my lungs.  Though I’m not opposed to see if I can outrun the security guards there.  I digress.

Back to “지워져간다 (Becoming Erased)”, it’s a nice a reflection on the title because it’s about growing up and moving on.  I don’t think he’s saying to feel depressed that that chapter has ended because appreciate those happy times.  Relationships and experiences you once had may fade away and live separate lives from you but it makes room for new relationships and experiences.

John Park -지워져간다 (Becoming Erased)

존 박 – 지워져간다

지워져간다

따사로운 햇살을 맞으며
잊혀진 시간들을 생각해

얼마나 지났는지 알 수는 없지만
함께한 순간들은 잡히지 않는
어딘가에 남아있네

다시 돌아갈 수도 다시 올 수도 없는 날들
말없이 바라보네
조급했던 마음을 숨기려
애쓰지 않아도 두근대던
투명한 비밀 같았던 우리의 시간들

얼마나 지났는지 알 수는 없지만
흐릿한 기억 속에 빛나고 있는
그 짧았던 순간들이

바람이 머문 그 자리에
남겨진 먼지처럼 힘없이 얘기하네
기억하니
애쓰지 않아도 행복했던
우리의 시간들
이젠 그 웃음마저 지워져간다

나의 슬픔도 너의 웃음도
이젠 모두 천천히 천천히
떠나보낸다

조급했던 마음을 숨기려
애쓰지 않아도 두근대던
투명한 비밀 같았던
그 순간들이 바람이 머문 그 자리에
남겨진 먼지처럼
힘없이 얘기하네
기억하니
애쓰지 않아도 행복했던
우리의 시간들
이젠 그 웃음마저 지워져간다

Becoming Erased

Facing a warm sun
Thinking of time forgotten

Don’t know how much time has passed
Can’t grasp our moments together
Must remain somewhere

Days that cannot return again or come back again
Without words, looking on
Hiding impatient feelings
Though I don’t make the effort, a thumping
Like a transparent secret, our time

Don’t know how much time has passed
Shining bright within our hazy memories
Those short moments

A listless wind, in that place
Like a piece of dust left behind, weakly talking
Remember?
Though we didn’t make the effort, we were happy
Our time
Now that laughter as well is erasing

My sadness and your laughter
Now everybody, slowly, slowly
Letting it go

Hiding impatient feelings
Though I don’t make the effort, a thumping
Like a transparent secret, our time
Those moments are a listless wind, in that place
Like a piece of dust left behind
Weakly talking
Remember?
Though we didn’t make the effort, we were happy
Our time
Now that laughter as well is erasing

Leave a Reply

