Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/26/14

There are two artists out of the many who have recently made a comeback. With each album release, I appreciate those artists who try different things and show the best sides of themselves. One song shows it lyrically while the other show the artist’s efforts to constantly reinvent.

IU is still a really young artist. However, the thing that made me really like her is that she tries to reinvent herself. She tried a sexy, retro vibe in the last album show which I loved and here in “꽃갈피 (Flower Bookmark),” she’s remade several classic songs alongside a few veteran singers.

“사랑이지나가면 (When Love Passes)” is a song by Lee Moon Sae from 1987. While they’ve remade the song accompanied with piano and strings, I like the simplicity of the track so that they don’t overwhelm and bury IU’s singing.

Despite her age, she has a really mature voice and sounds like an old soul. It wasn’t until I heard this song but her voice has the strength of Lee Sun Hee and the playfulness of Kim Wan Sun. Obviously, there’s a difference when a man sings the song compared to a woman because there’s a difference in perspective but there’s something that’s very hopeful about the IU sings it. Perhaps that’s something that comes with her age.

IU -사랑이 지나가면 (When Love Passes)

아이유 – 사랑이 지나가면

사랑이 지나가면

그 사람 나를 보아도
나는 그 사람을 몰라요
두근거리는 마음은 아파도
이젠 그대를 몰라요
그대 나를 알아도
나는 기억을 못 합니다
목이 메어와 눈물이 흘러도
사랑이 지나가면

그렇게 보고 싶던 그 얼굴을
그저 스쳐 지나면
그대의 허탈한 모습 속에
나 이젠 후회 없으니
그대 나를 알아도
나는 기억을 못합니다
목이 메어와 눈물이 흘러도
사랑이 지나가면

When Love Passes

Even if that person sees me
I don’t know that person
Though my fluttering feelings hurt
Now I know you
Even if you recognize me
I can’t remember
Though my throat chokes up and tears fall
When love passes

The face that I longed to see
Just passes by
Within your glum image
Now I no longer have regrets
Even if you recognize me
I can’t remember
Though my throat chokes up and tears fall
When love passes

_____________________________________________________

It’s Wheesung’s first album since he came out of the army and it’s a pleasant album to listen to you. Even though as an artist, he hasn’t really invented himself the song “Best Man” is about becoming the best version of himself for a girl he loves. The song features singer eSNa from Superstar K3. The song is cute but I happen to catch Wheesung during one of his comeback stages and I can’t say that he’s great at performing the song live. Perhaps since he was performing a medley of songs, he got tired but rather than see him awkwardly dance, I think I prefer him performing his ballads. Still the song’s pretty cute.

Wheesung – Best Man (feat. 에스나) (Best Man (feat. eSNa))

휘성 – Best Man (feat. 에스나)

Best Man (feat. 에스나)

오늘 따라 너와의 저녁 식사가
맛이 더 좋아
너 땜에 그런지 왜이리 좋은지
눈물이 찔끔나게 행복해

오 나의 행운의 밤 문득 이런 생각이 들었어
괜찮은 사람 괜찮은 친구
괜찮은 아들로서 살고 싶어

멋있는 인생보단 맛있는
예를 들면 우리 kiss 같은
그런 삶을 살아보고 싶어.
너와 함께 있는 지금 같은

I’ll be the best man
모두가 헤맨
진짜 사랑할 줄 아는 남자
내 자신에게 자랑스런 내가 되어보고 싶어
I’ll be the best man
소중히 내게 주어진 선물 같은 하루를
오 내 곁의 모두와 재미있게 살고 싶어

Oh happy day 너를 높이 안아 들고서
이 자리를 한 바퀴 돌고 있어 darlin’
you make me happy like a fantasy

멋있는 인생보단 맛있는
예를 들면 우리 kiss 같은
그런 삶을 살아보고 싶어
너의 달디단 미소와 같은

I’ll be the best man
모두가 헤맨
진짜 사랑할 줄 아는 남자
내 자신에게 자랑스런 내가 되어보고 싶어
I’ll be the best man
소중히 내게 주어진 선물 같은 하루를
오 내 곁의 모두와 재미있게 살고 싶어

(에스나)
오늘 따라 니 모습 왠지
평소보다 멋져 보여
오래 찾아 헤맨 you are my best man

I’ll be the best man
모두가 헤맨
진짜 사랑할 줄 아는 남자
내 자신에게 자랑스런 내가 되어보고 싶어
I’ll be the best man
소중히 내게 주어진 한번뿐인 내 인생
오 두근대는 삶의 주인으로 살고 싶어

Best Man (feat. eSNa)

Today of all days, dinner with you
tastes more delicious
If it’s because of you, why is it so great
Happy to the point where I could shed a tear

Oh, my lucky night, suddenly I had this thought
A good person, a good friend,
a good son is the way I want to live

Rather than a fabulous life, delicious
For example, like our kiss
I want to try and live that kind of life
Like now, being together with you

I’ll be the best man,
the thing everyone strives for
A man that really know how to love
Want to become someone that I can be proud of
I’ll be the best man
Preciously given to me, a gift like today
Oh want everyone besides to live excitingly

Oh happy day, lifting you high
I spin you around, darlin’
you make me happy like a fantasy

Rather than a fabulous life, delicious
For example, like our kiss
I want to try and live that kind of life
Like your sweet smile

I’ll be the best man,
the thing everyone strives for
A man that really know how to love
Want to become someone that I can be proud of
I’ll be the best man
Preciously given to me, a gift like today
Oh want everyone besides to live excitingly

(eSNa)
Today of all days, you look, somehow
more than usual, charismatic
Strived so long to find, you are my best man

I’ll be the best man,
the thing everyone strives for
A man that really know how to love
Want to become someone that I can be proud of
I’ll be the best man
Preciously given to me, my only life
Oh want to be the person who lives an exciting life

3 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/26/14

  1. I’ve come to be a fan of IU and her music. Some of her stuff is a touch too “jazz” for me, but I enjoy her charming, vintage, fairytale-esk vibe. I like how she mixes it up a little, but remains classy. Her more slow songs tend to be really pretty, but I’ve also enjoyed some of her more up-beat tunes. (Not Spring, Love, or Cherry blossoms was on repeat for a while… ^^) Overall, no one can deny that the girl has a voice.

    Like

    • “I’ve come to be a fan of IU and her music. Some of her stuff is a touch too “jazz” for me, but I enjoy her charming, vintage, fairytale-esk vibe.”

      Same here. IU used to be viewed as the nation’s little sister but she actually really matured as an artist. I admit, I’m not always super in love with her songs but I love her voice. She has the ability to cover older songs without making them sound too (K)poppish, but still giving her own little twist to them. One of my favourite covers from her is actually “Forgotten Season” which is sang in episode 34 of Lee Soon Shin, You’re the Best. The clip’s actually still up in Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5fr3RFBoIJA

      Like

Leave a Reply

