[Review] Veronica Mars

MARSHMALLOWS UNITE!

Nine years after the end of the show, Veronica Mars (Kristen Bell) is living in New York with Stosh “Piz” Piznarski (Chris Lowell) with an offer at a prestigious law firm. Until she gets a phone call from her ex-boyfriend, Logan Echolls (Jason Dohring), who is now a Lieutenant in the U.S. Navy. He has been accused of murdering his girlfriend, Carrie Bishop, who is now a mega popstar. She returns to Neptune, CA to help Logan find the best representation but ends up investigating the case herself.

I’ll admit that I wasn’t a big fan of the show when it was on. It started airing at a time when there was a lot of great American programming that I just didn’t have the time to stick with this show. I remember Lost taking a lot of brain energy to process the physics and philosophy of it all. However, I did catch an odd episode here and there so I’m familiar with the characters. In that light, I do think I’ll bring an interesting perspective to this review as a somewhat of an outsider.

The film brings Veronica back to Neptune to help Logan find a lawyer. However, Veronica soon becomes embroiled in the case and discovers that she needs to take matters into her own hands. All of the familiar faces are back together again.

Gotta say that I loved Dax Shepard’s cameo.  There’s a lot of insider references which does make it feel like a fan-based movie. After all, a lot of fans did fund the movie on Kickstarter. Sometimes that works for these cult favorites and other times it feels forced. Since I wasn’t a big follower of the series, I could have felt the latter but I was happy to discover that I did not. The nice, neat bow works pretty nicely for the movie.

However, I think it does help to have watched the series.  There are a lot of little references that even I missed which might have been really great if I knew the series better.

While the case is the catalyst that brings Veronica back to Neptune, it’s the relationships that are at the forefront of the movie. After the end of the series, I was glad to see that Veronica had moved on and was with Piz. Logan was hawt and I did enjoy seeing their relationship escalate but they had a toxic relationship. So I can definitely say that I was Team Piz.

SPOILER ALERT!  This movie changed it for me though. Yep, there I said it. That probably says a lot more about me and who I was 10 years ago compared to now. Piz is that reliable guy that’ll always be there for you and he always seemed the safe choice. However, I completely understand Veronica’s sattraction to Logan.

Sometimes love means taking risks and not about settling down. There was also that hope that since so much time has passed by they had the time to get to know themselves better over the years. So now that they’ve gotten over the ups and downs of adolescence, they can now focus on each other.

The movie is predictable but I did like how it made me feel like Veronica found her place. I felt completely different about her predicament 9 years ago. Getting out of Neptune was the best thing for her but the good thing about the writing and Kristen Bell’s acting here is that you can see how she’s grown and that she’s at a different place in her life now. So it was easy to accept Veronica’s decision at the end.

Rating

2 thoughts on “[Review] Veronica Mars

  1. I wasn’t a huge fan of the series and I didn’t watch all seasons, but I was fairly interested in the film. But somehow I came out feeling slightly disappointed, I guess. The film definitely had the same flavour as the series and I loved that they managed to include so many characters into the film, but all in all it lacked excitement for me. I kinda wish they’d gone a bit more Hollywood there and thrown in more action and explosions(?) or whatever.
    But the strangest thing was the fact that although I was totally rooting for Logan and Veronica to get back together at first, I felt really disappointed in Veronica when she actually chose Logan over Piz. I felt awful for Piz and I now wish he had been the final choice.
    Besides, Logan…like…he barely spoke in the film! He was so passive throughout the film that maybe that was why I felt so numb when him and Veronica got back together. It was almost as if he didn’t care. Maybe he was supposed to be seen as having grown up and matured, but I felt like he wasn’t really present.

    Like

    • I think this is a more fan favorite film as I found that I wasn’t so focused on the case that she was investigating. Only how it affected the relationships around her. I agree that Piz wasn’t in the movie all the much but their last conversation together made me feel that they were in two different places in life. The show and the movie always presents things from Veronica’s POV so I felt that in her mind, he occupied a separate space. Maybe she didn’t make the right choice but I did like that she went with her heart instead of her head. As for Logan, I don’t know what he can say to Veronica at this point. I felt that it was ultimately about her and the path that she was going to take. You know those people who are together for years and then they finally break up only to get married to someone else like 3 months later. That’s how I felt about the relationships in this movie. I guess I’m in a different mental space now but I’m surprisingly okay with that. I certainly did not have that opinion 10 years ago.

      Like

Leave a Reply

