Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/21/14

Monni is a band that I’ve been following since their amazing performances on Band Generation. Other people might also know them from Top Band 2. I’ve been trying to do a post about their latest studio release, “Follow My Voice” for a month now. It was just so hard to choose just one tracks as I seem to love all 11 tracks on the album but I did narrow it down to 3.

Since their debut in 2005, they’ve been making their rounds on the Hongdae scene and appearing on a few band competition shows. The band is made up of four members: Lead Singer Kim Shin Ui, Female Bassist Lee In Kyung, Guitarist Kong Tae Woo and Drummer Jung Hoon Tae. Jung Hoon Tae is currently on military service leaving the other three to continue promotions.

The unique thing about this modern rock band is Kim Shin Ui. He’s got a smooth, melodic voice that’s swoonworthy and perfectly suited for Broadway. In fact, he has done Broadway like Rock of Ages and Jesus Christ Superstar.

When Yoon Do Hyun on Band Generation mentioned that Kim Shin Ui would always get the female fans in the audience swooning at Monni’s live performances, I didn’t quite get it at first. Sure, he’s handsome but it’s not until you hear him singing that you understand why he’s so captivating. Then to see him on stage, he just takes you to a whole other universe as he has a commanding stage presence. He writes most of the music and lyrics for the group which includes this album.

The album starts off with “Lovesound” which reminds me of a U2 track. It begins with a strong rock beat but in comes the sounds of a brass band. The vocals are so controlled but yet there’s a lot of energy running through the track.

Monni – Lovesound

몽니(Monni) – Lovesound

Lovesound

소리가 나를 잡고 뒤흔든다
더 깊은 곳으로 내려간다
아름다운 소리 되어
너의 목소리가 들려
강한 비트 위에 날 올린다
모든 기억들이 사라진다
아름다운 소리 되어
너의 목소리가 들려
사랑이 소리가 되어
너의 음악이 되어가네
아름다운 소리 되어
너의 목소리가 들려
그리움이 소리 되어
너의 목소리가 들려

Lovesound

The sound grabs hold of me and gives me a jolt
Go down to deeper place
It becomes a beautiful sound
I hear your voice
Above the strong beat, it lifts me up
All memories erase
It becomes a beautiful sound
I hear your voice
It becomes a lovesound
It becomes your music
It becomes a beautiful sound
I hear your voice
It becomes a sound to long for
I hear your voice

I love the synth start to “한참을 웃겠지 (Must Make You Laugh for a Good While)” which gives the song a disco vibe. The song is supposed to be a Spring song which brings on memories of the past. Certainly this and many of Monni’s tracks has repetitive lyrics, but it paints an interesting story that as you hear the same lyrics, you have a different impression from when you first heard the line.

Monni – 한참을웃겠지 (Must Make You Laugh for a Good While)

몽니(Monni) – 한참을 웃겠지

한참을 웃겠지

어른이 되고 싶다고
애쓰던 어린 시절
하루하루 기다리며
언젠가 우리 다시 만나겠지
서로 다른
모습으로 정신없이 살아왔다고 얘기하겠지
세월의 흔적들이 하나둘씩 늘어가면
너도 사라지겠지
언젠가 우리 다시 만나겠지
서로 다른
모습으로 정신없이 살아왔다고 얘기하겠지
한참을 웃겠지
나이 먹은 모습 보며
너의 손 잡고 숨어있는
널 닮은 작은 아이
언젠가 우리 다시 만나겠지
서로 다른
모습으로 정신없이 살아왔다고 얘기하겠지
한참을 웃겠지
나이 먹은 모습 보며
너의 손 잡고 숨어있는
널 닮은 작은 아이
한참을 웃겠지
그냥 웃음이 나오겠지
시간이 흐르고 또다시 만나면
한참을 울겠지
우리 다시 만나겠지

Must Make You Laugh for a Good While

Saying you want to become an adult
Striving hard during your youth
Day by day waiting
We might somehow meet again,
Each of us with a different,
Image, might say that we lived recklessly
Proof of life lived, one by one expands
You’ll probably also disappear
We might somehow meet again,
Each of us with a different,
Image, might say that we lived recklessly
Must make you laugh for a good while
When you see my aged appearance
Holding your hand, hiding
Resembling you, a small child
We might somehow meet again,
Each of us with a different,
Image, might say that we lived recklessly
Must make you laugh for a good while
When you see my aged appearance
Holding your hand, hiding
Resembling you, a small child
Must make you laugh for a good while
Just bursting out laughing
As time passes, if we meet again
must make you cry for a good while
We might meet again

Finally, “남아줘” is a ballad track on the album and I like that the song is sad and hopeful at the same time. It’s about holding on to a good, warm feeling or memories and not wanting to letting it go. I love the lines, “So it could be my last memory, so it could be a memory that can’t be erased, So I could treasure you that way.” It’s a simple concept but there are just some people that you don’t want to forget and sometimes that’s the last thought you have before you go to sleep and you hope that’s it’s the first thought you have when you wake up.

Monni – 남아줘 (Remain)

몽니(Monni) – 남아줘

남아줘

잠깐 기다려줘요 멀리 가지 말아요
떠나지 말아요 난 멈춰있어요
다시 볼 수 있다면 널 다시 볼 수 있다면
너에게 말할게 더 늦기 전에
마지막 기억일 수 있게
지울 수 없는 기억일 수 있게
그대로 너를 간직 할 수 있게
계절 같았던 널 기억하는
나에게 남아줘 내 맘에 남아줘
나에게 남아줘 내 맘에 남아줘
다시 볼 수 있다면 널 다시 볼 수 있다면
너에게 말할게 더 늦기 전에
마지막 기억일 수 있게
지울 수 없는 기억일 수 있게
그대로 너를 간직 할 수 있게
계절 같았던 널 기억하는
나에게 남아줘
마지막 기억일 수 있게
지울 수 없는 기억일 수 있게
그대로 너를 간직 할 수 있게
계절 같았던 널 기억하는
나에게 남아줘 내 맘에 남아줘
나에게 남아줘 내 맘에 남아줘

Remain

Just wait a minute, don’t go far away
Don’t leave, I’m standing still
If I can see again, if I can see you again
I’ll tell you before it’s too late
So it could be my last memory
So it could be a memory that can’t be erased
So I could treasure you that way
Like a season, remembering you
Stay with me, remain in my heart
Stay with me, remain in my heart
If I can see again, if I can see you again
I’ll tell you before it’s too late
So it could be my last memory
So it could be a memory that can’t be erased
So I could treasure you that way
Like a season, remembering you
Stay with me
So it could be my last memory
So it could be a memory that can’t be erased
So I could treasure you that way
Like a season, remembering you
Stay with me, remain in my heart
Stay with me, remain in my heart

Leave a Reply

