Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/10/14

TVXQ started off the New Year with a bang.  I have to admit that I’ve never really listened to one of their albums all the way through but this one I really like.  The first half of their album, which is also their 10 year anniversary album, has them experimenting with different kinds of genre and all I can say about that is the album has a lot of soul.

One such experiment is the title song itself, “Something”.  The song first caught my eye when I happened to catch their Music Bank comeback stage.  For a live show, the camerawork is excellent and refrains from cutting essential dancing sequences.  Also, the technical director does a great job with the digital effects of going from black and white to color.  Of course, TVXQ are known for their dancing but it’s so exciting to see the two jiving on the dance floor incorporating the props into the choreography.  The live stage felt like a music video.

The song itself is a big band pop number and the music video feels Gatsby-esque.  Yes, the recent Leo version.  There is something about the chorus that reminds me of Gwen Stefani’s “The Great Escape” but I suspect that’s because the chorus is such a rapid fire of the rhythimical lyrics.  My favorite part of the dance is watching Uknow Yunho being tied up by the ropes where he comes off looking like a marionette and Max Changmin repeatedly sing the word “round” bringing the song to an exuberant swell.  All in all, the song is a lot of fun and has a lot of energy despite the fact that I can’t stop looking at UKnow Yunho’s half-done sweater and Max Changmin’s incomplete pants in the music video.

동방신기 – Something

Something

She got that something
She got that something
She’s just a beautiful (hey hey hey)
Just a beautiful (hey hey hey)
Sh.. Watch out
Aha! Yeah제발 나 좀 깨우지마
어젯밤 한숨도 못 잤단 말야
수 많은 여자들 모두 내가 좋대
아이돌 같대나 뭐래나

솔직히 덤덤한 기분
언제나 내게 꽂혀버린 시선들
불편해도 뭘 어쩌겠어
맨날 그래왔던 걸
오늘도 난 burn like fire!

She got that something!
But 내겐 부족해요 Stop! Baby
도도해 보이지만 나를 향한 눈빛이
흔들리지 좀 더 분발해야 될 걸
She got that something!
망설인다면 나는 fly, baby
들키지 말고 내게 살금 살금 살금 다가와 주면
내가 모른 척 넘어가 줄 텐데

내가 못된 남자라면?
여자를 울릴 남자라면?
물러나는 게 좋아 다치기 전에
거부할 수 없는 걸 알지만

흔하디 흔한 남자들이 지겨워졌다면
그대로 All in! 위험한 Come in!
둘이 함께 burn like fire!

She got that something!
But 내겐 부족해요 Stop! Baby
도도해 보이지만 나를 향한 눈빛이
흔들리지 좀 더 분발해야 될 걸
She got that something!
망설인다면 나는 fly, baby
들키지 말고 내게 살금 살금 살금 다가와 주면
내가 모른 척 넘어가 줄 텐데

오늘밤은 기대해도 좋아 Friday night
숨이 멎어 버릴지도 모를 멋진 밤
모두 다 흥에 겨워 즐거워할 때
너만 심각해
어쩌면 수줍은 거니 나를 맴도니
Round and round and
round round round round
1, 2, 3

She got that something!
But 내겐 아주 조금 모자라
그렇게 기회만 보면
때는 이미 늦은 걸 no no no no

She got that something!
But 내겐 부족해요 Stop! Baby
도도해 보이지만 나를 향한 눈빛이
흔들리지 좀 더 분발해야 될 걸
She got that something!
망설인다면 나는 fly, baby
들키지 말고 내게 살금 살금 살금 다가와 주면
내가 모른 척 넘어가 줄 텐데

Something

She got that something
She got that something
She’s just a beautiful (hey hey hey)
Just a beautiful (hey hey hey)
Sh.. Watch out
Aha! YeahPlease don’t wake me up
Wasn’t able to sleep a wink last night
Countless women, all say they like me
Say I’m like an idol or something

Honestly, I feeling detached
Eyes constantly fixed on me
Even if it’s uncomfortable, what can I do?
It was always like that
Today, likewise, I burn like fire!

She got that something!
But it’s not sufficient for me, Stop! Baby
You may appear standoffish but the looks you send me
Are wavering, must try a bit harder
She got that something!
If you hesitate, I’d fly, baby
Don’t get caught and if you approach me stealthily
I’ll pretend not to notice

If I were a bad guy?
A guy that makes women cry?
It’s best to retreat before you get hurt
Though I know you can’t turn me down

Heard that you’re tired of the same ol’ guys
Right there, All in! Dangerous, Come in!
Together, burn like fire!

She got that something!
But it’s not sufficient for me, Stop! Baby
You may appear standoffish but the looks you send me
Are wavering, must try a bit harder
She got that something!
If you hesitate, I’d fly, baby
Don’t get caught and if you approach me stealthily
I’ll pretend not to notice

It’s alright to look for to tonight, Friday night
Might not be able to breathe, a gorgeous night
When everyone is having a good time, you’re the only one who’s serious
Are you perhaps shy? Are you circling me?
Round and round and
round round round round
1, 2, 3

She got that something!
But there’s something missing for me
If you’re looking for chances
Then it’s probably already too late, no no no no

She got that something!
But it’s not sufficient for me, Stop! Baby
You may appear standoffish but the looks you send me
Are wavering, must try a bit harder
She got that something!
If you hesitate, I’d fly, baby
Don’t get caught and if you approach me stealthily
I’ll pretend not to notice

Another song I really like is “오늘밤 (Moonlight Fantasy) (Tonight (Moonlight Fantasy))”. The lyrics are simple and straight forward but there are various tempo variations. The song is bookended with a ballad sound and there’s a bit of gospel-y blues bit in the middle which is surprising.

Mostly the track is funk and it’s not a genre I normally associate with TVXQ but it does work and it does have a catchy hook. To add another layer of color, various sound effects pop up giving the song an 80’s sci-fi digital vibe. While the lyrics seem a little plain, the melody gives it an entirely different story.

TVXQ – Moonlight Fantasy

동방신기 – 오늘밤 (Moonlight Fantasy)

오늘밤 (Moonlight Fantasy)

오늘밤 하얀 달빛이 우릴 비추면
내 눈에 비춰진 세상을 네게
보여주고 파 내 손을 잡아

놀라지마 내 손짓 한 번에
가로등 불을 켤게
하늘 위 저 별빛들을 내려
하얗게 너를 감쌀게 Oh

불어온 바람에 발이 가벼워져
하늘을 날아 바로 오늘밤

오늘밤 You and me
이 하늘을 가로질러
Dance with me, Oh yeah
내 손을 잡아 네게 보여줄게
Just you and me me me

Just you and me
Just you and me

다시 또 내 손짓 한번에
온 세상은 멈춰서
달이 내린 호수 위에서
우린 함께 춤을 춰 oh yeah

세상의 빛을 발 밑에 두고서
넌 나를 점점 유혹하고 있어
별빛이 가까워 네 손을 잡을게
놓치지 말아 바로 오늘밤

오늘밤 You and me
이 하늘을 가로질러
Dance with me, Oh yeah
내 손을 잡아 네게 보여줄게
Just you and me me me

Just you and me

You and me
You and me
You and me
난 할 수 있어 바로 오늘밤

오늘밤 You and me
이 하늘을 가로 질러
Dance with me, Oh yeah
내 손을 잡아 네게 보여줄게
Just you and me me me
오늘밤 You and me
이 하늘을 가로 질러
Dance with me, Oh yeah
내 손을 잡아 네게 보여줄게
Just you and me me me

Just you and me
Moonlight Fantasy

Tonight (Moonlight Fantasy)

When the white moonlight shines down on us tonight
The world reflected in my eyes, to you
I want to show, hold my hand

Don’t be alarmed, with one wave of my hand
I’ll turn the streetlamp on
The stars in the sky will fall down
And I’ll innocently embrace you, Oh

The blowing winds makes us light on our feet
As we fly in the sky exactly on this night

Tonight, You and me
We’ll cut across this sky
Dance with me, Oh yeah
Hold my hand, I’ll show you
Just you and me me me

Just you and me
Just you and me

Again with one wave of my hand
The entire world standstills
Above the lake where the moon beamed down
We dance together oh yeah

Placing the light of the world beneath our feet
You slowly seduce me
The starlight is close, I’ll hold your hand
Don’t let go right on this night

Tonight, You and me
We’ll cut across this sky
Dance with me, Oh yeah
Hold my hand, I’ll show you
Just you and me me me

Just you and me

You and me
You and me
You and me
I can do it precisely on this night

Tonight, You and me
We’ll cut across this sky
Dance with me, Oh yeah
Hold my hand, I’ll show you
Just you and me me me
Tonight, You and me
We’ll cut across this sky
Dance with me, Oh yeah
Hold my hand, I’ll show you
Just you and me me me

Just you and me
Moonlight Fantasy

Leave a Reply

