Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/24/14

If the ratings are any indication, you are probably watching You From Another Star.  The love story is currently at the pushing and pulling part and I am so engrossed in what’s going to happen next.  I’ve been enjoying many of the OST releases from the drama but Hyorin or Hyolyn’s track is by far my favorite.  [SPOILER ALERT!] If you haven’t seen this week’s episodes, be prepared that I will be talking about some major plot points.

Hyorin recently released her own single which I do like as evidenced by cTunes playlist on the right.  However, it’s the song “안녕 (Goodbye)” that really made me melt.  Many who are somewhat familiar with Korean may know that 안녕 or Ahn-nyeong is the Korean greeting.  Like “Aloha”, it can be translated both as a Hello or a Goodbye.

In the case of this song, Hyorin is singing from Chun Song Yi’s (Jun Ji Hyun) perspective.  After confessing her feelings to Do Min Joon (Kim Soo Hyun), she has been trying to stay positive about whatever is looming between them.  Unfortunately, knowing that it is almost time to return to his planet, he pushes Song Yi away.

And in a most heartbreaking scene at the frozen lake, which is such a great visual metaphor for the current state of their relationship, she sheds tears and walks away.  I love that Song Yi has gotten over her pride and made a conscious decision to be vulnerable in front of him.  It’s not that she hasn’t shown her vulnerability before but the fact that she purposely chooses to open up to him that makes it different.  She accepts Min Joon’s goodbye but still leaves room for hope with the lines, “Hello, hello, hello…”

Since it’s Hyorin singing this song, I obviously associate these Song Yi’s words.  However, Korean tends to not incorporate as many pronouns as we do in the English language.  In some ways, I like how many lines can sound very non-gender specific and wonder if there will be a role reversal in the drama with Song Yi saying, ‘Goodbye’ and Min Joon holding out hope for a ‘Hello’.

Hyorin – 안녕 (Goodbye)

효린 [씨스타] – 안녕

안녕

우연히 내게 다가와
감싸 안아주고
서로 멍하니 바라보다
건낸 말 안녕

꿈속에서만 스쳐갔던
지금 넌 내 앞에

사랑이 왔는데
그댄 떠난대
기다렸는데
더 볼 수가 없대
늘 바보처럼
흐르는 눈물이 말해
안녕 이젠 Goodbye

Hello Hello Hello
Hello Hello

다시 만날 땐 내가 먼저
괜찮아 안녕

꿈에서라도 마주칠까
두 눈을 감아요

사랑이 왔는데
그댄 떠난대
기다렸는데
더 볼 수가 없대
늘 바보처럼
흐르는 눈물이 말해
안녕 이젠 Good bye

시간이 서둘러
널 내게로 데려와주길
단 한번만 말해주길
믿어지지 않는 이야기를

어디 있는지
내맘 아는지
보고 싶은데
(다신 볼 수 없는 곳에)
밤 하늘에 소리쳐 안녕

사랑이 왔는데
그댄 떠난대
기다렸는데
더 볼 수가 없대
늘 바보처럼
흐르는 눈물이 말해
안녕 이젠 Good bye

Hello Hello Hello
Hello Hello

Goodbye

By chance, you draw nearer to me
Wrap me in your embrace
Blankly staring at each other
You say goodbye

Brushed by only in our dreams
Right now in front of me

Love came
But you say you’re leaving
I waited
You say I can’t see you anymore
Always like an idiot
My falling tears are doing the talking
Goodbye, now Goodbye

Hello Hello Hello
Hello Hello

When we meet again I first
Okay hello

Will we even meet in our dreams?
I close both of my eyes

Love came
But you say you’re leaving
I waited
You say I can’t see you anymore
Always like an idiot
My falling tears are doing the talking
Goodbye, now Goodbye

Hurry the time along
Hope to bring you to me
Hope you say it just once
A story I can’t believe

Where are you?
Do you know how I feel?
I miss you
(In a place where I can’t see you again)
The night sky screams goodbye

Love came
But you say you’re leaving
I waited
You say I can’t see you anymore
Always like an idiot
My falling tears are doing the talking
Goodbye, now Goodbye

Hello Hello Hello
Hello Hello

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/24/14

  1. Hi! just found your blog while browsing through Couch Kimchi. Sucks for me that its just now that I’ve come across your blog, I enjoy reading your reviews and snippets like this.

    This song is currently my jam. (Alas! I can finally replace Sung Sikyung’s “To me”. lol.)
    The vocals and lyrics captures the general feel of the drama right now. It just blends so well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

