Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/19/14

I was pretty excited and worried to hear that MC Mong would be making a comeback. Excited because he’s a talented artist but worried because I’m not sure how his scandal has affected his music.

There are many things I love about MC Mong. His songs always have a great beat, catchy melody and illuminated his lively personality. So I was ecstatic to see an article saying that he’s with the same management company as Girl’s Day and there were plans to release an album in late 2014. I missed the Mong.  There tend to be a lot of rappers who tend to rap about negative things but MC Mong’s music usually has a lot of lightness and heart as evidenced by the success of “죽도록사랑해 (Love You ‘Til I Die)”.

So there is a bit of concern how the scandal has changed him. In 2010, allegations that he was trying to dodge the mandatory military service came to light and it prompted officials to conduct an investigation. While he was cleared of intentionally pulling out teeth to be exempt from military service, he was found guilty of delaying his military enlistment. He’s served his punishment and following the scandal has laid low and suffered deep depression. Not sure how much of the public views him today or if time has healed some of those wounds but draft dodging is a big no-no. However, over the years, he’s also had many supporters eagerly waiting for him to make a comeback. He’s turned down offers and denied that he was ever going to make a comeback until I saw that article last week.

It made me want to go back and listen to all his albums again. The songs are so good that they’re timeless. Though I know he’s not the same person any more, I hope that we’ll get to hear some great new songs by him. Right now, there are only plans to release as he is still on the KBS and MBC’s blacklist so there aren’t major plans to promote via broadcast.  So looking forward to his next release, here’s “LUV D.N.A. (feat. Navi) from his last album in 2009, “Humanimal”.

MC Mong (feat. Navi) – LUV D.N.A

MC 몽 (feat. 나비) – LUV D.N.A

LUV D.N.A

A-Yo 사랑이 흐르는 내 몸의 반은 너야
사랑을 심어줘 너와 같은 D.N.A
Luv Luv D.N.A 넌 빛나는 DIA
Luv Luv D.N.A 넌 빛나는 DIA

뭐가 이리도 비슷해
한 부모 밑에 형제같아
네가 나 인듯 나는 너 인듯
작은 버릇까지 똑같아
머릿속 뇌가 나를 자극해
마치 전깃줄에 감전된 듯
마른하늘에 벼락을 맞은 듯
아직도 널 보면 떨린데
너는 내 온몸의 자극샘
내 심장을 뛰게 하는 작은 Cell
내 생명의 사랑을 불어준 그대
사랑이 바로 내게 D.N.A
Luv Luv D.N.A 넌 빛나는 DIA
모두가 잠든 이 밤에
뭐든 부탁해봐 It`s ok
뜨거운 태양 아래 내리쬐는 햇빛
그대 It’s so wonderful world
넌 춤을 추고 난 노래하고 예
Luv Luv D.N.A

세상이 그댈 속일지라도 이젠
혼자서 숨어 울지 말아요 제발
그대에 곁엔 내가 있어요 My love
날 닮은 그대 Luv Luv D.N.A

Luv Luv D.N.A 넌 빛나는 DIA
지금 이 순간 내 심장 마저도
너를 밀어주는 분위기
Love Channel 메가 헤르츠
같이 맞춰 놓은 주파수
궁합이 딱 맞는 PD와 DJ
널 볼때면 Take it easy
내게와 Just come in to my arms
I`ll be there no matter where you are
마치 하나가 된 듯 같이 느끼는 너와나
All night long (날 알아줘)
All night long (I think about you)
넌 남들과 달라 너는 손 난로
그대와 영원토록 All night long
뜨거운 태양 아래 내리쬐는 햇빛
그대 It’s so wonderful world
넌 춤을 추고 난 노래하고 Luv Luv D.N.A

세상이 그댈 속일지라도 이젠
혼자서 숨어 울지 말아요 제발
그대에 곁엔 내가 있어요 My love
날 닮은 그대 Luv Luv D.N.A

Luv Luv D.N.A 넌 빛나는 DIA
모두가 잠든 이 밤에
뭐든 부탁해봐 It`s ok
Luv Luv D.N.A 넌 빛나는 DIA
모두가 잠든 이 밤에
뭐든 부탁해봐 It`s ok

뜨거운 태양 아래 내리쬐는 햇빛
그대 It`s so wonderful world
넌 춤을 추고 난 노래하고 예
Luv Luv D.N.A

세상이 그댈 속일지라도 이젠
혼자서 숨어 울지 말아요 제발
그대에 곁엔 내가 있어요 My love
날 닮은 그대 Luv Luv D.N.A

LUV D.N.A

A-Yo Love follow from my body is half yours
Love plants it, similar to you D.N.A
Luv Luv D.N.A, you’re a shining DIA
Luv Luv D.N.A, you’re a shining DIA

Whatever we do, we’re the same
Like we’re siblings from one set of parents
It’s like you’re me, like I’m you
Down to the smallest habits, the same
My brain in my head prompts me
Like being shocked by an electrical current
From a clear day, feel like I’ve been hit by a bolt
When I see you I still get excited
You still stimulate my hold body
Making my heart beat, small cell
Calling my life’s love, you
Love is precisely my D.N.A
Luv Luv D.N.A, you’re a shining DIA
While everyone else is sleeping,
you can request anything, it’s ok
Below this hot sun, beaming sunshine
You, it’s so wonderful world
You dancing, me singing, yeah
Luv Luv D.N.A

Though the world deceives us, now
Don’t hide alone and cry, please
Beside you, there’s me, My love
Taking after me, you, Luv Luv D.N.A

Luv Luv D.N.A, you’re a shining DIA
Right now, this moment, even if my heart stops
Feel like pushing you
Love Channel mega hertz
Matched together frequency
A perfect match, PD and DJ
When I see you, take it easy
Come to me, just come in to my arms
I’ll be there no matter where you are
Like we’ve become one, feeling it together, you and I
All night long (get to know me)
All night long (I think about you)
You’re different from others, you’re a hand warmer
With you forever, All night long
Below this hot sun, beaming sunshine
You, it’s so wonderful world
You dancing, me singing, Luv Luv D.N.A

Though the world deceives us, now
Don’t hide alone and cry, please
Beside you, there’s me, My love
Taking after me, you, Luv Luv D.N.A

Luv Luv D.N.A, you’re a shining DIA
While everyone else is sleeping,
you can request anything, it’s ok
Luv Luv D.N.A, you’re a shining DIA
While everyone else is sleeping,
you can request anything, it’s ok

Below this hot sun, beaming sunshine
You, it’s so wonderful world
You dancing, me singing, yeah
Luv Luv D.N.A

Though the world deceives us, now
Don’t hide alone and cry, please
Beside you, there’s me, My love
Taking after me, you, Luv Luv D.N.A

Leave a Reply

