Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/15/13

We’re approaching the holiday season and with that mentality feel good songs seem to make more radio waves than any other time of the year.  A song can make you feel good because of its melody or it can make you feel good because of its lyrics.  This week, there are both examples of that.

With Lim Jeong Hee’s latest single, the “feel good” quality is right there in the title, “Feel So Good”.  A collaborative work with Superstar K4’s Hong Dae Kwang, I’d say that it’s the melody that makes it feel good.

The lyrics are cute but not all that unique.  It’s the powerful vocals and jazzy pop sounds of the piano and brass instruments that give it a fresh, romantic vibe.  I’m not familiar with Hong Dae Kwang’s voice and at first I confused it first for JYP.  However, that’s probably because it was JYP who discovered Lim Jeong Hee’s talent.  Nevertheless, the chemistry is there in their voices.

Lim Jeong Hee – Feel So Good (feat. 홍대광) (Feel So Good (feat. Hong Dae Kwang))

임정희 – Feel So Good (Feat. 홍대광)

Feel So Good (feat. 홍대광)

얘길 하려다가
살짝 말을 돌리고
아닌 척 하다가
눈치가 이상하다고
모르겠어 이 감정
자꾸 네가 보고 싶어져

Hey pretty girl 마음도 넌 예뻐
Hey sexy girl 날 미치게 해
너만의 비누향기 oh oh
그 아기같은 미소 oh oh
어느새 빠져들고 있어

사랑 같았던 시원한 바람 불어와
꿈만 같았던 사랑이 찾아와
자꾸만 웃게 돼
점점점 내 맘이 너로 가득 차 Feel so good

Hey sweety girl 달콤한 목소리 oh
Hey baby girl 날 미치게 해
일분이 아까운 걸 oh oh
봐도 봐도 보고 싶은 걸 oh
이미 네게 빠져버렸어

사랑 같았던 시원한 바람 불어와
꿈만 같았던 사랑이 찾아와
자꾸만 웃게 돼
점점점 내 맘이 너로 가득 차 Feel so good
내게 와 조금씩 내 품 안에 안겨
이대로 네 마음을 보여줘
사실 난 네가 좋아
난 처음부터 네게 빠졌어

이젠 말해줘 사랑한다고
온종일 보고 싶다고
하나뿐인 사랑 단 하나의 사랑
점점점 다가와 나를 안아줘 Feel so good

Feel So Good (feat. Hong Dae Kwang)

About to say something but
slightly turn my words around
Pretending nothing wrong but
you notice that’s something weird
I don’t know this feeling
I keep missing you

Hey pretty girl, even your heart is beautiful
Hey sexy girl, you make me crazy
The distinctive scent of your soap oh oh
Your innocent* smile oh oh
I am already falling for you

A cool breeze blows like love
A love of my dreams finds me and
I can’t stop smiling
Gradually my heart fills of you, Feels so good

Hey sweety girl, sweet voice oh
Hey baby girl, you make me crazy
Even a single minute is precious oh oh
I look and look and I want to see you oh
I have already fallen for you

A cool breeze blows like love
A love of my dreams finds me and
I can’t stop smiling
Gradually my heart fills of you, Feels so good
Come to me, slowly come into my embrace
Show me your heart like this
Truthfully, I like you
I’ve fallen for you at first sight

Now tell me that you love me
That you miss me all day long
My one love, only love
Gradually draw nearer and hug me, Feel so good

_____________________________________________________

It’s been over 3 years since Lily Allen last released anything and she’s back with a new music video.  I thought that the lyrics were fresh and it just made me feel good.  However, she’s been receiving a lot of criticism for it with people calling her racist and that this music video is demeaning to women.  Respectfully, I disagree.  Lily Allen went on the defensive and argued her points, which I think she did very well.

To me, I see it as a satire.  The video is clearly marked as explicit so it’s not meant for children who may not understand the context of it.  It’s a visual representation of the current pop culture scene and as the lyrics state, ‘It’s hard out here for a bitch.’  Try finding your confidence in the midst of the entertainment industry, while trying to push the envelope for the sake of art.

Lily Allen doesn’t say that she’s graceful at it but she’s going to break that glass ceiling by her own methods.  So perhaps that’s her way of telling the naysayers F-you?

Lily Allen – Hard Out Here

Hard Out Here

I suppose I should tell you what this bitch is thinking
You’ll find me in the studio and not in the kitchen
I won’t be bragging ’bout my cars or talking ’bout my chains
Don’t need to shake my ass for you ’cause I’ve got a brain

If I told you about my sex life, you’d call me a slut
When boys be talking about their bitches, no one’s making a fuss
There’s a glass ceiling to break, aha, there’s money to make
And now it’s time to speed this up ’cause I can’t move in this space

Sometimes it’s hard to find the words to say
I’ll go ahead and say them anyway
Forget your balls and grow a pair of tits

It’s hard, it’s hard, it’s hard out there for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here

You’re not a size six, and you’re not good looking
Well you better be rich, or be real good at cooking
You should probably lose some weight
‘Cause we can’t see your bones
You should probably fix your face or you’ll end up on your own

Don’t you want to have somebody who objectifies you?
Have you thought about your butt? Who’s gonna tear it in two?
We’ve never had it so good, aha, we’re out of the woods
And if you can’t detect the sarcasm, you’re misunderstood

Sometimes it’s hard to find the words to say
I’ll go ahead and say them anyway
Forget your balls and grow a pair of tits

It’s hard, it’s hard, it’s hard out there for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here

A bitch, a bitch, a bitch, bitch, bitch
A bitch, a bitch, a bitch, bitch, bitch
A bitch, a bitch, a bitch, bitch, bitch
A bitch, a bitch, a bitch, bitch, bitch

Inequality promises that it’s here to stay
Always trusty in justice ’cause it’s not going away
Inequality promises that it’s here to stay
Always trusty in justice ’cause it’s not going away

Sometimes it’s hard to find the words to say
I’ll go ahead and say them anyway
Forget your balls and grow a pair of tits

It’s hard, it’s hard, it’s hard out there for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here

It’s hard, it’s hard, it’s hard out there for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here for a bitch
It’s hard, for a bitch (for a bitch)
For a bitch, it’s hard
It’s hard out here

Leave a Reply

