Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/31/14

Happy Lunar New Year!  Superstar K4 contestant, Hong Dae Kwang, has been recently making his rounds on my iPod.  I didn’t download his first mini album which came out last spring but he sang a song for the Master’s Sun OST.  His name has also been popping up as a featured artist for other singers.

Most recently, I’ve been listening and liking Lim Jeong Hee’s single “Feel So Good”.  I almost confused his voice for JYP in that track.  Perhaps it’s the genre of the song and the fact that he’s singing with Lim Jeong Hee that made me think of the similarities in their voices but he does really sound like a young JYP here.

Following that single, he recently released another single called “The Silver Lining”.  My favorite track on that album is “겨울바다 (Winter Sea)”.  The ebb and flow of the sea is a metaphor for how difficult it can be to let go of someone he loves. Even though their relationship has cooled over time, the memories return. It’s a song that tugs at the heartstrings but there is a light, airiness to Hong Dae Kwang’s voice that doesn’t emotionally drag you down.

Hong Dae Kwang – 겨울바다 (Winter Sea)

홍대광 – 겨울바다

경울바다

차가운 바람에 옷깃을 여미고
우리의 기억을 찾아 떠나네
텅 빈 기차에 나 홀로 앉으니
짙은 한숨에 추억이 흐른다

또 다시 찾아온 바다
다시 찾아온 차가운 밤
아직도 나는 널 잊지 못하나
두근거리는 가슴에 널 간직한 채
혼자서 헤매이는 깊은 밤

아무도 모르게 처음 그 날처럼
둘 만의 추억을 찾아 떠나네
지금이라도 내게 올 것 같아
그대 모습에 끝내 눈물이 흐른다

또 다시 찾아온 바다
다시 찾아온 차가운 밤
아직도 나는 널 잊지 못하나
두근거리는 가슴에 널 간직한 채
혼자서 헤매이는 깊은 밤

한 걸음 한 걸음 멀어지네요
조금씩 조금씩 흐려지네요
그대는 그대는 떠나가네요
짙은 한숨에 우리 추억이 흐른다

두근거리는 가슴에 널 간직한 채
혼자서 헤매이는 깊은 밤

또 다시 찾아온 바다
다시 찾아온 차가운 밤
아직도 나는 널 잊지 못하나
두근거리는 가슴에 널 간직한 채
혼자서 헤매이는 깊은 밤

Winter Sea

Tailoring my attire because of the cold wind
Our memories finds me and then leaves
Sitting alone in an empty train
With a deep sigh, memories start flowing

Again came to visit the sea
Again finding me, a cold night
Am I still not able to forget you?
With a fluttering heart, I hold on to you
Struggling alone in the deep night

Without anyone knowing, for the first time like that day
Our memories find us and then leaves
Even now, if feels like you’ll come back to me
As your images fades, tears fall

Again came to visit the sea
Again finding me, a cold night
Am I still not able to forget you?
With a fluttering heart, I hold on to you
Struggling alone in the deep night

Step by step, you get farther away
Little by little, you get blurrier
You, you are leaving
With a deep sigh, memories of us start flowing

With a fluttering heart, I hold on to you
Struggling alone in the deep night

Again came to visit the sea
Again finding me, a cold night
Am I still not able to forget you?
With a fluttering heart, I hold on to you
Struggling alone in the deep night

Leave a Reply

