Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/4/13

Busker Busker is back!  There are quite a number of artist who release a hit debut album but often find it hard to follow it up with a sophomore album that has garners the same interest.  I’ve been really enjoying their album as it suits the current autumn mood I’m feeling.  A little Busker Busker with a cup of hot cider.

Perhaps it was the slow strumming of the first chords of “잘할 걸 (Should’ve Done Better)” that lulled me into a sense of complacency.  The song, at first, sounds bland, opting to strum the same similar chords over and over again.  However, it becomes transparent when you hear it against the lyrics.

The song is about a guy’s regrets, the repetitive chords characterizes how he’s going over all the details of their relationship and how those same thoughts go over and over in his mind.  The song then kicks it into high gear when he admits that he regrets his past mistakes as it is about repentance.  In that same light, this song (as well as a number of others on this album) shows how they choose to elevate their speech by using the word “그대 (geu-dae)” instead of “너 (nuh)”.  They both mean “you” but the former is more formal and sounds a bit more genteel.

Busker Busker – 잘할 걸 (Should’ve Done Better)

버스커 버스커(Busker Busker) – 잘할 걸

잘할 걸

고요하고 어두운 밤이 찾아오면은
난 다시 그대 생각에
니 말투 니 표정
그 하나만 보아도 알 수 있었었는데

근데 왜 나는 네게 찾아가
너에게 너무 많은 걸 뺏고

조금만 더 잘할 걸
조금만 더 참을 걸 그랬지
내가 원한 건 이런 게 아니었는데
도대체 우리가 왜 이렇게

그때는 우리가 완벽했을지라도
지금은 닿을 수 없어
그렇지만 그대여 이것 하나만
제발 부디 기억해줘요

그대여 부디 잊지 말아요
그대가 그때에 외워두었던 나를

조금만 더 잘할 걸
조금만 더 참을 걸 그랬지
내가 원한 건 이런 게 아니었는데
도대체 우리가 왜 이렇게

조금만 더 잘할 걸
조금만 더 참을 걸 그랬지
내가 원한 건 이런 게 아니었는데
도대체 우리가 왜 이렇게

어눌한 목소리와
어색한 표정 그 말투는
네게는 익숙해질 그리운 모습이란 걸
넌 알고 있니

어눌한 목소리와
어색한 표정 그 말투는
네게는 익숙해질 그리운 모습이란 걸
넌 기억하고 있니

Should’ve Done Better

Quiet and dark, when night comes to find me
Again, I think of you
The way you talk, your expressions
Even if I only saw one thing, could have figured it out

Then why do I look for you
Took so much from you

Should’ve done a little bit better
Should’ve been a little bit more patient
What I had wanted, wasn’t this
Just how did we end up like this?

Back then, we would have been perfect
Now, we can’t reach that
Nevertheless dear, this one thing
please, please remember

Dear, please don’t forget
The me that you memorized back then

Should’ve done a little bit better
Should’ve been a little bit more patient
What I had wanted, wasn’t this
Just how did we end up like this?

Should’ve done a little bit better
Should’ve been a little bit more patient
What I had wanted, wasn’t this
Just how did we end up like this?

With an inarticulate voice and
Awkward expression, the way I talk
To you, it’ll become familiar and an image you long for
Do you know that?

With an inarticulate voice and
Awkward expression, the way I talk
To you, it’ll become familiar and an image you long for
Do you remember that?

“그대 입술이 (Your Lips)” is a fun, lighthearted duet with Singer Chae Ji Yeon.  You might be asking who Chae Ji Yeon is and frankly I wasn’t familiar with her either.  She’s also an artist who has yet to debut and at same management company as Busker Busker, Chungchun Music.  The funny thing about the song is that Jang Bum Joon is singing the lead, with Chae Ji Yeon providing backup, but the lyrics are woman’s perspective about skinship and more specifically, kissing.  Just in case you were wondering why he’s acting so timid.

Busker Busker – 그대 입술이 (Your Lips)

버스커 버스커(Busker Busker) – 그대 입술이 (With 채지연 – 풋풋)

그대 입술이

그댄 거짓말을 하죠
항상 참을 수가 없죠
이젠 목소리로 알죠
뻔한 말은 그만해요

오늘은 그냥 가줘요
우리 이러는 거 아냐
나를 좀 기다려줘요
근데 왜

그대 입술이 다가오기를
멈추지 않아 나는 어떡하죠
난 알고 있죠 그대 마음을
하지만 그댄 아닌 것 같아

그댄 쉬운 말을 하죠
항상 참을 수가 없죠
이젠 목소리로 알죠
뻔한 말은 그만해요

오늘은 그냥 가줘요
우리 이러는 거 아냐
나를 좀 이해해줘요
근데 왜

그대 입술이 다가오기를
멈추지 않아 나는 어떡하죠
난 알고 있죠 그대 마음을
하지만 그댄 아닌 것 같아

그대 입술이 다가오기를
멈추지 않아 나는 어떡하죠
난 알고 있죠 그대 마음을
하지만 그댄 하지만 그댄
하지만 그댄 다가오기를
멈추지 않아 나는 어떡하죠
난 알고 있죠 그대 마음을
하지만 그댄 아닌 것 같아

Your Lips

You lie to me
I can’t ever hold it in
Now I can tell by your voice
Stop saying the obvious things

Just for today, go
We shouldn’t be doing this
Please just wait for me
But why

Waiting for your lips to draw near
Not stopping, what am I supposed to do?
I know how you’re feeling
But I don’t think you do

You say the easy words
You can’t ever hold it in
Now I can tell by your voice
Stop saying the obvious things

Just for today, go
We shouldn’t be doing this
Please just understand where I’m coming from
But why

Waiting for your lips to draw near
Not stopping, what am I supposed to do?
I know how you’re feeling
But I don’t think you do

Waiting for your lips to draw near
Not stopping, what am I supposed to do?
I know how you’re feeling
But you, but you
But you’re waiting to draw new
Not stopping, what am I supposed to do?
I know how you’re feeling
But I don’t think you do

Leave a Reply

