Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/24/14

This week I’m featuring second look songs.  It may not have immediately caught my attention upon first listen but the more I hear these songs, the more I am appreciating the track.

Park Ji Yoon is a really consistent artist.  Despite wanting to dismiss her as an artist who should concentrate on either singing or acting, I’ve liked her recent releases and “Inner Space” also explores retro styles of music like disco.  Which is why I’m surprised that I didn’t immediately take to “Beep”.

It wasn’t until I saw the music video that really made the song a lot of fun for me.  They’ve incorporated videos from Soul Train.  And most of the members of Infinity Challenge as well as other artists like Park Jae Bum.  But oh that hair and the clothes!

박지윤 – Beep

Beep

보고 말았어 그
나의 sensor 울고
왜 이렇게 끌리냐고
나를 바라봤고
내 사람이 됐고
나의 sensor 좋아 울고

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep
틀린 적 없는 나의 예감은
이렇게나 큰 선물을 하지
그 누구와도 바꿀 수 없는
Oh Sexy my Love
Vow Vow Vow Vow Vow
단 한 사람만 바라보겠어
단 한 남자의 여자 되겠어
그 누구와도 비교할 수 없는
Baby Oh my Love

이상했어 요즘
달라졌어 그즈음
다른 Beep이 생긴 듯해 어쩜
어떻게 내게 Beep Beep
너무 나쁜 Beep Beep
용서할 수 없는 Beep Beep
뭐라고 What

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep
틀린 적 없는 나의 예감은 이렇게나 큰
Shock Shock Shock Shock Shock
그 누구와도 바꿀 수 없던
Oh Sexy my Love
Vow Vow Vow Vow Vow
단 한 사람을 잊어야겠어
단 한 남자를 지워야겠어
그 누구와도 비교할 수 없던
Baby Oh my

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep
틀린 적 없는 나의 예감은 이렇게나 큰
Shock Shock Shock Shock Shock
그 누구와도 바꿀 수 없던
Oh Sexy my Love
Vow Vow Vow Vow Vow
단 한 사람을 잊어야겠어
단 한 남자를 지워야겠어
그 누구에게 오늘 밤
넌 또 또
Baby oh my Baby oh my Baby oh my Love

Beep

I saw you
My sensor went off
Why am I attracted to you?
You saw me
You became my man
My feel-good sensor went off

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep
Has never been wrong, my intuition
It gives me this great present
No one can exchange
Oh Sexy my Love
Vow Vow Vow Vow Vow
Will just look at one person
Will become one man’s woman
No one else can compare
Baby Oh my Love

You’re strange these days
You’ve changed recently
It seems like another Beep has turned up
What am I to do? Beep Beep
You’re truly awful, Beep Beep
Can’t forgive you, Beep Beep
What, What

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep
Has never been wrong, my intuition
Shock Shock Shock Shock Shock
No one can exchange
Oh Sexy my Love
Vow Vow Vow Vow Vow
Will forget just one person
Will erase just one man
No one else can compare
Baby Oh my

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep
Has never been wrong, my intuition
Shock Shock Shock Shock Shock
No one can exchange
Oh Sexy my Love
Vow Vow Vow Vow Vow
Will forget just one person
Will erase just one man
Who are you going to tonight,
again again you’re
Baby oh my Baby oh my Baby oh my Love

BTS (aka Bangtan Boys or Bulletproof Boys) is a relatively new group. I have liked their music since their debut but they strike me as being a bit immature. I don’t think they quite the hand of the music their singing and rapping. Perhaps they’re being guarded closely by their management company. However, that’s okay since they’re young. Their first album sounded like covers of old songs but perhaps they’re just trying to find their groove now.

They’ve still got a long way to go judging by these lyrics but I did like their take on what being shallowness and what it means to be a good kid.  I don’t doubt that kids have it easy today but the pressure in fact different from the older generations.  That’s the story that they want to tell and I think the incorporation of the old trot song in the track shows that divide.

BTS – 등골브레이커 (Backbreaker)

방탄소년단 – 등골브레이커

등골브레이커

(La la la la la la la la la)
(La la la la la la la la la)
(La la la la la la la la la)

수십짜리 신발에 또
수백짜리 패딩
수십짜리 시계에 또
으스대지 괜히
교육은 산으로 가고
학생도 산으로 가
21세기 계급은 반으로 딱 나눠져
있는 자와 없는 자
신은 자와 없는 자
입은 자와 벗는 자
또 기를 써서 얻는 자
이게 뭔 일이니 유행에서 넌 밀리니?
떼를 쓰고 애를 써서 얻어냈지,
찔리지?
가득 찬 패딩 마냥 욕심이 계속 차
휘어지는 부모 등골을 봐도
넌 매몰차
친구는 다 있다고 졸라대니
안 사줄 수도 없다고
(Ayo baby) 철딱서니 없게 굴지 말어
그깟 패딩 안 입는다고
얼어 죽진 않어
패딩 안에 거위털을 채우기 전에
니 머릿속 개념을 채우길, 늦기 전에
Wow 기분 좋아 걸쳐보는 너의 dirty clothes
넌 뭔가 다른
rockin, rollin, swaggin, swagger, wrong!
도대체 왜 이래 미쳤어 baby
그게 너의 맘을 조여버릴 거야, dirty clothes

(La la la la la la la la la)
니가 바로 등골브레이커
(La la la la la la la la la)
부모님의 등골브레이커
(La la la la la la la la la)
언젠가는 후회하게 될 걸
(La la la la la la la la la)
빌어먹을 등골브레이커

왜 불러 kid?
너넨 요즘 참 배불렀지
남의 인생 참견이
좀 주제넘지
속 빈 강정뿐인 말들을 왜 계속해
내가 받은 돈 내가 쓰겠다는데
5천만의 취향을 다 니들처럼 맞춰야
만족할 사람들이지 제발 너나 잘 사셔
니 인생 말이여, 니가 나면 말 안 하겠어
그래 내 패딩 더럽게 비싸고 더럽게 안 예뻐
(But I say) 너무 갖고 싶은데 어떡해
나보다 못 사는 친구들도 다 가졌는데
(And I say) 은따 되기 싫음 살 수밖에
이 나이 때쯤이면 원래 다들 좀 그러잖니
Yeah I dunno, yes I’m loco, is it no-no?
I know they ain’t cheap but they got mojos
But 난 내 할 일은 잘해 부모님 등골 안 부셔
진짜 브레이커는 나이 먹고
아직도 방구석인 너

Wow 기분 좋아 걸쳐보는 너의 dirty clothes
넌 뭔가 다른
rockin, rollin, swaggin, swagger, wrong
도대체 왜 이래 미쳤어 baby
그게 너의 맘을 조여버릴 거야 dirty clothes

너도 dirty clothes 나도 dirty clothes
누구나 겪어봤겠지 입고 거리로
나가보면 어깨 힘 빡 들어가고
나보다 작아 보이지 like 걸리버
뭘 입어도 이해해,
근데 넌 너무 배가 부른 상태
체해, 후회해
넌 계속 swag해,
허나 부모 맘은 배제해?
그래 말리진 않을게 이제 맘을 정해

Wow 기분 좋아 걸쳐보는 너의 dirty clothes
넌 뭔가 다른
rockin, rollin, swaggin, swagger, wrong!
도대체 왜 이래 미쳤어 baby
그게 너의 맘을 조여 버릴거야 dirty clothes

(La la la la la la la la la)
니가 바로 등골브레이커
(La la la la la la la la la)
부모님의 등골브레이커
(La la la la la la la la la)
언젠가는 후회하게 될 걸
(La la la la la la la la la)
빌어먹을 등골브레이커

Backbreaker

(La la la la la la la la la)
(La la la la la la la la la)
(La la la la la la la la la)

Shoes worth tens of dollars and
Bubble jacket worth hundreds of dollars
Watch worth tens of dollars and
just want to show off
For education, go to the mountains
Students, also go to the mountains
Split the 21st Century class in half
People with and people without
People who wear shoes and people who don’t
People who wear clothes and people who don’t
Again people who use their energy and gain it back
What’s going on? Are you being swayed by trends?
You earned it by throwing tantrums and trying hard,
tired of it?
Filled to the brim, bubble jacket, always greedy for more
Looking at the bending backs of parents,
you’re cold and harsh
Since you whine that all your friends have it
They can’t resist buying it
(Ayo baby) Don’t be immature
Even if you don’t wear that bubble jacket,
you won’t freeze to death
Before you fill the bubble jacket with down
Fill your brain, before it’s too late
Wow I feel good, seeing you drape your dirty clothes
You’re something different,
rockin, rollin, swaggin, swagger, wrong!
Why are you this insane baby
That will twist your heart, dirty clothes

(La la la la la la la la la)
In fact, you’re the backbreaker
(La la la la la la la la la)
Your parent’s backbreaker
(La la la la la la la la la)
Someday you’ll regret it
(La la la la la la la la la)
Goddamn backbreaker

What’s up, kid?
You’ve been really full these days
Poking around on someone else’s life
Making assumptions
Why keep saying empty words?
I’m going to spend the money I got
Must match like 50,000 preferences like you
Then you’ll be satisfied, just live your own life well
Your life, if it were you wouldn’t you say something
Yeah my bubble jacket is filthy expensive and filthy
(But I say) I really want it, what am I gonna do?
Friends that are worse off than me all have it
(And I say) if I don’t want to be an outcast
At this age, isn’t everyone like this?
Yeah I dunno, yes I’m loco, is it no-no?
I know they ain’t cheap but they got mojos
But I do as I’m told and my parents’ backs won’t break
A real breaker is someone who is of age and
still living at home

Wow I feel good, seeing you drape your dirty clothes
You’re something different,
rockin, rollin, swaggin, swagger, wrong!
Why are you this insane baby
That will twist your heart, dirty clothes

You too, dirty clothes, I’m also, dirty clothes
Everyone’s done it, wear it and head to the streets
When you go out, you hold your head up high
All look smaller than me like Gulliver
Whatever you wear, I understand,
but you’re too full of yourself
Stuck up, you’ll regret it
You continuously swag,
but do you rule out your parent’s feelings?
Yeah I won’t stop you, stop worrying

Wow I feel good, seeing you drape your dirty clothes
You’re something different,
rockin, rollin, swaggin, swagger, wrong!
Why are you this insane baby
That will twist your heart, dirty clothes

(La la la la la la la la la)
In fact, you’re the backbreaker
(La la la la la la la la la)
Your parent’s backbreaker
(La la la la la la la la la)
Someday you’ll regret it
(La la la la la la la la la)
Goddamn backbreaker

Finally, there’s a group called Rock ‘n Roll Radio who is a K-Indie band. As far as tastes go, they’re an acquired taste. I think they’ve got a lot of the same sounds running through their first album called “Shut Up and Dance” but there are a few noteworthy tracks here. I chose “Because Of You” because the drums are strong throughout and then it has interesting shifts in tempo. If you want to get to know more of them, they’re worth checking out on You Tube.

로큰롤라디오 – Because of You

Because Of You

고백한 날, 밤이 오지 않는다
because of you
폰 가득한, 텅빈 문자만 본다
because of you

멋진 드라마 같이
영화 속에 나오는 주인공이 되고 싶어
모든건 다 너 때문이었어

겨울 조차, 봄 햇빛을 받는다
because of you
펼쳐본다, 이 못 다한 사랑을
because of you

멋진 드라마 같이
영화 속에 나오는 주인공이 되고 싶어
가야해, 지금뿐인걸
마음속엔 이미 먼지가 쌓인 것만 같아
난 지금 모든게 너 때문에

Because Of You

The day I confessed, the night never came
because of you
My phone is full, but I just look at my empty messages
because of you

Like a great drama
I want to be the hero in the movie
It’s was all because of you

Even Winter receives Spring’s sunshine
because of you
I open up, this inexhaustible love
because of you

Like a great drama
I want to be the hero in the movie
I need to go, I only got this one chance
In my heart, it’s like dust has accumulated
For me now, everything is because of you

Leave a Reply

