Just Bananas About: Week of 3/14/14

Her album isn’t due out until Cinco de Mayo but we got a little taste of it with “Hard Out Here” back in November.  She recently released another single from the album called “Our Time” and listening to it just reinforces how much I still like her.

The melody for “Our Time” clearly has that classic Lily Allen and Greg Kurstin collaborative sound.  It’s simply a great pop song that’s easy to groove along with.  Of course, the song is not without controversy.  MTV reportedly wants to ban the music video from airing during the day because it shows her drinking from a flask and showing antisocial behavior by fighting with a hot dog.  Yep, you read that right.  Ha, it’s hard not to laugh about that. I have no problem with MTV banning the music video though.  Why?  Does MTV even show music videos anymore?  And who even watches MTV for music videos anyways?

The controversy surrounding “Hard Out Here” was actually a bit more serious but honestly I loved the tongue-in-cheek lyrics juxtaposed with her video.  Personally, I think those who were offended by it missed the point of the video but I guess everyone has the right to their own opinion.

“Our Time” is just a fun, fun song.  And for a mother of two, I love that she is comfortable to not only poke fun of herself a bit but also know what it means to have a good time.  The point of the song is just enjoy the present, “our time”.  Before it passes us by.

Lily Allen – Our Time

_____________________________________________________

While I did make fun of the drama a bit for always ending the episode with awkward poses and swelling music, I am thoroughly enjoying Full Sun.  The plot isn’t brilliant or unique.  Don’t get me wrong.  It’s a compelling story but more than anything it’s the acting and the character development that’s making me love the drama right now.

We’re just getting into the heart of the romance between our leading characters but I’m not gonna write about that.  Even though I could just sigh and stare at Yoon Kye Sang for hours.  Let the screencap below suffice for now.  Siiigh…

However, it’s Jo Jin Woong’s amazing performance that made me swoon this week.  Jo Jin Woong is an amazing actor, period.  If you haven’t seen him in his movies, go and watch one.  However, I’m so used to seeing him play dark or stoic characters.  He’s played a lot of gangsters over the years.

Park Kang Jae is a slightly different change of pace for him.  Sort of.  On the one hand, he is a con man which is a very typecasted role for Jo Jin Woong.  So on the surface, Kang Jae tries to exude a cold and calculating exterior.  But as Jung Se Ro (Yoon Kye Sang) tells Seo Jae In (Kim Yoo Ri), Kang Jae is just a lonely guy.

He harbors a crush on Jae In and has recently been more vocal about showing signs that he’s interested in her.  She only seems to have eyes for Se Ro but she’s aware of Kang Jae’s feelings.  As the two have their cute back and forths, I find myself shipping for this couple to come to fruition.

Se Ro is starting to fall for Han Young Won (Han Ji Hye) and the crew begins to fear how their plans for revenge against the Belle La Fair family could all fall apart.  When Kang Jae gets wind of this, I was almost afraid how Jo Jin Woong the actor would play the part.

Instead of anger, he plays it with a sad desperation that made me feel bad for the character.  He doesn’t have Jae In’s heart and their con job may end up in jeopardy.  He just wants to feel like he could attain something in his life, especially since there’s the matter of his guilt over what happened to Se Ro and his dad.

He flees the room with tears in his eyes and I just wanted Jae In to run after him.  I was totally Team Kang Jae for the moment because he seemed like an outsider looking in and hoping he could have something to call his own.  Does he deserve it?  I’m not sure about that but right now he has convinced me.

I’m not completely convinced his character will stay warm and fuzzy as we head into the 2nd half and I’m not opposed to seeing the darker side as long as it works for the story.  However, I’m in love with how Jo Jin Woong has made a stereotypical character seem novel.

Leave a Reply

