Jive Monkey Playlist: 12/20/13

Seriously, 2013 has flown by so quickly and now we’re at the last playlist post of the year.  That honor goes to Dick Punks!

A couple weeks back they released another album and Dick Punks is now my favorite new band of the year.  Sure, they debuted on 2010 but I don’t think they really took off from the indie scene until they participated in Super Star K4.  I, personally, did not get introduced to them until they released an album this past Spring and I’m sure by now everyone has heard “Viva 청춘 (Viva Youth)” and primavering it up with the Halbaes as this became their theme song.  They have been having a really, great year.

The reason why I fell in love with them is they felt like a jaunty and lighthearted band with their first release.  But as I got to know them throughout the year, I also saw their deeply emotional side when they did the soundtrack for Two Weeks.

For their latest album, they produced a song called “그 일(1) (That One (1))” which has a rock-opera ballad sound that would work well in a musical.  That “one” in the title is a reference to the 1 that appears next to message that have not been viewed yet and in our digital age it’s clear how it could drive someone crazy when they’re eager about finding out whether their crush likes them or not.  Perhaps the age we’re living in with our ability to instantly connect with someone isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be.

Dick Punks – 그 일 (1) (That One (1))

그 일 (1)

조금전에 너에게 보낸 문자 하나,
그게 나의 전부였었지

아까부터 답장만 기다리고 있어,
머리속을 떠나질 않아

니가 잘 시간이 아닌걸 난 알고 있지만,
점점 불안해져가 작은 화면만 봐

그일(1)이 왜 지워지지 않는 걸까
그냥 하고 싶은 말이
널 좋아한단 말이였는데

그걸 왜 보지도 않아
이젠 지울 수도 없어
그냥 어서 빨리 내게 답장줘 빨리
아 빨리!!!!

어제부터 답장만 기다리고 있어
아직도 읽지 않은 거겠지

이제 기분이 좋지 않아 점점 지쳐가
아무것도 할 수 없어서
전화기만 봐

그일(1)이 왜 지워지지 않는 걸까
그냥하고 싶은 말이
널 좋아한단 말이였는데

그걸 왜 보지도 않아
이젠 지울 수도 없어
그냥 어서 빨리 내게 답장줘 빨리

하루에도 몇 번씩
고민한 거란 말야
전환 또 왜 안 받아
빨리 좀 답장좀 줘~

그일(1)이 왜 지워지지 않는 걸까?
그냥하고 싶은 말이
널 좋아한단 말이였는데

그걸 왜 보지도 않아
이젠 지울수도 없어,
그냥 어서 빨리 내게 답장 줘

That One (1)

Just a short while ago sent you a text,
that was my everything

Been waiting for response for some time now
The thought doesn’t leave from my head

I know it’s not time for you to be asleep yet
Growing restless looking at a small screen

That one (1), why won’t it erase
The thing I want to say is
just that I like you

Why won’t you even look at it?
Now I can’t erase it
Just hurry and respond to me, hurry
Ah hurry!!!!

Waiting for a response since yesterday
Must have not read it yet

Now I don’t feel good, growing tired
Since I can’t do anything else,
keep looking at the phone

That one (1), why won’t it erase
The thing I want to say is
just that I like you

Why won’t you even look at it?
Now I can’t erase it
Just hurry up and respond to me, hurry

Several times in one day
I agonized over it
And why don’t you pick up the phone?
Hurry up and answer me back

That one (1), why won’t it erase?
The thing I want to say is
just that I like you

Why won’t you even look at it?
Now I can’t erase it
Just hurry up and respond to me

Leave a Reply

