Just Bananas About: Week of 12/16/13

**Sorry, I’ve been incognito these past few weeks.  Went away on vacation and then came back to the bitter cold and got a cold.  I was down for the count last week but I’m back and ready to gear up for all things involving the end of the year.

Last night was the premiere of Psych the Musical.  I honestly didn’t know what to expect.  There’s been quite a trend of shows turning into musicals but I just couldn’t picture how this one would turn out.

To be completely honest, I don’t think you’ll find me racing to the computer to download the soundtrack.  The songs were more entertaining than great showstopping numbers.  You have Dulé Hill who is a seasoned Broadway veteran and plus they brought on the Anthony Rapp (Rent) to guest star.

I was surprised to find that James Roday and Timothy Omundson (and even Kirsten Nelson) are pretty good singers. Maggie Lawson was my least favorite voice of the group.  Corbin Bernsen didn’t sing at all.

So far, my favorite number is “I’ve Heard it Both Ways”.

The episode is about a doomed musical and its playwright, Z (Anthony Rapp).  He’s wrongly accused of killing a critic and placed in a mental institution.  Until he makes his escape 7 years later after hearing the news that his same stage crew plans to make another musical about the same subject as his original play.  Everyone assumes he escapes in order to plot his revenge but Shawn (James Roday) is the only person that suspects that he may not be a killer.

Shawn is also offered help from the Serial Killer Mr. Yang (Ally Sheedy).  I find it hilarious that he’s nonchalant with her despite that she tried to kill him and his friends.  She’s wickedly amusingly in a creepy way.

[SPOILER ALERT!] However, I am disappointed that she met her demise.  Or did she?  Nevertheless, I love that Mary Lightly (Jimmi Simpson) made a brief appearance in a big fluffy white coat.

The thing that I love about Psych is that it knows how to make me laugh.  And the musical sure did a great job in making me crack up.  And I’m still cracking up this morning over Gus’ (Dulé Hill) rendition of “Jamaican Inspector Man”.

Leave a Reply

