Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/11/13

It seems the ladies are feeling very retro in their music styles these days.  This week, it’s two artists who are taking a look back and doing it old school from two very different eras.

Secret’s Song Ji Eun recently came out with another solo album.  I loved “미친거니 (Are You Crazy)” featuring B.A.P’s Bang Yong Guk before the group officially debuted on the K-Pop scene.  I can’t tell you how many times I listened to that song.  So I was really excited for her next outing.

This mini album has only three songs but I really like it.  With only three songs, all three are so different from each other and even from her previous single albums.  I like that she’s experimenting with genres and distinctive music eras.  Not all artists are able to expand their horizon like and make it work but she does.

“Vintage” is definitely a throwback to the 90’s complete with the “yes, yes, y’alls”.  Like comfort food, it’s familiar sound that easy to get back into.  Her singing is so rhythmic while Zelo’s rapping on the slower has a dreamy quality to it.  Together, it feels like you’re looking at a vintage instamatic photo and I suppose that’s why the title is so appropriate.

Song Ji Eun – Vintage (feat. Zelo of B.A.P)

송지은 [시크릿] – Vintage (feat. Zelo Of B.A.P)

Vintage (feat. Zelo of B.A.P)

Yeah, Make It Last
OK, I Just Wanna Say I Love U Girl
Yeah, Let’s Go

피아노 건반
가슴을 기분좋게 두드리는
따스한 이 리듬 소리가
날 자꾸 설레이게 해

내게 1 Step, 2 Step, 다가와
더는 망설이지 말고 어서 다가와
근사한 음악 같은 널 보면 난 Hooo~!

첫눈에 헉, 하고 너에게 반했지
넌 내가 꿈에 그린 이상형 ‘Fantasy’
걱정은 No Doubt, 괜찮은 남자니까
날 믿고 따라와, 천천히 가까이 와
네 옆에 남자들 전부 다 비슷해, 비슷해
심장이 쿵쾅거리는 이 비트에, 비트에
네 몸을 맡겨, 두 눈이 마주칠 땐
널 향한 나의 마음은 더 진해지네

너와 나, 너와 나
좀 더 가까워지게
Be Around, Be Around
이젠 다가와도 돼

하나둘씩 모두가
곤히 잠들어갈 때
Baby, I Can Feel Your Love, Tonight

달콤한 와인 같은 You
조심스레 입을 맞춰볼까? (I’m Still Shy Baby)
가끔 쓴 커피 같은 You
아직 아니라 거절할까?

I’m Feelin’ High I’m Feelin’ High
너를 보면 미칠 것만 같은데
너에게 중독될 것만 같아 Hey Yeah~

내게 중독돼봐 Like Caffeine
모두가 하나 둘 잠들어갈 때
우린 깨있어, 하루하루가 내게는 Birthday
서로가 하나되어 입을 맞출 땐
Don’t Be Shy Baby
내가 더 부끄러워
It’s Party Time Baby
둘만이 시끄러운
음악 속에서 Slow Down 느껴, 여유
내게로 1, 2 Step 말해줘, Say I Luv U

너와 나, 너와 나
좀 더 가까워지게
Be Around, Be Around
이젠 다가와도 돼

하나둘씩 모두가
곤히 잠들어갈 때
Baby, I Can Feel Your Love, Tonight

U & I, U & I
(U & I, 너와 나, 우리 하나되는 순간)
U & I, U & I
(Tell Me, What’s U Wanna Do,
내가 원하는 것도)

Tell Me, 내게 말해줘
어서 내게 말해줘
Baby, I Can Feel Your Love, Tonight

Vintage (feat. Zelo of B.A.P)

Yeah, Make It Last
OK, I Just Wanna Say I Love U Girl
Yeah, Let’s Go

Piano keys
Banging on happily on my heart
Warm, this rhythm sound
Keeps making me excited

To me 1 Step, 2 Step, comes closer
Don’t hesitate any longer, quickly come closer
Like fine music, when I see I’m Hooo~!

At first glance, gasp, and I fell for you
You’re the ideal type ‘Fantasy’ imagined by my dreams
Worries No Doubt, because you’re a good guy
Just trust and follow me, slowly come nearer
All the guys next to you are all alike, alike
The heart thumping to this beat, beat
Let your body flow to it, when two pairs of eyes meet
Headed for you, my heart grows deeper

You and I, You and I
So we could know each other better
Be Around, Be Around
Now you can get closer

One by one, everyone
Until they fall fast asleep
Baby, I Can Feel Your Love, Tonight

Like sweet wine, You
Tenderly, shall we kiss? (I’m Still Shy Baby)
Occasionally like bitter coffee, You
Should I say it’s too early and reject you?

I’m Feelin’ High I’m Feelin’ High
When I look at you, I feel like I’ll go crazy
It’s like I’ll become addicted to you, Hey Yeah~

Be my addiction, Like Caffeine
When everyone one, two falls asleep
We’re awake, day-to-day, to me it’s my Birthday
We become one when we kiss
Don’t Be Shy Baby
I’m more nervous
It’s Party Time Baby
Both of us, making noise
With the music, Slow Down, feel it, independence
To me, 1, 2 Step, Say it for me, Say I Luv U

You and I, You and I
So we could know each other better
Be Around, Be Around
Now you can get closer

One by one, everyone
Until they fall fast asleep
Baby, I Can Feel Your Love, Tonight

U & I, U & I
(U & I, You and I, The moment we become one)
U & I, U & I
(Tell Me, What’s U Wanna Do,
And what I wanna do)

Tell Me, Say it to me
Hurry up and say it
Baby, I Can Feel Your Love, Tonight

_____________________________________________________

I’ll admit that when I heard that IU released her latest album, it didn’t automatically make me jump up and want to go and download it.  Mind you, I didn’t even hear any of the songs yet.  Then I happened to catch the music video of her title song and thought, ‘Woooow, IU, you really grew up (and not in that nasty Miley Cyrus kind of way).”

Her latest album is pretty damn classy and fun to listen to.  Venturing into the world of jazz and musicals, she was definitely influenced by visions of Charlie Chaplin, The Great Gatsby and “The Girl from Ipanema”.  It’s definitely worth taking a listen to the other songs on the album like “입술 사이 (50cm) (Between Lips (50cm))”.

I’m particularly fond of the title song, “분홍신 (Red Shoes)”, loosely based on a concept from the Han Christen Andersen fairy tale of the same name.  Like we’ve seen in her past music videos, “분홍신 (Red Shoes)” has a cast of musicians and entertainers who appear in this video.

The song has a 1930’s big band feel but what’s fascinating about the song are the directional shifts and tempo changes.  The song is so unpredictable and exciting. It’s a very mature song which is valso difficult to sing but IU masters it beautifully. It’s a very rousing number that makes you want to swing and Charleston.  Directed by Toyama Kazuhiko, the music video pays homage to Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby as well as MGM’s The Wizard of Oz.

아이유 – 분홍신

분홍신

길을 잃었다, 어딜 가야 할까
열두 개로 갈린 조각난 골목길
어딜 가면 너를 다시 만날까

운명으로 친다면, 내 운명을 고르자면
눈을 감고 걸어도
맞는 길을 고르지

사라져버린 Summer Time
너의 두 눈이 나를 비추던 Summer Time
기다리기만 하는 내가 아냐
너를 찾아 뚜벅

내게 돌아올 Summer Time
찬 바람 불면 그냥 두 눈 감기로 해
What’s the time? Summer Time

움파룸파둠 두비두바둠
슬프지 않아 춤을 춘다
다시, 다시

길을 찾아 떠난 갈색머리 아가씨는
다시 사랑에 빠졌고 행복했더라는
처음부터 다시 쓰는 이야기

좋은 구둘 신으면 더 좋은 데로 간다며
멈춰지지 않도록, 너를 찾을 때까지

사라져버린 Summer Time
너의 두 눈이 나를 비추던 Summer Time
기다리기만 하는 내가 아냐
너를 찾아 뚜벅

내게 돌아올 Summer Time
찬 바람 불면 그냥 두 눈 감기로 해
What’s the time? Summer Time

움파룸파둠 두비두바둠
멈추지 않아 춤을 춘다
다시, 다시

나의 발이 자꾸 발이 자꾸 맘대로
yoohoo
oh my, pink shoes, oh my
난난 마음 잡고 마음 잡고 제대로
yoohoo
Yah yah 좀 더 빠르게

잃어버린 내 Summer Time
낯선 시간을 헤매이다 널 찾을까
아직 길은 멀었니, 겁이 나면 나는 괜히 웃어

혹시 넌 나를 잊을까
너의 시간이 내게 멈춰있길 바래
slow the time, stop the time

움파룸파룸 두비두비
움파룸파룸 두비두바둠
좀 더 빠르게 달려간다
다시, 다시, 다시, 다시

Red Shoes

Lost my way, where should I go?
Alley streets separated 12 ways
Which path should I take to see you again?

If I go by fate, if I choose my fate
Even if I close my eyes and walk,
I’d choose the right path

Disappeared, Summer Time
Your two eyes illuminate me, Summer Time
Making me wait, that’s not me
Look for you and strut

Returning, Summer Time
Cold wind blowing, just deciding to close both eyes
What’s the time? Summer Time

Oom-pah-room-pah-doom Doo-by-doo-bah-doom
I’m not sad, I’ll dance
Again, again

Finding the way and leaving the brown-haired girl
Fell in love again and happy once
Writing the story again from the beginning

When I wear good shoes, if I go someplace great
So that I won’t stop, until I find you

Disappeared, Summer Time
Your two eyes illuminate me, Summer Time
Making me wait, that’s not me
Look for you and strut

Returning, Summer Time
Cold wind blowing, just deciding to close both eyes
What’s the time? Summer Time

Oom-pah-room-pah-doom Doo-by-doo-bah-doom
I’m not sad, I’ll dance
Again, again

My feet, constantly my feet, constantly on their own
yoohoo
oh my, pink shoes, oh my
I, I get a hold of myself, get a hold of myself well
yoohoo
Yah yah, a little bit faster

Lost, my Summer Time
Strange time wandering, will I find you?
Is it still far, for some reason I laugh when I’m scared

By any chance, will you forget me?
I hope your time has stopped in mine
slow the time, stop the time

Oom-pah-room-pah-room Doo-by-doo-by
Oom-pah-room-pah-room Doo-by-doo-bah-doom
I’m running a little bit faster
Again, again, again, again

Leave a Reply

