Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/6/13

G-Dragon certainly knows how to get my attention.  I’ve been keeping an eye on the album’s promotion leading up to the release.  “쿠데타[Coup D’Etat]”, was fully released with half the album releasing earlier in the week and the rest releasing yesterday.  You know, I was kind of nervous about this album because although I wanted to love 2NE1’s last two singles, it was just blah.

With this album, there are definitely some songs I don’t like but truth be told, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to spend with the album.  I’m not sure what I was expecting from the Diplo collaboration, “쿠데타 (Coup D’etat)”; the lyrics are interesting, the music itself is not very dynamic.  Perhaps, I just need to listen to it more but I can’t helped be a bit bummed by it.

Including this first track, G-Dragon is definitely trying more of a hand at hardcore rap (well as hardcore as you can get in Korean mainstream), which I do appreciate but not really a big fan of.  I typically like a good combination of melody and thoughtful lyrics but rap can focus more on the beat and lyrics.

However I did like “늴리리야 (Niliria)”.  A part of it is because Missy Elliott features on the track and usually when an American (or foreign artist) features on a K-Pop, it’s usually a line or two.  More like a cameo feature to me where Missy really does feature on this track.  It’s been awhile since I last listened to Missy Elliott and it almost makes me want to try and find a cassette tape deck so I can listen to the “Supa Dupa Fly” album.

The other interesting about the track is the incorporation of an old Korean folk song, “늴리리야 (Niliria)”, obviously.  The folk song originated in Gyeonggi-do and the word is an onomatopoeia word representing the sound of a bamboo flute.  It’s a rhythmic shaman song about the sadness of losing one’s country.  In a twist, G-Dragon takes the sadness of that song and flips the meaning showing his extreme confidence.

Rather than translating the Missy Elliott version which half in English anyways, I translated G-Dragon’s version.  However, both audio versions are posted below.

G-Dragon – 늴리리야 (Niliria) (feat. Missy Elliott) (Missy Elliott Ver.)

G-Dragon (지드래곤) – 늴리리야 (Niliria) (Missy Elliott Ver.)(Feat. Missy Elliott)

G-Dragon – 늴리리야 (Niliria) (G-Dragon Ver.)

G-Dragon (지드래곤) – 늴리리야 (Niliria) (G-Dragon Ver.)

A couple of points about some of the colloquialisms below:

*얼씨구 절씨구 잘도 놀아난다 (uhl-shi-gu jeol-shi-gu jal-do no-rah-nan-da)
Often used phrase while dancing to old folk songs indicating that one is shaking this way and that and basically having a good time.

**‘8’자 (pal-ja)
GD used the number eight as a play on the word “팔자” which means luck or fortune.  So he’s basically saying that he’s luckier than you are.

늴리리야 (G-Dragon ver.)

G-DRAGON hot 뜨거운 냄비
이것은 힙합 우리나라 민요에 rappin
얼씨구 절씨구 잘도 놀아난다*
현실로 내가 돌아간다

Ay we gon celebrate every freakin day
입 꼬리 올려 씩 쪼개면서 yeah
어기야 디어차 자 나를 따라해
흥겨운 가락에 맞춰 헹가래

잘 안 보이는 내 코빼기
내 위치는 정상 꼭대기
함부로 건들기엔 난 너무 뜨거워 고대기
난 가위 손 넌 보자기
난 전봇대 넌 소시지
난 도깨비 넌 꼬맹이
놀란 니 얼굴 코미디

위험한 내 수위 남자들은 주의
여자들은 원해 나의 색다른 품위
사랑을 나눌 땐 항상 내가 우위
난 고민 따윈 안해
내 멋대로 I just do it

What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what

난 한류보단 일류 수질
높은 내 일률
무엇과도 난 비유치 못해
황금 비율
그게 남다른 이유
날 자꾸만 찾는 이유
내 눈을 바라봐 넌 행복해지고
목소리로 네 귀를 치유
I’m a beast what’s it gonna be
냈다하면 hit
어렵지 않지 차트 위 줄 세우는 일
내겐 간단 GD잖아 죽이잖아
You don’t want none what what what waht
Get yo freak on baby get yo cray on baby
이건 랩으로 하는 국제적 외교 baby
88년도 8월 18일생 딱 봐도
뭘 가져도 너보다 많은 ‘8’자**
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like

늴리리야 늴리리야 내가 돌아간다 drop it like
늴리리야 늴리리야 내가 돌아간다 drop it like
늴리리야 늴리리야 내가 돌아간다 drop it like
늴리리야 늴리리야 내가 돌아간다

여자들은 다 freaky freaky해 왜
바로 여기 GD GD 때문에 yeah
남자들은 다 jiggy jiggy해 왜
바로 여기 GD GD 때문에 yeah
여자들은 다 freaky freaky해 왜
바로 여기 GD GD 때문에 yeah
남자들은 다 jiggy jiggy해 왜
바로 여기 GD GD 때문에 yeah

Niliria (G-Dragon ver.)

G-DRAGON hot, hot pot
This is hip hop, our country’s folk song’s rappin
Here you go, there you go, playing so well*
Going back to reality

Ay we gon celebrate every freakin day
Turn your lip corners up with a snicker, yeah
Yo-heave-ho and now follow me
Tossing up in time with this merry tune

You can’t really see where I am
My place is at the top
I’m too hot like a hair curler to carelessly touch
I’m scissors, you’re paper,
I’m a telephone pole, you’re a sausage
I’m a goblin, you’re a kid
You’re surprised face is a comedy

Dangerous is my level, the guys are cautious
Women want me, my unique class
When I make love, I’m always on top
Don’t do things like worry
Whatever I want to do, I just do it

What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what

More than Hallyu, I’m first-class,
my uniformity is high class
Beyond comparison, I can’t be analogized
A golden ratio
That’s the difference
and the reason why people seek me out
Look into my eyes and you’ll become happy
Heal your ears with my voice
I’m a beast what’s it gonna be
Whenever I release, it’s a hit
Not very hard standing at the top of the charts
Easy for me, I’m GD, I won’t die
You don’t want none what what what waht
Get yo freak on baby get yo cray on baby
This is international diplomacy by rap, baby
1988, August 18th, just looking at that birth date
Whatever I get, I have more eights** than you
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like
What what what what what what drop it like

Niliria Niliria I’m going back, drop it like
Niliria Niliria I’m going back, drop it like
Niliria Niliria I’m going back, drop it like
Niliria Niliria I’m going back

Girls are all freaky freaky, why?
Right here, because of GD GD, yeah
Guys are all jiggy, jiggy, why?
Right here, because of GD GD, yeah
Girls are all freaky freaky, why?
Right here, because of GD GD, yeah
Guys are all jiggy, jiggy, why?
Right here, because of GD GD, yeah

Featuring Zion T and Boys Noize, “너무 좋아 (I Love It) (Like It A Lot (I Love It))” is half a disco number and the other half reminds me of Michael Jackson. I know that G-Dragon English translation of the title is “I Love You” but I guess saying that you like someone a lot and saying you love them are somewhat similar.

The song is a little surprising for G-Dragon but that may also be Boys Noize’s influence, who is a German DJ and record producer.  The lyrics are completely superficial but also a lot of fun.  I think the song is an interesting and not K-Pop typical club number which makes it a win in my book.

G-Dragon – 너무 좋아 (I Love It) (Like It A Lot (I Love It))

G-Dragon (지드래곤) – 너무 좋아 (I Love It)(Feat. Zion.T, Boys Noize)

너무 좋아 (I Love You)

네 입술과 향기가 좋아
너의 긴 다리와 짧은 치마 좋아

You see that? 눈이 가는 엉덩이 (I love it)
나도 모르게 또 손이 가는 허리 (ooh I like it)
가는 발목이 하이힐 위에 하루종일 baby
Could you be my lady (cuz I know you want it)

이건 클럽 아님 bar sky lounge sky high
캐주얼 말고 더 dress up해
멈추지 말고 계속해
Rose dom p cigar 따고
흥분돼? 아님 말고
Party like met gala
우린 노는 물이 달라

네 눈빛과 말투가 난 좋아
너의 긴 머리와
코끝에 점 좋아
나는 좋아

You see that? 눈이 가는 엉덩이 (I love it)
나도 모르게 또 손이 가는 허리 (ooh I like it)
가는 발목이 하이힐 위에 하루종일 baby
Could you be my lady (cuz I know you want it)

지금이 몇 신지는 또 어딘지는 중요하지 않아
내가 누군지는 뭘 하는지는 물어보지 말아 girl
그냥 이렇게 즐기다 집에 가버리면 돼
서로 비밀로 묻어놓고

네 까만 스타킹 (너무 좋아)
네 빨간 립스틱 (너무 좋아)
네 야한 미소 (너무 좋아)
네 모든 것이 (너무 좋아)
그녀의 입술과 향기가 좋아 ye
너의 긴 다리와 짧은 치마 좋아
너무 좋아

대체 넌 어디서 왔니?
왜 지금 나타났니?
어쩜 그리도 완벽한지
널 보면 늘 감격하지
너무 밝아? 조명을 줄일게
잘 봐, 나 끼 좀 부리게
선녀와 나무꾼 보다는
숙녀와 난봉꾼

네 눈빛과 말투가 좋아
너의 긴 머리와
코끝에 점 좋아
너무 좋아

지금이 몇신지는 또 어딘지는 중요하지 않아
내가 누군지는 뭘 하는지는 물어보지 말아 girl
그냥 이렇게 즐기다 집에 가버리면 돼
서로 비밀로 묻어놓고

YEAH
GATTA LOVE IT
BROUGHT TO YOU BY GD
BOYS NOIZE, ZION T
AND YOUR GIRL
너무 좋아

Like You A Lot (I Love You)

I like your lips and your scent
I like your long legs and short skirt

You see that? My eyes going to your ass (I love it)
Without knowing, my hands go to your hips (ooh I like it)
Your thin ankles in high heels all day baby
Could you be my lady (cuz I know you want it)

This is not a club, bar sky lounge sky high
Forget casual, dress up more
Don’t stop, keep going
Rose dom p, pop a cigar
Excited? If not, forget it
Party like met gala
The way we party is different

Your eyes and the way you talk, I like it
Your long hair and
the beauty mark at the tip of your nose, like it
I like it

You see that? My eyes going to your ass (I love it)
Without knowing, my hands go to your hips (ooh I like it)
Your thin ankles in high heels all day baby
Could you be my lady (cuz I know you want it)

Doesn’t matter what time it is or where we are
Don’t ask who I am, what I do, girl
Let’s just have fun like this and go home
And bury this secret between us

Your black stocking (Like it a lot)
Your red lipstick (Like it a lot)
Your sexy smile (Like it a lot)
Everything about you (Like it a lot)
I like her lips and scent, ye
I like your long legs and short skirt, like it
Like it a lot

Just exactly where did you come from?
Why are you just showing up now?
How can you be so perfect?
How am I always moved when I see you?
Too bright? I’ll turn down the lights
Look carefully, so I can show off my talents
More than The Fairy and the Woodcutter
The Lady and Playboy

Your eyes and the way you talk, I like it
Your long hair and
the beauty mark at the tip of your nose, like it
Like it a lot

Doesn’t matter what time it is or where we are
Don’t ask who I am, what I do, girl
Let’s just have fun like this and go home
And bury this secret between us

YEAH
GATTA LOVE IT
BROUGHT TO YOU BY GD
BOYS NOIZE, ZIOT T
AND YOUR GIRL
Like it a lot

There are a lot of interesting songs on the album but I decided to go with “니가 뭔데 (Who You?)” as the last song I’ll be featuring in today’s post. Only because the sound is so distinctly G-Dragon and a little like early Big Bang.

I decided to leave the English translation of the title of song as is, even though it’s an example of poor English grammar but 니가 뭔데 (nee-ga mwon-deh) means “Who do you think you are?” or more literally, “What are you that…” (By the by, don’t misinterpret the phonetic spelling above.)  The song’s got a really easy melody which makes it, for me, a great song to play over and over again.

G-Dragon – 니가 뭔데 (Who You?)

G-Dragon (지드래곤) – 니가 뭔데 (Who You?)

니가 뭔데

Baby I love you 이렇게 말하지만
맘은 왠지 하나도 좋지 않아
I want you I need you 노래 부르지만
I don’t know why I feel bad 니가 뭔데

축하해 그새 다른 남자 또 만나
잘됐음 해 아직 좀 이르다만
난 네가 좋아하면 그 뿐이라고
but 자꾸 화가나 baby 대체 니가 뭔데

Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh

Baby I miss you 왜 자꾸 너만 생각나
다른 사람 못 만나 원하지 않아
널 사랑하는지도 미워하는지도
구분이 안가 매일 헷갈려 아직도
I don’t know why I feel bad 니가 뭔데

눈 앞에 알짱거려
그 놈과 팔짱 걸며
이건 경우가 아니지
장난쳐 누구 놀려?
어머? 엔간히 좀 해라 에라이
거리에서 핀 한 쌍의 더러운 개나리
내가 너에게 못 사준 비싼 백에
구두 대신 사버린 눈물 젖은 배게
uh 왜 넌 행복하고 난 불행해야 하는 건데
대체 니가 뭔데

Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh

Baby I just want you back
I want you back I want you back
Baby I know it’s too late it
just too late it just too late

Baby I just want you back
I want you back I want you back
Baby I know it’s too late it
just too late it just too late

싸워라 빌어 헤어져라 빌어
내게로 다시 돌아와 달라고 늘 빌어
동네마다 거리마다
애써 찾아 다니며 걔네
요즘 안 좋던데 라고 일러

구차하고 찌질해 나 원래 찌질해
몰랐어 너도 마찬가지야 나쁜 기집애
내가 더 잘할게 한번 만나줄래
귀찮게 안할게 제발 돌아와줄래

Baby I hate you Baby I loved you
Ma baby hate you
Baby love you du du du du du 니가 뭔데

Who You?

Baby I love you, though you tell me that
For some reason I’m just not in a good mood
I want you I need you, don’t sing it to me
I don’t know why I feel bad, who you?

Congratulations, you’re already meeting another guy
Hope it works out, even if it’s a bit early
If you’re good, that’s all I want
But I keep getting angry, baby, just who you?

Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh

Baby I miss you, why do I keep thinking of you
I can’t date anyone else, don’t want to
Whether I love you or hate you
Just can’t distinguish it, still confused every day
I don’t know why I feel bad, who you?

Keep showing up in front of me
with your arms linked with his
This isn’t the right circumstance
Are you playing around? Who are you kidding?
Omo, that’s enough, sheesh
Bloomed on the street, a pair of dirty forsythias
The expensive bag I couldn’t buy for you
Instead of shoes, bought a pillow sopping with tears
Uh why do you get to be happy and me miserable
Just who you?

Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh
Du du du du du du du du du du du du du
oh-oh-oh-oh-oh

Baby I just want you back
I want you back I want you back
Baby I know it’s too late it
just too late it just too late

Baby I just want you back
I want you back I want you back
Baby I know it’s too late it
just too late it just too late

I pray for a fight, pray that you break up
Come back to me, pray that I’m granted that
Every neighborhood, every street
Purposefully looking for people,
Informing that you two are doing so well

Pathetic and miserable, I’ve always been miserable
I didn’t know, you’re the same, bitch
I’ll do better, can we meet?
I won’t bother you, please come back to me

Baby I hate you Baby I loved you
Ma baby hate you
Baby love you du du du du du, who you?

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/6/13

  1. Pingback: Video for “Coup d’ etat” by G Dragon will get ripped off |

Leave a Reply

