Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/9/14

Whether it’s a K-Indie or a K-Pop group, I’m always intrigued by artists who go outside the musical comfort zone. Even the tempo of these tracks are slow paced, they certainly showcase the talents of these two groups.

This trio recently released their full length album. Making up The Barberettes, which I can only assume has some connection to Barbarella, are Ahn Shin Ae, Kim Eun Hae and Park So Hee. They recently become known through various social media outlets for their cover of The Ronettes’ “Be My Baby”.

And shortly thereafter released their first full length album with the title track “가시내들,” the term being an old school slang word for “Little Gals”. The song which is part folk and part jazz, has the vintage sound of The Andrew Sisters, whose boogie woogie sounds in the 50’s and 60’s was very popular in America.

However, even the lyrics has that vintage sounds with the choice of words it uses like “어여뿐 (uh yeo bbun – charming)” or “일렁거리네 (il leong guh ri ne – to thump up and down)”. It’s not like you can’t ever find people who won’t use these terms these days but it would mostly be the older generation.

The music video has its charms as well. I think I particularly enjoyed the random people walking by and reacting to the trio. Their movements are very typical of the Korean singers from the 50’s and the 60’s who moved their arms in slow, sashaying wave that’s a mixture of Korean traditional dancing and Americana swing and folk.

바버렛츠 – 가시내들

가시내들

조그만 가시내들이
모여서 노랠 부르면
온동네 청년들은 마음 설레어 하네
가시내들 노래 들으러 오네

꽃 피는 봄날이 오면
어여쁜 새 옷을 입고
새로 만날 나의 님 맞을 준비를 하네
가시내들 마음 설레어 오네

아아 나는 몰라 정말로 몰라
다가와 말을 걸면
아아 볼엔 새빨간 꽃물이 들고
머리는 엉클어지네

조그만 가시내들이
모여서 노랠 부르면
온동네 청년들은 마음 설레어 하네
가시내들 노래 들으러 오네

아아 나는 몰라 정말로 몰라
다가와 웃어주면
아아 바람소리는 노래가 되고
마음은 일렁거리네

조그만 가시내들이
모여서 노랠 부르면
온동네 청년들은 마음 설레어 하네

가시내들 가시내들 가시내들 가시내들
가시내들 가시내들 가시내들 가시내들
가시내들 가시내들 가시내들
가시내들 가시내들 가시내들

우리는 노래하는 가시내들

Little Gals

When little gals
Get together to sing
All the youths in the neighborhood get excited
They come to hear the little gals’ music

When the flower blooming spring comes
Wearing charming new clothes
Get ready to meet my new Mister
The little gals’ heart becomes excited

Ahah, I don’t know, I really don’t know
If he comes to talk to me
Ahah, my cheeks will become bright red like rosewater
My hair gets tangled

When little gals
Get together to sing
All the youths in the neighborhood get excited
They comes to hear the little gals’ music

Ahah, I don’t know, I really don’t know
If they come and smile
Ahah, the sound of wind becomes music
My heart will thump up and down

When little gals
Get together to sing
All the youths in the neighborhood get excited

Little gals, little gals, little gals, little gals
Little gals, little gals, little gals, little gals
Little gals, little gals, little gals
Little gals, little gals, little gals

We are the singing little gals

_____________________________________________________

Certainly B.A.P hasn’t followed the track of your average K-Pop idol group. They experimented with a lot of different sounds since their debut two years ago and while they haven’t all been winners in my book, I’ve appreciated the attempt to try a new sound.

Their latest single features an acoustic sound that’s reminiscent of Jack Johnson. So much so that I had to go back and listen to “Better Together” (my favorite track) and “Banana Pancakes”. I think B.A.P does a good job in capturing that sweet, laid back sound as well. Combined with the acoustic guitar, harmonica, the whistling adds another layer that makes the track sound a bit like folk but the rapping grounds it back in the modern K-Pop realm. Not to mention that the music video is super cute and has the boys being silly and cheesy.

B.A.P – 어디니? 뭐하니?

어디니? 뭐하니?

조금은 낯설지만 나 혼자 여기 왔어
행복해 보이는 사람들 속에 있어
거리를 걷고 맛있는 것 먹고
그러다보면 하루가 지나가

그런데 네가 없는 게
아직은 나에겐 조금 어색해
언제나 그렇듯이 함께였는데
네가 너무 보고싶어

어디니? 뭐하니?
넌 잘 지내니?
내 곁에 네가 없으니까
Lonely Lonely Day
들리니? 보이니? 내 마음이
너에게 닿을 수 있었으면 좋겠어

너의 두 손 꼭 잡고
오기로 약속했던 곳
괜시리 혼자라 그런지
막 네가 더 생각 나
You Don’t Have To Go
넌 혹시 가끔은 날 떠올려
난 매일 네가 보여
내일 아침도 아마도 너의 꿈에서 깰걸
나는 아직도 Girl
그런데 네가 없는 게
아직은 나에겐 조금 어색해
언제나 그렇듯이 함께였는데
네가 너무 보고싶어

어디니? 뭐하니?
넌 잘 지내니?
내 곁에 네가 없으니까
Lonely Lonely Day
들리니? 보이니? 내 마음이
너에게 닿을 수 있었으면 좋겠어

외롭게 걸어가는 이 거리는
참 익숙하지만 재미없어
예전과 난 모두 비슷하지만
너 없이 아직 난 게을러서
뭘 해도 그대 빈자리는 내겐 너무 커요
난 아직도 널 그리워하다 잠이 드는 걸

어디니? 뭐하니?
넌 잘 지내니?
내 곁에 네가 없으니까
Lonely Lonely Day
들리니? 보이니? 내 마음이
너에게 닿을 수 있었으면 좋겠어

Where Are You? What Are You Up To?

May be a bit strange but I came here alone
I’m with all these happy people
As I walk the streets, eat delicious things
As I do that, a whole day passes

But the fact that you’re not here
Is still a bit uncomfortable for me
It’s like when we were always together
I miss you a lot

Where are you? What are you up to?
Are you doing well?
Because you’re not beside me,
Lonely, Lonely Day
Do you hear me? Do you see me? If my heart
can only reach to where you are, it’d be great

Holding both your hands tightly,
the place you we promised to come
Don’t know if it’s because I’m alone but
I keep thinking about you more
You Don’t Have To Go
Do you sometimes think of me?
You’re in my sights everyday
Tomorrow morning too, I might wake up in your dreams
I still do, Girl
But being without you
Is still a bit uncomfortable for me
It’s like when we were always together
I miss you a lot

Where are you? What are you up to?
Are you doing well?
Because you’re not beside me,
Lonely, Lonely Day
Do you hear me? Do you see me? If my heart
can only reach to where you are, it’d be great

Feeling lonely, walking along these streets
Is something I’m used to but it’s no fun
Like old times, I’m the same but
Without you, I’m lazy
Whatever I do your empty space feels so big to me
I still dream of wanting you

Where are you? What are you up to?
Are you doing well?
Because you’re not beside me,
Lonely, Lonely Day
Do you hear me? Do you see me? If my heart
can only reach to where you are, it’d be great

Leave a Reply

