Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/17/14

There have been some surprising releases lately.  Not surprised that these artists released an album but surprised by how I reacted to them.  Today, there’s the Hallyu star comeback and the new solo ventures of one of my favorite rappers.

Rain, it’s been a long time.  A long time since I’ve listened to his music.  Sure, he was busy with a lot of acting projects and then went into the army for almost two years.  But even before all that happened, it’s been a long time since I’ve liked his music.  “Back to the Basic” was a pretty dismal album.

I’ll admit that there’s a narrow window in which Rain’s music and I are compatible.  The title tracks on “Rain Effect”, like “30 Sexy”, don’t quite jive with me.  There’s just too many sounds going on all at once but it doesn’t make the track more powerful or compelling.

Instead, I’m a fan of some of the other tracks on the album.  Sure, there might not be anything too unique about it but rather than Rain experimenting with a whole bunch of noise I prefer that he explore a simpler sound.  That one hook that just gets into your head and just puts you in a good mood, like “마릴림 먼로 (Marilyn Monroe)”.  The simplicity of the song reminds me of “I Do” and also takes me back.  Also, the lyrics make you wonder if he was thinking of Kim Tae Hee as he was writing it.  I’ll admit that it’s a little heavy on the compliments that do warrant some eyerolling but my cheesy side takes over gets into grooving to a cute and feel-good love song.

Rain – 마릴림 먼로 (Marilyn Monroe)

비 (Rain) – 마릴린 먼로 (Marilyn Monroe)

마릴린 먼로 (Marilyn Monroe)

Beautiful~ 널 처음 본 순간
숨이 막혀와 난 다리가 풀렸었어
어떻게 너에게 다가가 Hu~
내 맘을 보일까 온몸에 힘이 빠졌어

I’m going crazy cause I love~
미치겠어 나~
넌 정말 나에게 딱인 것 같아
내 손 잡을 수 있니
내 발 맞출 수 있니
나와 눈을 마주보면서~

내게로 올 때 Oh 메시지를 줘요 You
모든 걸 줄 수 있는 나
I need you lover Oh 니가 필요해
자꾸 내 눈에 떠도는 You 오직 너뿐이야

Beautiful~ 어쩜 그럴까요
예뻐도 너무 짜증이 나게 예뻐
알아버린 걸까~
내가 원하는대로 yeah baby
다가오고 있어 온몸에 힘이 빠졌어

I’m going crazy cause I love~
미치겠어 나~
넌 정말 나에게 딱인 것 같아
내 손 잡을 수 있니
내 발 맞출 수 있니
나와 눈을 마주보면서~

내게로 올 때 Oh 메시지를 줘요 You
모든 걸 줄 수 있는 나
I need you lover Oh 니가 필요해
자꾸 내 눈에 떠도는 You 오직 너뿐이야

what a beautiful weather
I feel good
I need your smile

시작이 될 거라고 말을 하지 말어
아니 언제나 시작이 될 거란 걸
마릴린 먼로처럼 Wah 고귀한 널
그녀도 니 앞에선 별거 아니란 걸
알고 있는지 모르는 건지
그대는 환상적인 다이아반지
마치 물방울처럼~ 바람처럼~

내게로 올 때 Oh 메시지를 줘요 You
모든 걸 줄 수 있는 나
I need your lover Oh 니가 필요해
자꾸 내 눈에 떠도는 You 오직 너뿐이야

Marilyn Monroe

Beautiful~ from the moment I saw you
took my breath away, my knees buckled
How am I supposed to get close to you? Hu~
Will my feelings show? My whole body goes weak

I’m going crazy cause I love~
Going crazy, I’m~
You’re really perfect for me
Can you grab my hand?
Can you get in step with me?
As you meet me in the eye~

When you come to me, Oh, send me a message, You
Can give you everything, me
I need you lover Oh, I need you
Keep appearing before my eyes, You, there’s only you

Beautiful~ how is that possible?
So beautiful that it’s annoying
Did you find out?
Like how I want it, yeah baby
Coming closer to me, My whole body goes weak

I’m going crazy cause I love~
Going crazy, I’m~
You’re really perfect for me
Can you grab my hand?
Can you get in step with me?
As you meet me in the eye~

When you come to me, Oh, send me a message, You
Can give you everything, me
I need you lover Oh, I need you
Keep appearing before my eyes, You, there’s only you

what a beautiful weather
I feel good
I need your smile

Don’t say that this is the beginning
No, that it will always be how it was at the beginning
Like Marilyn Monroe, Wah, the noble you
Even she isn’t all that in front of you
Do you know that or are you not aware?
You are fantastic diamond ring
Like a drop of water~ like the wind~

When you come to me, Oh, send me a message, You
Can give you everything, me
I need you lover Oh, I need you
Keep appearing before my eyes, You, there’s only you

_____________________________________________________

Yay!  I love that Gary has come out with his solo mini album.  I do love Leessang but I think they both have enough individual talent to pursue both a solo and a group careers.  Since Gary is a hip-hop artist, it’s not that I expected an album of a different genre.  I think Gary’s talent is more lyrical while Gil’s talent is more musical.

While I grew up listening and liking hip-hop, I sometimes find myself having a hard time with certain rap songs, especially if they are more rhythmic and lyrical in nature rather than a mix of music and lyrics.  Hip-hop is typically a bit more melodic.  Some of Gary’s tracks on the album are purely rap and I find myself tuning it out.  However, there are songs which immediately hook me, such as “술 취한 밤의 노래 (A Drunken Night Song)” featuring Jung In.

Okay, if you know me then it’s probably no surprise that I would love this song.  I love Jung In and I love Gary and what’s better than having them both on the same track.  “술 취한 밤의 노래 (A Drunken Night Song)” has a latin tango vibe to it which is interesting since the lyrics have this push and pull quality to it.  I think this is a great song which showcases Gary’s talent as a songwriter.  Just like the title song, this song also includes a bit of cursing which isn’t an accurate English translation but close enough.  While it may sound a little caustic, it makes the just a bit more raw and honest.  I think just how Gary’s personality is just straightforward so are his lyrics.

Gary – 술 취한 밤의 노래 (feat. Jung In)  (A Drunken Night Song (feat. Jung In))

Gary – 술 취한 밤의 노래 (feat. Jung In)

술 취한 밤의 노래 (feat. Jung In)

배고픈 청춘 밤마다 발정 난 수컷들
맞추기 힘든 성공이란 퍼즐
내 전부를 다 퍼준 사랑과
내 전부를 다 가져가 버린 적들
내 어릴 적 푸념들 내 청춘의 이념들
하나도 빠짐없이
하얀 종이에 다 적은
맘이 병든 내가 겪은 그 모든 것들
시간이 지나 내 머리에 흰 눈이 덮히면은
이 모든 건 다시 봄이 되겠지

오오오오 오오오오 술취한 밤의 노래 노래
오오오오 오오오오 목마른 삶의 노래 노래

37세 중년 데뷔 10년
내 인생경험
음악으로 만든 내 8장의 앨범
망한 적 없었지 언제나 잘 됐어
매년 단돈 200으로 일년을 버텨
이제 난 명예와 돈을 챙겨
언제나 내 인생은 풍년
땅을 치며 후회하겠지 날 버린 그녀
하지만 얼마 전에 똥싸다 갑자기 슬펐어
열심히 살았던
내 지난 시절보다 앞으로의 걱정
많은걸 해냈지만 이게 끝인가 싶어
불안감에 하루 종일 글을 썼어
근데 하나같이 다 좆같은 거야
미친놈처럼 술을 마시고 보니
10년 전 내 모습인 거야

때로는 지랄 맞아도
이제는 하나도 낯설지 않아 모든 게
그냥 이렇게 노래 할거야
어차피 내가 할게 이것뿐이니까

때로는 술주정뱅이 고독 속에 빠져 괜히
때로는 술주정뱅이

오오오오 오오오오 술취한 밤의 노래 노래
오오오오 오오오오 목마른 삶의 노래 노래

샴페인 한 병을 손에 들고
술에 환장한 놈처럼 나발불고
처음 보는 여자와 춤추고
키스하려다 뺨을 맞고 미친놈처럼
즐기다 집에 가는 길 비틀거려
때론 비틀거려야
비틀거리는 세상을 알어
콘크리트 바닥은 파도처럼 춤추고
나는 중얼거리며 웃어
천성이 광댄가 봐
평생 이래 살래나 봐
좆같아도 매일 웃어제끼니까
항상 잘 되나 봐

때로는 지랄 맞아도
이제는 하나도 낯설지 않아 모든 게
그냥 이렇게 노래 할거야
어차피 내가 할게 이것뿐이니까

오오오오 오오오오 술취한 밤의 노래 노래
오오오오 오오오오 목마른 삶의 노래 노래

때로는 좆같은 일들이 나를 야려
그럴 때면 그냥 술이나 빨어
어차피 나는 감성을 팔아 살어
산전수전 파란만장
바람 잘날 많은 인생이
내겐 도움이 돼
그 모든 것이 결국엔 음악이 되고
가장 흥미진진한 노름이 돼
난 바닥부터 최고의 삶
수십억의 돈과 셀 수 없이 많은 여자
많은걸 겪어왔어 내게 남은 건 하나
다 버리고 언젠간 떠야지 이놈의 바닥

A Drunken Night Song

Hungry youth, every night, horny males
Hard to match, the puzzle of success
Gave me my everything, love and
Taken everything from me, my enemies
My childhood complaints, the ideology of my youth
Without leaving anything out,
write it down on a piece of white paper
With my sick heart, experiencing it all
As time passes and white snow covers my head
Will all of this become spring again?

Ohohohoh ohohohoh a drunken night song, song
Ohohohoh ohohohoh a thirsty life song, song

37 years old middle aged 10 years since debut
My life experience
Made into music, my 8 albums
Never failed, always did well
Every year endured with just 200
Now I’m gonna take my fame and fortune
My life is always a banner year
Must be hitting the ground with regrets, that girl who left me
But a while back, as I crapped in the toilet I suddenly got sad
Lived to the fullest
More than my past, worry about the future
Accomplished a lot but wonder if this is the end
Anxious all day, wrote some words
But altogether it’s just shit
Like a crazy guy, after drinking,
I see that it’s me from 10 years ago

Sometimes when it’s just bullshit
Now everything is not all that strange
Just going to sing like this
Because that’s all I can do

Sometimes a drunk, falling into loneliness for no reason
Sometimes a drunk

Ohohohoh ohohohoh a drunken night song, song
Ohohohoh ohohohoh a thirsty life song, song

Holding a champagne bottle in one hand
Like a guy addicted to alcohol, drinking from the bottle and
Dance with the first girl I see
Try to kiss and get slapped like a crazy person
Have fun and stumble on my way home
Sometimes you have to stumble
to understand this stumbling world
The concrete floor dances like waves
I mumble and laugh
Guess it’s in my nature to be a clown
Guess I must have always lived like this
Since I get by with a smile even when it’s shitty
Must be why things always go well

Sometimes when it’s just bullshit
Now everything is not all that strange
Just going to sing like this
Because that’s all I can do

Ohohohoh ohohohoh a drunken night song, song
Ohohohoh ohohohoh a thirsty life song, song

Sometimes when shitty things glare at me
Then I just suck on some alcohol
Anyways I just live peddling my emotions
All sorts of hardships and ups and downs,
Life catches much of that wind and
it helps me out,
all of that becomes music and
becomes a most fascinating game
From my lowest point, it’s been the best life
Hundreds of thousands of dollars and countless women
Experienced a lot, there’s only one thing left
Throw it all away and rise up from the bottom someday

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/17/14

Leave a Reply

