Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/7/14

Today’s post is all about veteran singers. Many foreign listeners may not be familiar with their work but it is important to note why they still remain relevant to today’s K-Pop listeners. They don’t release albums as often as idol stars but that gives them time to fine tune each of their songs. There’s something to be said about the lyrics they write or the lyrics that are written for them. Though the concepts of these songs are simple, I sometimes have a little difficulty accurately translating the descriptive emotions and expressions. That probably makes them love them even more.

Many of the new or younger K-Pop fans may see Lee Sun Hee just as a music industry veteran who mentors Lee Seung Gi. However, I don’t think her ability to produce music over the years has changed. Though petite in stature, she’s still got a powerful voice. She debuted in the mid-80’s and I really know her because my parents listened to her. The one song of hers that I still remember and listen to is “나항상그대를 (I’ll Always Miss You)”.

Being almost 50 certainly hasn’t stopped her from producing music and I love that the title of her 15th album is “Serendipity”. Many of the songs on the album are a look back to her youth and if you look at Lee Sun Hee today, she has not changed in the last 30 years. Even her style hasn’t changed. She loves wearing white. Something my mom points out to me every time we see her on TV.

“꿈 (Dream)” is a song with a simple but cheesy message. However, it’s such an uplifting rock anthem that you can’t help but like it. The song is about not losing your childhood dream and fulfilling it no matter what age you are. Sure, it might be seen as a middle-aged anthem but I think the young can take a lesson from this song and learn how to live in the moment.

Lee Sun Hee – 꿈 (Dream)

이선희 – 꿈

생각 없이 놀던 때가
그리워 그리워요
그때만 이해할 수 있던 것들

심술쟁이 시간 속에
맘 속 흥미는 사라지고
어느새 뭘 해도
걱정만 앞서 시들시들하게

언젠가 간직했던 꿈을 찾아서
노란 풍선 띄워 미지의 세계로
다시 설레어 뛰는 어린 마음이 되어
음악에 나를 맡겨요

어디에 잃어버린 걸까 흥미로운 상상들은
세상 모든 것에 놀라워하던…

아름다운 세계를 향해
무딘 가슴을 열어줘요
어느새 뭘 해도
시들해져버린 내 가슴을 향해

언젠가 간직했던 꿈이 있어요
노란 풍선 띄워 미지의 세계로
별다를 게 없던 나에 일상들이 마법처럼
내게 찾아 들어와요

언젠가 간직했던 꿈을 찾아서
노란 풍선 띄워 미지의 세계로
다시 설레어 뛰는 어린 마음이 되어
음악에 나를 맡겨요

Dream

Without thinking, the time when I let loose
is what I long for, long for
The things I could only understand back then

Time spent being a grumpy person,
all signs of interest disappears in their hearts
All of a sudden, whatever you do,
there’s worry like you’re withering

Someday I’ll find the dreams I once treasured
Let loose a yellow balloon to an unknown universe
Again become excited like jumping child’s heart
Leave the music with me

Where did I lose it, that fascinating imagination
The one who was surprised by the whole world…

Heading for beautiful world,
Open up your buried heart
All of a sudden, whatever you do,
heading towards your withered heart

Someday I’ll find the dreams I once treasured
Let loose a yellow balloon to an unknown universe
Like nothing unusual, my everyday life like magic
Comes and finds me

Someday I’ll find the dreams I once treasured
Let loose a yellow balloon to an unknown universe
Again become excited like jumping child’s heart
Leave the music with me

“동네한바퀴 (꽃다운나이) (Once Around the Neighborhood (A Flowery Age))” is a song that surprised me because it features idol artist Kanto from Troy. I’m not familiar with the group because they’re pretty new. In fact, I really only know Bumkey because he featured with many different artists. However, I like the fact that the reason why Lee Sun Hee stays relevant is because she continues to collaborate with young artists.

The song reminisces about the past and how she wants to feel young love again. Though things change, there’s something about us that wants to retain good memories and relive those experiences.

Lee Sun Hee – 동네한바퀴 (꽃다운나이) (feat. 칸토 Of 트로이) (Once Around the Neighborhood (A Flowery Age) (feat. Kanto Of Troy)

이선희 – 동네한바퀴 (꽃다운나이) (feat. 칸토 Of 트로이)

동네한바퀴 (꽃다운나이) (feat. 칸토 Of 트로이)

하늘에 흩어진 우리들의 꿈처럼
모두 사라져가요
모두 잊혀져가요
낯설은 이거리 세월이 또 스쳐가
추억 속에 잠들고
우린 변해가네요

그리움만 남겨둔
사랑의 설레임
두번 다시 또
난 다시 또
느낄순 없나요

기억 속에 잠든 나의 동네 한바퀴
그대 손을 잡고 걷던 길
희미한 가로등 불빛
이별마저 서툴렀던
꽃다운 나이
다시 그때로
그댈 찾으러 돌아가

예전에 비해 이곳도 많이 달라졌네
그대와 손 꼭잡고 걸었던 동네
이제 나혼자 덩그러니 남아
괜히 주위를 두리번대 혹 그대일까봐
낯설은 얼굴 낯 설은 건물
이제 여기에서 난 이방인이 됐지
저 앞에 보이는 교복 입은 아이가
꼭 그대 같아
그때 만약 우리가 좀 더 컸다면
달랐을까 지금도
다시 돌아가고 싶은 마음 about time
될 수 없단걸 알면서 또 잡아
그 추억만
당신과 나, 이 선 위에 인연이 아니였대도
나 항상 그대를 잊지 못해
Dear J

기억 속에 잠든 나의 동네 한바퀴
그대 손을 잡고 걷던 길
희미한 가로등 불빛
이별마저 서툴렀던
꽃다운 나이
다시 그때로
그댈 찾으러 돌아가

한걸음 한걸음
그대의 뒤를 따라
(멀어져 가지만)
(잠깐 멈춰요 제발)
서로 달라져도
시간이 흘러도
우리의 사랑만은
영원히 간직해줘요

기억 속에 잠든 나의 동네 한바퀴
그대 손을 잡고 걷던 길
희미한 가로등 불빛
이별마저 서툴렀던
꽃다운 나이
다시 그때로
그댈 찾으러 돌아가

Once Around the Neighborhood (A Flowery Age) (feat. Kanto Of Troy)

Dispersed into the heavens like our dreams
Everything disappears
Everything is forgotten
This unfamiliar street, time passes and slips by
Asleep within our memories
We change

Just left with longing
Love’s pitter patter
Again a second time
Again I
Will I be able to feel it?

Asleep in my memories, once around my neighborhood
The streets we walk holding your hand
The light from dim streetlamp
Even fumbling through our goodbyes
A flowery age
Again back then
Returning to find you

Compared with then, this place changed a lot
Tightly holding hands, walked this neighborhood
Now I’m just left all by myself
Uselessly looking around hoping it might be you
Unfamiliar faces, unfamiliar alley
Now I’ve become a foreigner here
The uniformed kid in front of me
looks exactly like you
If we were a bit older back then
would things have been different now?
Want to go back again, about time
Know that I can’t but it takes hold of me again
that memory
You and I, even if on this line we weren’t meant to be
I will never forget you
Dear J

Asleep in my memories, once around my neighborhood
The streets we walk holding your hand
The light from dim streetlamp
Even fumbling through our goodbyes
A flowery age
Again back then
Returning to find you

Step by step
I follow behind you
(Don’t go too far)
(Stop a bit, please)
Even if we change
Even if time passes
Only our love will
Be treasured forever

Asleep in my memories, once around my neighborhood
The streets we walk holding your hand
The light from dim streetlamp
Even fumbling through our goodbyes
A flowery age
Again back then
Returning to find you

_____________________________________________________

Lee Seung Hwan is another artist from my youth. This is an artist that I actually followed. His style varies from modern rock to ballads to retro pop sounds. I’ll admit that I did not love his last album, “Dreamizer”. However I am loving “Fall to Fly前 (jeon meaning former)” and loved the duet single he pre-released called “비누 (duet with 김예림) (Soap (duet with Kim Ye Rim))”.

The title track on the album is “너에게만반응해 (feat. 이소은) (Only Reach to You (feat. Lee So Eun))”. The music video features Beast’s Yong Jun Hyung and Actress Lee Se Young. It’s super cute and I find the shot below of Yong Jun Hyung with Lee Seung Hwan hilarious for how similar they look. The video reminds me of Michael Buble’s “Haven’t Met You Yet”. I’ve seen many videos these days which include end credits but the funny thing about the credits at the end of this song is that they gave cute nicknames to the cast members and musicians. Lee Seung Hwan is called Lee Seung King. Lee Se Young is called Pretty Se Young. Yong Jun Hyung is called Fat Tongue (which I don’t really get but okay).

The song is a jazzy track about falling in love with someone you just met and trying to confess those feelings to them. There are expressions in this song like콩떡같이 (kong dduk gat chi) or 찰떡같이 (chal dduk gat chi) that literally means like bean rice cake or sweet rice cake but the expression is about being on the same page or being a good match.

이승환 – 너에게만 반응해 (feat. 이소은)

너에게만 반응해 (feat. 이소은)

피치빛의 네 립글로스
도톰한 그 입술 어지러이
물들어 온통 날 머금어

어쩜 어쩜
찌릿찌릿하게 말도 참 이쁘게 해
지상의 어떤 언어로도 표현이 잘 안 돼
네 앞에만 서면 자꾸 자꾸만 더듬어

물리지도 않는 얘기
물어보는 오늘 내일의 너
꿈틀대며 치밀어 오르는 내 사랑은

너에게만 나는 반응해 나는 황홀해
너란 반복에
I want you to want me
Only you
나는 반응해 나는 행복해
자꾸 너라서

고질적인 두근거림과 가슴속 불덩이
즉시 치료가 필요한
몹쓸 후유증
하루 종일 네 얼굴이
머릿속을 윙윙 돌아다녀
네 이름이 혀 위를 빙빙 굴러다녀

너에게만 나는 반응해 나는 황홀해
너란 반복에
I want you to want me
Only you
나는 반응해 나는 행복해
자꾸 너라서

oh my darling
우린 하늘이 점지한 사이
콩떡같이 얘기해도
찰떡같이 알아듣는 짝이라오

나는 반응해 나는 황홀해
너란 반복에 I want you to want me
Only you 나는 반응해 나는 행복해
자꾸 너라서
I need you to need me

Only you la la la la la
la la la la la la la la la la
I want you to want me
Only you la la la la la la la la la la
자꾸 너라서

Only React to You (feat. Lee So Eun)

The peach tones on your lipgloss
A mess on your plump lips
Fall for it all as you entertain me

How, how?
Is your biting speech so pretty?
Can’t express it with down-to-earth words
When I’m in front of you, I always, always stumble

Not taking back what I say
Asking today about your tomorrow
Squirming, my love igniting

I only react to you, I’m entranced
With you on a loop
I want you to want me
Only you
I react, I’m happy
Because it’s always you

Chronic fluttering and a flame in my heart
Immediately need medical attention
A bad after effect
All day your face
swirls around in my head, wing wing
Your name rolls on my tongue, bing bing

I only react to you, I’m entranced
With you on a loop
I want you to want me
Only you
I react, I’m happy
Because it’s always you

oh my darling,
we’ve been blessed by the heavens
Like peas in a pod, if I say something
You’re my match who understands me

I react, I’m entranced
With you on a loop, I want you to want me
Only you, I react, I’m happy
Because it’s always you,
I need you to need me

Only you la la la la la
la la la la la la la la la la
I want you to want me
Only you la la la la la la la la la la
Because it’s always you

After reading the lyrics for “어른이 아니네 (Must Not Be An Adult)”, I felt that there’s a lot that could be misconstrued with the lyrics so I went back and forth as to whether I should write about it. The song is about losing it and all the taboo thoughts that go along with that. Perhaps we focus a lot on how naïve women can be in these situations but I could also see that men could have their own insecurities about it. The sweet R&B vibe of this music gives an intimate vibe to the subject matter.

Lee Seung Hwan – 어른이 아니네 (Must Not Be An Adult)

이승환 – 어른이 아니네

어른이 아니네

숨소리마저 어지러운 낯선 방에
그녀 멀뚱히
발등만 응시하네
서롤 취하기엔 아직 그는 어리네
옅은 기침소리 가느다란 손짓
선명하고 낯서네
침착하지 못 해 정숙하지 못 해
그는 어른이 아니네

teach me how to get it right
그댈 품고 싶지만
tell me why
그는 왜 아닌 척 하는 건지

설익은 고요 위 수줍은 TV소리
홀로 뒹구네
그에겐 쿵쾅쿵쾅 심장소리만이
아직 그는 어리네
봉긋 솟은 이마 파릇파릇 솜털
선명하고 낯서네
침착하지 못 해 정숙하지 못 해
그는 어른이 아니네

teach me how to get it right
그댈 품고 싶지만
tell me why
그는 왜 아닌 척 하는 건지
teach me about love desire
사랑과 욕망 사이
tell me a lie
그는 곧 어른이 되었다고
말할 지도 모르네

좋을 지 어떨 지
서툴러 서두를 지 아득해 어지러워
맞는 지 아닌 지 의심에 찬 기대란
무중력의 신세계

Must Not Be An Adult

Even breathing in a dizzy, unfamiliar room
she stares blankly
at the top of my foot
Still too young to choose each other
With a slight cough and slender hand movements
it’s sharp and unfamiliar
Can’t stay calm, can’t be virtuous
He must not be an adult

teach me how to get it right
Want to embrace you
tell me why
Why he pretends that he doesn’t want to

Half-done, over quiet TV noise
Rolling over alone
From you koong kwang koong kwang heartbeat
You must still be young
Attractive forehead, fresh baby hairs
it’s sharp and unfamiliar
Can’t stay calm, can’t be virtuous
He must not be an adult

teach me how to get it right
Want to embrace you
tell me why
Why he pretends that he doesn’t want to
teach me about love desire
Between love and desire
tell me a lie
That he’ll soon become an adult
Is something I don’t know if you’ll say

Don’t know if I should like it or what
Fumbling, hurrying things far along, dizzyingly
Is this right or not, I question with cold hope
The weightlessness of a new world

Leave a Reply

