Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/5/14

Because many artists have pushed back the release dates for their new albums, I’ve been listening to a lot of indie artists. There are a number of a good ones these days. One of which is the one man band, singer-songwriter, Bily Acoustie (pronounced Bil-ee Uh-Koh-Stee).

I didn’t understand how he came to that spelling of his name as Bily would have been pronounced as by-lee but it is actually an abbreviation meaning “Because I Love You” while Acoustie comes from acoustic. Bily Acoustie, or Hong Joon Sup rather, has been making the rounds winning various network singer-songwriter competition and recently released his first full length studio album, “소란했던시절에 (During Those Tumultuous Years),” last week.

Up until the release of the album, he started by busking around Hong Dae, playing in various clubs, performing in the musical Fame and using impressing talents as a guitarist, he’s even done guitar sessions with Rooftop Moonlight (aka Oksangdalbit) and JYJ.

He has a reassuring voice and I was immediately taken by one of his title songs called “그 언젠가는 (Someday),” because of the tranquil but hopeful tone of the track. He wrote this song with the hopes of one day becoming an artist. The “island” that’s he’s trying to reach in the song is the stage. I’d like to think that this dream chaser is just a little bit closer to reaching his dream.

빌리어코스티(Bily Acoustie) – 그 언젠가는

그 언젠가는

수줍게도 나른했던 그 빛
작아진 아픔 속에 갇혀있던 날들
그 어둠을 벗어날 곳을 찾아
흐르는 듯이 차오르다
머무르곤 했지

날으는 저 하늘에 꽃잎을 얹어
따라오는 이 바람을 품에 안고

그 언젠가는 이 고요함에 익숙해져
다시 한 번 그곳을 그리리
그때의 시간을 놓아줄
이 작은 맘을 담아서
자유롭게 가고 싶어
그 언제라도 어디가 되어도
숨겨둔 나의 작은 섬
그 언젠가는

닿을 수 없을 것만 같아서
떨려오는 이 마음을 붙잡고
불어오는 바람에 내 몸을 맡긴 채로

그 언젠가는 이 고요함에 익숙해져
다시 한 번 그곳을 그리리
그때의 시간을 놓아줄
이 작은 맘을 담아서
자유롭게 가고 싶어
그 언제라도 어디가 되어도
숨겨둔 나의 작은 섬

그 언젠가는

Someday

Shyly, that listless light
Grown smaller, trapped inside the pain
Finding a place to escape the darkness
As if it were flowing, filled to the brim
I stayed

Flying in those skies, throwing myself on a petal
Following me, embracing this wind

Someday, getting used this silence
Drawing near to that place once more
Letting go of that time,
Bottling these insignificant feelings
Wanting to leave freely,
Someday, wherever that it
Hidden, my small island
Someday

Doesn’t seem like I’ll be able to reach it
Grabbing hold of these wavering feelings
Entrusting my body to the blowing wind

Someday, getting used this silence
Drawing near to that place once more
Letting go of that time,
Bottling these insignificant feelings
Wanting to leave freely,
Someday, wherever that is
Hidden, my small island

Someday

“봄날에눈이부신 (Blinding On A Spring Day)” is the first track on the album and it’s a cheerful rock-pop number. The song is an upbeat introduction to the album and about spending time with the one you love. It’s fitting with the release of album happening in Spring especially since the song is about love blooming.

Bily Acoustie – Blinding On A Spring Day

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/01-ebb484eb82a0ec9790-eb8888ec9db4-ebb680ec8ba0.mp3%20

빌리어코스티(Bily Acoustie) – 봄날에 눈이 부신

봄날에 눈이 부신

하루 종일 설레이고 기분 좋은 날
달려가고 싶지만, 그럴 수 없는 오늘
요즘 따라 유난히 푸른,
내 맘은 이미 구름 속에 있는데

또 보고 싶은 너의 얼굴 떠오르는 날
생각하면 나도 모르게 또 웃음이 나
마음 가득히 떠오르는,
첨 너를 만났던 그 순간도

봄날에 눈이 부신 햇살 같은 너
그 빛에 물든 나
그렇게 피어 오르는
누구보다 설레이는 맘으로
너와나
눈부시게

떠날 곳도, 머물 곳도 너무 많은 날
너와 함께 한다면 어디든 상관없어
매일 같은 곳을 걸어도
늘 새롭게 걷는 기분인 걸

봄날에 기분 좋은 바람 같은 너
기다려왔던 나
그렇게 벅차 오르는
누구보다 설레이는 맘으로
너와나
눈부시게

끝없이 펼쳐진 이 길 따라
내 손잡고, 함께 달려가자
한없이 피어 오르는,
눈이 부신 봄날에 너와 나
또 다른 봄이 오는 순간에도,
여전히 함께해

Blinding On A Spring Day

Excited all day and on a pleasant day
Want to run to you, but I can’t today
Lately, particularly blue
My heart is already in a cloud

Wanting to see again, on the day I think of your face
When I think of it, unknowingly I smile again
My heart filled, thinking of
the moment when I first met you

You’re like the sun, blinding on a Spring day
I’m affected by that light
Rising like that
More than anyone else, with excited hearts,
you and I
Blindingly

Many days spent leaving and remaining
If I’m doing it with you, it doesn’t matter where
Even if we walk the same path everyday
It’ll feel like walking some place new every time

You’re like the wind, on a pleasant Spring day
Me waiting
Overflowing like that
More than anyone else, with excited hearts,
you and I
Blindingly

Following this endlessly open path
Holding my hand, let’s run together
Rising infinitely
Blinding on a Spring day, you and I
And that moment when Spring arrives again
As always, let’s do it together

Leave a Reply

