Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/23/14

There have a lot of releases in the last few weeks but I have to admit that some of the K-Pop releases have been mediocre. Lately, I’ve been loving a lot of indie music releases including some bands that I’ve only been following for a short time.

I was first introduced to Electric Eel when their song “별똥별 (Shooting Star)” was featured as the ending theme song for K-Sitcom Potato Star.  Even months later, I’m still listening to the song as I love the soft crooning melody of the track.

So when they released their latest album at the end of May, I was eager to download and hear it. It did take me a little while to warm up to it but I’m really loving the upbeat track “싫으면말고 (If You Don’t Like It, Forget It)” which talks about the push and pull of relationship. It is certainly a very Hongdae-esque track.

Electric Eel – 싫으면 말고 (If You Don’t Like It, Forget It)

전기뱀장어 – 싫으면 말고

싫으면 말고

무슨 말인지도 모르면서
그냥 나는 고갤 끄덕이지
너와 나 사이의 순간들을
이젠 더는 놓치고 싶지 않아
워우워

너를 둘러싼 공기 속에
조그맣게 숨어있는
물방울들을 바라봐
이렇게 빛나고 있어

까만 밤에 부서지는
저기 저 불빛들
이렇게 위험한데 집에 돌아갈 수 없어
내일 아침이 오기 전에
내게 입 맞출래
싫으면 말고

이렇게 높은 곳에 올라와
출렁이는 사람들을 바라봐
저마다 물든 그 색깔로
이렇게 빛나고 있어

언젠가 다시 날 봤을 때
넌 나를 기억조차 않겠지만
잊지 못한 기분들이 남아서
이렇게 너와 나를 만들지

까만 밤에 부서지는 저기
저 불빛들
이렇게 위험한데 집에 돌아갈 수 없어
내일 아침이 오기 전에
내게 입 맞출래
싫으면 말고

If You Don’t Like It, Forget It

Don’t even know what is being said
I just nod my head
The moments between you and I
Now I don’t want to let you go anymore,
Woah woo woah

Within the air surrounding you
Hiding small
Staring at the drops of water
You’re shining like this

Breaking through the dark night
That light there
It’s dangerous so can’t go home
Before tomorrow morning comes,
will you kiss me
If you don’t like it, forget it

Climbing up to this high place
Looking at the wriggling people
Each tinged with that color
It’s shining bright like this

If some time or another you saw me again
Though you might have no memory of me
The unforgettable feeling remains
This is how we make you and I

Breaking through the dark night
That light there
It’s dangerous so can’t go home
Before tomorrow morning comes,
will you kiss me
If you don’t like it, forget it

_____________________________________________________

As for Thornapple, I was first introduced to them when they appears on MUST Band Generation.  What first attracted me to their latest release was the title of the album, “이상기후 (Abnormal Weather)”. The title is a metaphor for the changing winds of life and relationships.

The rock ballad track “아지랑이 (Haze)” perfectly complements the idea of love and hardship. The song does an excellent job at capturing how unbearable it feels to long for someone who doesn’t want to reciprocate those feelings. Adding to that is Yoon Sung Hyun’s syrupy vocals that makes the ache feel more painful.

Thornapple – 아지랑이 (Haze)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/09-ec9584eca780eb9e91ec9db4.mp3%20

쏜애플(Thornapple) – 아지랑이

아지랑이

녹아 흐르는 아스팔트 위에
귀를 기울여 들었던 소리
오늘도 지구는 나를 제쳐 두고
아무렇지 않게 돌아가

따가운 날을 피해서 다니다
만나 버렸던 많은 사람들
어딘가 멀리에, 멀고 먼 나라에
모두 잠을 자러 돌아가

나는 얼마나 더 달아날 수 있을까?
너덜너덜 헤진 몸뚱일 가누네
나는 얼마나 더
너의 까만 눈을 견뎌내야
제대로 설 수 있을까?

나는 지금 여기에 살아있어
차는 숨을 내쉬며 살아있어
다신 그대와 느릿느릿하게
늘어져 가는 시간을 세어 볼 수 없어도

당신의 체온을 느끼려 해도
여전히 이곳은 나쁜 날씨
좋은 시절들은, 항상 끝이 날까?
마음만 잔뜩 커다래져

나는 얼마나 더 살아갈 수 있을까?
헤아릴 수 없는 내일이 불안해
나는 얼마나 더
돌아가는 땅을 견뎌내야
제대로 설 수 있을까?

나는 지금 여기에 살아있어
차는 숨을 내쉬며 살아있어
어지러워요, 날 찾아내 줘요
꺼지지 않는 나의 두려움

새빨갛게 흐드러진 해 질 무렵 공기
하루만큼 늙어 버린 사람들의 냄새
무엇보다 숨을 참기 힘든
이 세계를

분명 나는,
좋아한다 생각해

나는 지금 여기에 살아있어
차는 숨을 내쉬며 살아있어
그대도 어딘가에서 살아가
꺼지지 않는 나의 그리움

Haze

Melting down on the asphalt
Cocking my ear to hear the sound
Today the world also ignores me
Turns like nothing happened

Going around avoiding the scathingly hot day
Met many people
Somewhere far away, a far, far away land
They’re all trying to go to sleep

How much longer will I be able to get away?
Steadying my worn-out body
How much longer will I be able to
withstand your dark eyes?
Will I be able to stand up properly?

I’m living here right now
If I exhale my breath, I can stay alive
Again, I can be with you listlessly
Though I can’t count the lengthening time

Though I try to feel your body temperature
As always, this place has bad weather
On good days, will it always end?
My heart just gets bigger

How much longer will I be able to get away?
The incalculable tomorrow makes me anxious
How much longer will I be able to
withstand this spinning ground?
Will I be able to stand up properly?

I’m living here right now
If I exhale my breath, I can stay alive
Again, I can be with you listlessly
Though I can’t count the lengthening time

Brightly red, the air at dusk
Grown a day older, the smell of people
More than anything, difficult to hold one’s breath
This world

Clearly I’m,
Believe that I like you

I’m living here right now
If I exhale my breath, I can stay alive
You too, live on somewhere else
Not turning off , my longing

Leave a Reply

