Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/25/13

There’s been a wave of great releases from female vocalists.  Though their music is a range of different genres and the lyrics have messages that differ, they all have a feel good quality.  It’s all about girl power today.

Jaurim is back and is it just me or does Kim Yoon Ah resemble Bae Doo Na on this album cover?

Though technically Jaurim is a band, Kim Yoon Ah’s vocals lead the mood of the track, “I feel good”.  It’s a classic rock number that’s reminiscent of The Strokes but with Kim Yoon Ah’s flighty, light touches to the vocals you really feel light as air.  Oh did I mention that the song is about breaking up?  Rather than feeling sad, she’s ready to toss the baggage aside and put this relationship in her rearview mirror.

Jaurim – I feel good

자우림 – I feel good

I feel good

떠나간다, 사라졌다
아니, 처음부터 있지도 않았다
상관없다, 그냥 그렇다
다시 생각하면 지긋지긋하다
가버려라, 다 가져가라
어? 그건 놓고 가라
떠나간다, 사라진다
오글거리는 기억마저
모두 지워버린다

모두 지워버린다
손이 더러워진다
이제 기억이 없다
모든 게 완벽해졌다

I feel good, feel good 완벽해졌어
I feel good, feel good 완벽한 사람이 됐어
I feel good, feel good 완벽해졌어
I feel good, I feel good, feel good

떠나간다, 사라졌다
아니, 처음부터 있지도 않았다
상관없다, 그냥 그렇다
오글거리는 기억마저
모두 지워버린다

모두 지워버린다
손이 더러워진다
이제 기억이 없다

I feel good, feel good 완벽해졌어
I feel good, feel good 완벽한 사람이 됐어
I feel good, feel good 완벽해졌어
I feel good, I feel good, feel good

I feel good

You’re leaving, you’ve disappeared
No, from the start I didn’t forget
Doesn’t matter, that’s just how it is
When I think about it again, I’m fed up
Go away, take everything
Uh? Leave that behind and go
You’re leaving, you’re disappearing
Even memories that make me squirm,
Erase them all

Erasing everything
My hands are getting dirty
Now I don’t have any memories
Everything has become perfect

I feel good, feel good, it’s become perfect
I feel good, feel good, become a complete person
I feel good, feel good, it’s become perfect
I feel good, I feel good, feel good

You’re leaving, you’ve disappeared
No, from the start I didn’t forget
Doesn’t matter, that’s just how it is
Even memories that make me squirm,
Erase them all

Erasing everything
My hands are getting dirty
Now I don’t have any memories

I feel good, feel good, it’s become perfect
I feel good, feel good, become a complete person
I feel good, feel good, it’s become perfect
I feel good, I feel good, feel good

_____________________________________________________

I just took all the songs from Jung In’s last album from March off of my current playlist on my iPod when she came out with this mini album.  And there I am adding her all over again.  That’s the power of Jung In’s voice.  She’s incredibly soulful in her singing and her voice is very unique.  The other day I was thinking she sounded like the female Kim Gun Mo.  Many artists can imitate Kim Gun Mo but it’s quite another thing to make that your own unique thing.

Her latest album is titled “Autumn Woman”.  I’ve seen people mistakenly translate it as “Autumn Man” which is actually the title of her title song.  Confused?  She’s an Autumn Woman singing about an Autumn Man.  Despite the somber nature of some of the lyrics, the song isn’t really somber overall.  It’s about a woman who acknowledging when to give her man space.  It makes you wonder if that’s how Jung In stayed together with Jo Jung Chi for all those years.  They each have their separate projects and interests but they always come back to each other because the truth is that they love each other and always will.

Another interesting thing about the song is Jung In’s rapping in the middle.  I feel like I’ve heard her rapping before but I just can’t recall when.  Though Jung In wrote and composed the song (Arrangement by Primary), I felt like I could hear some Leessang influence in the track.  Especially during the rapping, as I could almost swap out her voice for Gary’s.  And you know what?  It seems that Gary did lend his guidance to Jung In.

정인 – 가을남자

가을남자

거리마다
차가운 가을 바람 불어올 때면
버려진 쓰레기들 춤을 출 때면
아무리 떼를 써보고 물어봐도
너는 너만의 그곳으로 도망가
가을이 오는 냄새 코 앞에 오면
넌 슬퍼지나봐 (슬퍼지나봐 예예예)
서늘한 마음만큼 날 밀어내네
나 슬퍼지잖아 (슬퍼지잖아)

가을 남자 그대여
날 외롭게 좀 하지 마요
가뭄같은 그대여
날 시들게 좀 하지 마요

너를 사랑해 (너를 사랑해)
난 어떡하라고 (너 밖에 없잖아)
자꾸 도망가 (예예예)
삐뚤어질 테다

너를 사랑해
(왜이러는지 알 거 같아도)
난 어떡하라고 (너무 힘들어)
방긋 웃어줄 (예예예)
너의 봄만 기다리네

봄 봄 봄 봄

골목마다
귀뚜르 귀또르르 울어댈 때면
너에겐 바스락 낙엽 밟는 소리만
두 손은 짤랑이는 주머니로
너는 너만의 그곳으로 도망가

니가 돌처럼 딱딱하지 않아서
난 너무 좋았지만
사계절 중 딱 한 계절
가을 오면 넌 폭발

물처럼 물러지고 내 손에서 흘러내려
내가 문제일지 모른단 생각에 예쁘게 보이자
애썼어,
여자로써 매력지수 떨어질 수 있으니까

혹시 다른 여자 생긴 건지 물었지만
그건 아니래 지금은 단지 혼자가 좋대
그래 나도 때론 혼자가 편하니까
이해해줄게

너 없이도 혼자 할 일은 많아

웹서핑, 아이쇼핑,
그리고 밀린 드라마 보기
날 좋은 날 홀로 산에 오르기,
그리고 술에 취해 찾아간 클럽
나 모든 걸 다 잊고 즐겨

하지만 시간이 지나면
내 맘은 또 다시 널 불러

가을 남자 그대여
날 외롭게 좀 하지 마요
(외롭게 외롭게 하지 마요)
가뭄같은 그대여
(가뭄같아, 가뭄같아, 가뭄같아)
날 시들게 좀 하지 마요 (하지 마요)

너를 사랑해 (너를 사랑해)
어떡하라고 (너 밖에 없잖아)
자꾸 도망가 (예예예)
삐뚤어질 테다

너를 사랑해
(왜이러는지 알 거 같아도)
어떡하라고 (너무 힘들어)
방긋 웃어줄 (예예예)
너의 봄만 기다리네

기다리네 우 기다리네 오~
가뭄같은 그대여
나의 사랑의 단비를 내려줘

가을 남자, 가을 남자, 가을남자,
그는 나의 남자

Autumn Man

On every street
When a cold autumn wind comes blowing
When the discarded trash begins to dance
No matter how much I beg and ask
You run away to the place of your own
When the smell of autumn reaches the tip of my nose
Guess you get sad (Guess you get sad, yeah yeah yeah)
As much as your heart cools, you push me away
And I get sad (I get sad)

Dear Autumn man
Don’t make me feel lonely
You, who’s like a drought
Don’t make me wither away

I love you (I love you)
What am I to do? (I only have you)
You always run away (Yeah yeah yeah)
Then I’ll go awry

I love you
(Even though I think I know why you’re doing this)
What am I to do? (It’s too hard)
Making you smile (Yeah yeah yeah)
I’ll wait for your Spring to come

Spring Spring Spring Spring

In every alleyway
When the crickets chirp chirp
From you only hear the crunch of fallen leaves
Two hands inside your jingling pockets
You run away to that place of your own

Because you weren’t like a hard rock,
I liked you but
during one of the four seasons,
when Autumn comes, you explode

You get limp like water and flow out of my hands
Thinking I’m the problem, I try to look pretty for you
Making the effort
because my attractiveness as a girl might drop

Asked if perhaps there was another woman
But you say it’s not that but you prefer being alone
Yeah, I also feel comfortable being alone at times
I’ll try to understand

Without you, I have plenty to do by myself

Web surfing, eye shopping,
and catching up on my dramas
Going hiking on a good day,
And going clubbing after getting drunk
I’ll forget everything and have fun

But as time goes by
My heart again calls for you

Dear Autumn man
Don’t make me feel lonely
(Don’t make me feel lonely lonely)
You, who’s like a drought
(Like a drought, drought, drought)
Don’t make me wither away (Don’t make me)

I love you (I love you)
What am I to do? (I only have you)
You always run away (Yeah yeah yeah)
Then I’ll go awry

I love you
(Even though I think I know why you’re doing this)
What am I to do? (It’s too hard)
Making you smile (Yeah yeah yeah)
I’ll wait for your Spring to come

Waiting woo, Waiting oh~
You, who’s like a drought
Send down a much-needed rain for my love

Autumn Man, Autumn Man, Autumn Man,
He’s my man

_____________________________________________________

Although As One can often sound syrupy sweet, there a humble honesty in their voices that makes their naiveté okay in my book.  “2=1” is a simple, uncomplicated song about the love between two people which makes them become one.  That’s it.  However, their gentle melodic voices make me not want to be sarcastic and go all down with love.

As One – 2=1

애즈 원(As One) – 2=1

2=1

두 사람이
하나가 된다는건
결코 쉽지않아
하지만 난 너와 함께
함께 할수 있다면, 난 두렵지 않아
그대와 영원히

Oh~ yeah
너만 보고싶어
Oh~ yeah
함께 있어도

Still forever in love
처음처럼 오늘도 난 그대로
Still forever in love
영원토록 영원히 난 이대로

All day, All night, Always
오늘도 난 설레죠
All day, All night, Always
내일도 난 그대죠

때론 다투겠지만 그래도 사랑이죠
Oh yeah
그대의 사랑 날 완전하게 해

All day, All night, Always
오늘도 난 설레죠
All day, All night, Always
내일도 난 그대죠

2=1

Two people
If they become one
It’s never easy
But I’m, together with you
If we can do it together, I won’t be scared
With you, forever

Oh~ yeah
Only want to see you
Oh~ yeah
Even if we’re together

Still forever in love
I remain the same today as I was in the beginning
Still forever in love
Forever and ever, I’ll be this way

All day, All night, Always
Even today I’m excited
All day, All night, Always
Tomorrow too, I’m yours

Sometimes we may fight, but still I love you
Oh yeah
Your love completes me

All day, All night, Always
Even today I’m excited
All day, All night, Always
Tomorrow too, I’m yours

Leave a Reply

