Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/14/14

This week is all about duets and the return of duos who just make an amazing pair. I’ve been greatly anticipating the albums for both of these artists. The thing that makes a great duet is when it’s hard to separate the artists as their voices weaves so harmoniously with each other.

That’s what I felt about Amy Heidemann and Nick Noonan of Karmin. Sure, the fact that they’re engaged may speak to something about their chemistry but I just wouldn’t even want to hear them in separate solo projects. That’s how great that chemistry is.

They released their first full-length studio album called “Pulses” two weeks ago and I love it. However the track I wanted to share with you today is called “Hate to Love You”. It’s an upbeat track that has a lot of high energy that starts off with a great bass sound and beat. It’s just an easy song to get pumped up to even though the song is sarcastic. I think this time around we get to hear Nick being featured a bit more prominently which we can hear in this track. Also, I love that it’s actually Amy that does most of the rapping for the group. She is not only a great singer but also a great rapper.

Karmin – Hate to Love You

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/11-hate-to-love-you.mp3%20

Karmin – Hate to Love You

Hate to Love You

I’m just a prisoner of your love
You got me lip locked, fire the gun, ohohohh
If I escaped you I would be lost
So don’t bail me out babe I’ll pay the cost, ohohohh

Aw see it ain’t that sunny
Spent my money
Sweet as a felony
Ain’t you hunny
I can hear the gripes
But I’m wearing stripes
Look up at the stars
And I gotta think twice

Ohohhoh
All of the fighting
Ohohhoh
Keeps it exciting

I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you
I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you

Ohoh uh oh
Ohoh uh oh
Ohoh uh oh
Oh
I’m doin’ time
It’s a real fight
But it’s alright
Sometimes I just hate to love you

You cuffed me up and treated me cold
I threw the key out a long time ago, ohohohh
If you released me I wouldn’t leave, no
So don’t feed me poison I gotta eat, ohohohh

Yo
Be my cell mate
Plan our escape
Tell me when you’re ready
And we can storm the front gate
Who the jail keeper?
Real deep sleeper
No big deal just misdemeanor

Ohohohh
All of the fighting
Ohohohh
Keeps it exciting

I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you
I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you

Ohoh uh oh
Ohoh uh oh
Ohoh uh oh
Oh
I’m doin’ time
It’s a real fight
But it’s alright
Sometimes I just hate to love you

See I don’t need the bars to lock me in
You can let your guard down ’til the end
Forever doesn’t happen overnight
And that’s why

I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you

I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you
I’m doin’ time but I don’t mind
I’ll be just fine
Sometimes I just hate to love you

Ohoh uh oh
Ohoh uh oh
Ohoh uh oh
Oh
I’m doin’ time
It’s a real fight
But it’s alright
Sometimes I just hate to love you

_____________________________________________________

Okay, I know I’m cheating here by featuring Akdong Musician within a few days of each other but I can’t stop listening to their album. Plus, I would be amiss if I wrote about great duet teams without including this brother and sister. This is definitely another pair in which you can’t separate their vocal harmonies because you lose the magic. Every time I listen to their album I end up falling for a new song and right now “가르마 (Hair Part)” seems to be striking a real chord with me. I’m dealing with transition hair which is the worst. You part your hair this way, you part it that way and I just wish I could just pull my hair and let it be the length I want it to be.

However, I do like the message of “가르마 (Hair Part)”. It’s interesting how one change to your look could bring some wanted attention. The type of attention that gives you confidence but it doesn’t the core person. The song talks about the positive attributes to being confident in who you are and your looks which is an altogether uplifting feeling.

Akdong Musician (AKMU) – 가르마 (Hair Part)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/05-eab080eba5b4eba788.mp3%20

악동뮤지션(AKMU) – 가르마

가르마

yup open this

머리스타일 하나로 다른 사람이 되다니
정말 놀라워
커튼 좀 열었다고 빛이 들어오는데
뭐가 놀라워

이게 누구야 헷갈려
너 지나가면
그 뒤로 다 입 벌려
왜긴 왜야
이리도 예뻐져서 다 쳐다보네
나도 이미 어쩔 수 없어
내가 진작에 자르라고 했잖아
you see 넌 너보다 내가 더 잘 알아
빨려 들어간다 빨리 들어간다
네 그 5대5 접전에 말려들어 간다

그동안 가렸던 네 얼굴을 보여줘
wow 내 맘을 돌려줘
보인다 보여 네 눈썹
그거 보려고 여기까지 달려왔어
물론 뻣뻣하고 미역 같던 앞머리도
나름 매력 있었어
뒷머린 줄 알고
쓰다듬다 만진 코가
아주 애교 있었어

머리스타일 하나로 다른 사람이 되다니
정말 놀라워
커튼 좀 열었다고 빛이 들어오는데
뭐가 놀라워

가르마 하나 바뀌었을 뿐인데
왜 이리 좋아
뭐 이리 고와
가르마 한번 바꿨을 뿐인데
느낌이 살아 너 때문에 내가 살아

벌써 봐봐 다 따라 하잖아
너나 누구 할 거 없이
다 갈라 막
seems everybody’s got on your 가르마
그 어떤 신호불도 날 가로막지 못해
(go straight on)
너만 거침 싸구려 hair spray도
칙칙하면 칙칙하던 내 마음에
둥근 해를 맞게 하는걸
물론 전에도 좋았던 너지만

살짝 드러난 이마와
너의 눈망울은 like 치와와
I mean 귀여워
Wanna do 쓰담 쓰담 baby
못 살겠다 너 때문에

머리스타일 하나로 다른 사람이 되다니
정말 놀라워
커튼 좀 열었다고 빛이 들어오는데
뭐가 놀라워

가르마 하나 바뀌었을 뿐인데
왜 이리 좋아
뭐 이리 고와
가르마 한번 바꿨을 뿐인데
느낌이 살아 너 때문에 내가 살아

가르마
가르마
아직 가지마
곧 널 가지마

Hair Part

yup open this

Become a different person with one hairstyle
It’s shocking
Opening the curtain to let the light in
What’s so shocking

Who is it? It’s confusing
When you walk by,
Behind you they all open their mouth in shock
Why ask why?
Because you’re pretty like this they all stare
I, too, can’t help myself
I already told you to cut it
you see, I know you more than you
You’re getting sucked in, hurry up go inside
Getting suckered into a 5 against 5 tight match

Show that face that you’ve been hiding
wow change my feelings
Seeing it, see your eyebrows
I ran here just to see that
Obviously the stiff, seaweed like bangs
had its merits in its own way
Thought it was the hair in the back and
as I stroked it I accidentally touched your nose
It was really charming

Become a different person with one hairstyle
It’s shocking
Opening the curtain to let the light in
What’s so shocking

Just changed one hair part
Why do you like it so much?
How is it beautiful?
I just changed my hair part once
Feeling alive, because you I’m alive

Already look at it, they’re all following you
Like anyone can do it,
They’re all parting it
seems everybody’s got on your hair part
Like some traffic light, I can’t block it
(go straight on)
And even your harsh and cheap hair spray
When you go chik-chik, my sad heart
is hit with a rising sun
Obviously it’s the same person I liked before

Slightly exposed forehead and
Your eyes like a Chihuahua
I mean, it’s cute
Wanna do, stroke, stroke baby
Can’t bear it because of you

Become a different person with one hairstyle
It’s shocking
Opening the curtain to let the light in
What’s so shocking

Just changed one hair part
Why do you like it so much?
How is it beautiful?
I just changed my hair part once
Feeling alive, because you I’m alive

Hair part
Hair part
Don’t go yet
Don’t go soon

Leave a Reply

