Just Bananas About: Week of 3/21/14

A little birdie told me that Spring has finally sprung.  Although it’s not quite warm yet in my neck of the woods, I keep warm through the fact that love is in the air on TV.  In its various forms.

Kim Hee Ae and Yoo Ah In’s Secret Love Affair has finally started airing.  All the promo pictures, teasers, trailers were killing me mainly because I wasn’t sure that I would have time to watch but I just decided to go ahead and do it.

First off, watching all this piano playing makes me want to clean off my piano and stop using it as a place to hold my junk mail and old magazines before the fear of becoming hoarder makes me get up and throw it all out.  Maybe then I can see if I remember how to play anything anymore.

I know that Yoo Ah In has been practicing a few pieces on the piano for the drama but I was actually impressed with some of his playing.  Although in the back of my mind, I know they can call cut at any time and I have yet to see him play and turn the page at the same time or use the pedals.

The thing I love about Yoo Ah In is how great he is at being hapless and funny at the same time.  I see it every time Lee Sun Jae is around Oh Hye Won (Kim Hee Ae).  He’s just taken aback by her and her very matter-of-fact manner.

Already I think Kim Hee Ae has great chemistry with Yoo Ah In so I can’t wait for their affair to begin.  It almost makes me want to wait until we’re halfway through the drama so I can bingewatch the episodes.  I almost never do that simply because I don’t have the time to do that.

As for Kim Hee Ae’s character, Oh Hye Won?  Wow, she is not what I expected.  She’s the planning leader for the Seo Han Arts Foundation but basically she’s the secretary/servant to the family who chairs the foundation.

She picks after the hot mess that is Seo Young Woo (Kim Hye Eun), the foundation’s CEO, and acts as the right-hand person to Young Woo’s stepmother, Han Sung Sook (Shim Hye Jin), the chief director.

Young Woo’s stepmother is only 10 years older than Young Woo and they have cantankerous relationship with each other.  Guess who’s responsible for maintaining the peace there?

Hye Won’s husband is no better as he’s a professor at Seo Han College who wants his own prodigy he can mentor towards stardom.  However, he’s a schmuck who doesn’t even have half the musical talent that Hye Won has.  Instead he whines that Hye Won doesn’t help him like a good wife should do.

I was really beginning to feel bad for Hye Won until I see her with her friends.  She takes her husband’s whining because she doesn’t think too highly of him or the people that she’s works for.  She basically working at the foundation because she’s good at the job and she loves the music.  Korean dramas mostly like to place their female characters into the same categories.  I haven’t really seen a character who is successful, aloof and doesn’t sweat the small stuff.  So I’m really excited to see what they’re going to do with her character as the affair starts to unfold.

_____________________________________________________

For a completely different change of pace from the dark, seedy world of affairs to the lovely couple that is Yoon Han and Lee So Yeon.  I was so bummed to hear that they would be ending their fake marriage.

Partly because I’m not the biggest fan of Hong Jin Young and partly because I really think that Yoon Han and Lee So Yeon would make a great couple in real life.

I was so happy to hear that just because they’ve ended their stint on the show, that they’d stop contacting each other.  It makes me hopeful that spending time away from the cameras would allow real feelings to emerge.  As Lee So Yeon points out in one of her interviews, it’s hard to draw the line between what’s real and what’s not real.

As much as I get butterflies in my stomach when an OTP gets together in a drama, there’s nothing romantic about the thought of making out while the crew is staring at you.  Is their hair and makeup in place?  How does that lighting look?  The actors are basically there doing their job.  In that same light, variety show personalities are there to create an entertaining program for the viewers.  So I’m keeping my fingers crossed for these two because they’re uber cute.

Leave a Reply

