Just Bananas About: Week of 6/13/14

So I had been curious about the new show featuring the Jung sisters, namely SNSD’s Jessica and f(x)’s Krystal. I didn’t quite understand what the show would be about, other than about the two girls, or if it would be entertaining. But I did want to watch the show with my own sister.

The shows cameras follow the girls around throughout their daily activities and interview them on their thoughts and feelings. I have to say that although the concept is simple, I’m liking the show. I think Jessica and Krystal have a chance to shed their icy image and show us a different side.

Since the two girls grew up in the States, I think there’s a difference between the way Korean view Korean-Americans as opposed to natural born Koreans and vice versa. Jessica and Krystal tend to be perceived by the media and the fans as a Ice Princess or very prickly in nature. I’ll admit that I could be having a complete fine day when a stranger comes along to stop looking so sad and smile which I find incredibly rude despite the fact that there might not be any ill-will behind their intention. I can’t imagine what it is like for someone like Jessica and Krystal who are bombarded by cameras wherever they go. It can’t be easy.

However, the show depicts them as fun and loving girls who are actually shy. The last point may sound weird since their celebrities but not all that uncommon.

Jessica [Girl’s Generation] – 그대라는 한 사람 (That One Person, You)

제시카 [소녀시대] – 그대라는 한 사람

We also see that Jessica is a typical older sister who nags, teases, gives advice and cooks for her younger sister, Krystal.

Krystal looks up to her sister and is very playful around her.  The two girls share a lot of laughs.

I especially enjoyed the scene where Krystal drives by herself for the first time. She pulls up in front of the café and walks out of the car without parking it properly. I was baffled at first but then thought that maybe it was because she was filming she wasn’t able to park properly. That is, until Jessica walked out and saw the car.

Afterwards Krystal gets confused about the word for “gas”, they head to the gas station where Jessica gets confused about how to pump gas. Pretty hilarious.

However, I think I laughed the most upon seeing Jessica throw darts and watch it bounce off or entirely miss. I guess we’re going to have to replay that celebrity pitch video where her ball bounces off the ground just a few feet in front of her.

The 2nd episode wraps up with a visit from Jessica’s fellow SNSD members, Hyo Yeon and Tiffany. They literally clear the bakery of all the baked goods with chocolate because Jessica and Krystal eat a lot. Which shocks and annoys me all at the same time because it makes me wish I had their metabolism.

While Krystal heads off to the studio to record, Jessica comes up with an idea to read mean tweets or comments from the haters as they received a lot over the years.

Similar to Jimmy Kimmel’s mean tweets segment of his show in which celebrities read mean tweets about themselves. That segment is huh-larious.

We don’t actually get to see that in this episode but hopefully that can happen in the near future.

Leave a Reply

