Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/10/14

And so here’s the final chapter for Nell’s Gravity Trilogy.  They released an album over a year ago called “Holding on to Gravity” and a second album called “Escaping Gravity”.  “Newton’s Apple” seems to be the final chapter of their 6th studio release.  “Newton’s Apple” is a two-disc release and the songs on the first disc are new while the second disc is made up songs from its previous two chapters.

I’ve noticed that the whole theme of gravity has given the group’s songs a decidedly lighter tone than what I usually expect of them.  Their title song is “지구가 태양을 네 번 (Four Times Around the Sun)” and it’s a melodically light song but the tone is bittersweet.  Does it really take four years to get over someone?  I don’t really know the answer to that but I certainly do get lost in the melody and the memories being represented in the song.  The music video is also quite beautiful but in general, I’ve always loved Nell’s music videos and the creative visions that are represented in it.

넬 (Nell) – 지구가 태양을 네 번

지구가 태양을 네 번

천천히 솔직히 아주 금방까진 아니더라도
언젠간 잊혀질 거라고 믿었지
그렇게 믿고 지금까지 견뎌왔었는데
그런 날 비웃듯
그 기억들이 마치 중력처럼
내 모든 마음을 너에게로
끌어당기고 있어 벗어날 수가 없어
지구가 태양을 네 번 감싸 안는 동안
나는 수 백 번도 넘게
너를 그리워 했고 눈물 흘려야 했어

참 그렇지 이렇게 날 힘들게 하고
외롭게 하는 그런 기억인데
그 기억들이 마치 중력처럼
내 모든 마음을 너에게로
끌어당기고 있어 벗어날 수가 없어
지구가 태양을 네 번 감싸 안는 동안
나는 수 백 번도 넘게 너를 그리워 했고
또 지워가야 했어 왜 그래야만 했어
그래야만 했어

찰나의 순간에 영원히 갇혀진
흑백 사진 속 피사체같이
나의 슬픔은 항상 똑같은 표정으로
널 향하고
지구가 태양을 네 번 감싸 안는 동안
나는 수 만 번도 넘게 너를 그리워 했고
또 지워가야 했어 왜 그래야만 했어

지구가 태양을 네 번 감싸 안는 동안
한 번 생각해 본 적 있는지
꽤 오랜 시간 지나
지구가 태양을 열 번 감싸 안은 후에도
널 여전히 그리워하고 있을 내 그 모습을
왜 그래야만 했어
꼭 날 떠나야 했어

Four Times Around the Sun

Slowly, really even if it’s not right away
Believed I’ll erase you someday
Believed that and endured until now
But like they’re laughing at me
Those memories, like a force of gravity,
all my feelings about you
are pulling me, can’t escape it
While the earth circles the sun four times
Over hundreds of times, I
longed for you and shed tears

Really, that’s how it is, it’s so hard to bear like this
Making me lonely, memories like these
Those memories, like a force of gravity,
all my feelings about you
are pulling at me, can’t escape it
While the earth circles the sun four times
Over hundreds of times, I longed for you
And again have to erase, why did you have to do that
You had to do that

Trapped forever in a split second
A black and white photo subject
My sadness is always the same expression
That longs for you
While the earth circles the sun four times
Over hundreds of times, I longed for you
And again have to erase, why did you have to do that

While the earth circles the sun four times
Have you thought about it once
After a long time passes
Even after the earth circles the sun ten times
The sight of me still longing for you
Why did you have to do that?
Did you have to leave me?

With a decidedly drumbeat build up, “Fantasy” has a lot of energy that makes it perfect to put towards the beginning of the album. I love the fluctuating tempo of the song which makes it such a triumphant track. After the heartache, you move towards healing and the song makes it sound like it’s such a logical progression. You learn, you grow and move on. And it’s hard not feel good about this song.

Nell – Fantasy

넬 (Nell) – Fantasy

Fantasy

지나가면 모든게 다 괜찮아질거란
그 환상의 끝은 늘 똑같아
돌려 놓을 수 있다해도
이미 너무 많은걸
알고 느껴버린 걸 없던 일이 될 순 없어
Right when you think it’s over
That’s when it starts to hover
It won’t disappear
그만 받아들여

그 아픔의 크기만큼 성숙해질거란
그 환상의 끝은 늘 똑같아
돌려 놓을 수 있다해도
이미 너무 많은걸
알고 느껴버린 걸 없던 일이 될 순 없어
Right when you think it’s over
That’s when it starts to hover
It won’t disappear
그만 받아들여

때론 지워낼 수 없는
슬픔도 있다는 걸 말야
돌려 놓을 수 있다해도
이미 너무 많은걸
알고 느껴버린 걸 없던 일이 될 순 없어
Right when you think it’s over
That’s when it starts to hover
It won’t disappear
그만 받아들여

비가 내리면 젖고
바람이 불면 흔들려
그럴 수 밖에 없어
Yes it’s natural
비가 내리면 젖고
바람이 불면 흔들려
그럴 수 밖에 없어
Yes it’s natural

Fantasy

When it passes, it feels like everything will be alright
At the end of the fantasy, it’s always the same
Even if you can return everything to its place
There’s already too much
I’ve learned and felt it that you can’t undo it
Right when you thinks it’s over
That’s when it starts to hover
It won’t disappear
Just stop and accept it

As much as the pain is big, you’ll mature
At the end of the fantasy, it’s always the same
Even if you can return everything to its place
There’s already too much
I’ve learned and felt it that you can’t undo it
Right when you thinks it’s over
That’s when it starts to hover
It won’t disappear
Just stop and accept it

Sometimes you can’t erase it
The fact that sadness also exists
Even if you can return everything to its place
There’s already too much
I’ve learned and felt it that you can’t undo it
Right when you thinks it’s over
That’s when it starts to hover
It won’t disappear
Just stop and accept it

When it rains, you get wet,
when the wind blows you shake
There’s no other choice
Yes it’s natural
When it rains, you get wet,
when the wind blows you shake
There’s no other choice
Yes it’s natural

Lastly, I’m featuring a ballad from their album. While the last two tracks are a reflection of triumphant refrain, this one is a bit different. However, I couldn’t help but be moved by the lyrics. Things that are left unsaid because of pride can be the downfall of relationships. It’s a beautiful song about regret made more heartbreaking by Kim Jong Wan’s vocals.

Nell – 침묵의 역사 (The History of Silence)

넬 (Nell) – 침묵의 역사

침묵의 역사

사실은 그게 아니라고
홧김에 그냥 한번 해본 얘기라고
웃어넘길 수 없겠냐고
말해주길 바랬지

사실 정확히 반대라고
솔직히 너도 내 맘 다 알고있지 않냐고
붙잡아 주길 바란다고
말해주길 바랬지

하지만 이미 넌
꽤 오랜동안 준비해온 듯 해
네 안엔 더 이상
내가 머물 곳 따윈 없는 듯 해

좀 지쳤던 것뿐이라고
누구나 가끔 그럴 때가 있지 않냐고
위로해주면 안되냐고
말해주길 바랬지

아직도 잘 모르겠냐고
조금 더 안아주길 바란 것뿐이라고
그렇게 해 줄 수 없겠냐고
말해주길 바랬지

하지만 이미 넌
꽤 오랜동안 준비해온 듯 해
네 안엔 더 이상
내가 머물 곳 따윈 없는 듯 해

이제와 이런 생각 쓸데없단 걸 알지만
미리 조금이라도 미리 알았더라면
지금과는 좀 달라졌을까
달라지긴 했을까

네가 아니면 안 된다고
너무 흔한 말이라 조금 그렇긴 해도
머물러주길 바란다고
말해볼 걸 그랬지

The History of Silence

It’s really not like that
In a fit of anger, it’s just something I said
Can’t we just laugh it off?
That’s what I had hoped you’d say

It’s really the opposite
Honestly, don’t you know how I feel
Hoped you would hold onto me
That’s what I had hoped you’d say

But already you’ve
Prepared something for a long time
Within you there’s no longer
a place for me to stay and whatnot

Just gotten a bit tired
Everyone gets like that sometimes
Can’t you just cheer me up?
That’s what I had hoped you’d say

Do you still not understand it?
Just hoped you’d hug me longer
Can’t you just do that for me?
That’s what I had hoped you’d say

But already you’ve
Prepared something for a long time
Within you there’s no longer
a place for me to stay and whatnot

Know there’s no use of thinking this way
If only a little bit, if only I knew
Would it be a bit different from now?
Would it have been different?

Can’t be anyone else but you
A very predictable thing to say, even if it’s a bit like that
Hope you would remain
That’s what I thought you’d say

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/10/14

Leave a Reply

