Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/14/14

There are so many ways to express love and obviously there’s a lot songs about the topic. From the sweet and lively to the daring and mysterious, these two female groups tackle the subject of love in this week’s playlist tracks with entirely different approaches.

J Rabbit is an indie group I’ve been following for some time. Jung Da Woon and Jung Hye Sun are known for the J Rabbit signature voices that’s soft and delicate as well as their sweet folk style melodies. However, they are also known for being one-take artists, recording each track in a full length take.

In their recent release, “Stop & Go”, they tackle a few different styles of music from a little country to some jazz. What drew me to “Let’s Fall in Love” was the jazzy intro which made me remind of the old Ella Fitzgerald jazz standard of the same name. The piano brings a sense of quiet simplicity while the violin adds that touch of homey nostalgia. The dialogue-esque quality of the lyrics makes the song feel like it belongs in a musical that makes me want to stick around and find out what happens now that the girl has encouraged the boy to fall in love with her.

J Rabbit – Let’s Fall In Love

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/07/07-lets-fall-in-love.mp3%20

제이레빗(J Rabbit) – Let’s Fall In Love

Let’s Fall In Love

one, 매일 아침 스치듯
마주치듯
and two, 나를 보며
개구진 인사를 하죠

셋, 오후 두시 우연인 듯
준비 한 듯
넷, 조심스레 커피 한 잔을 건네죠

그대의 수줍은 그 미소가 참 좋아 보여요
가끔은 그대 좋은 향기가
종일 나를 설레게 해

If he loves me
그대가 나를 사랑 한다면
이제는 말해봐요
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Oh he loves me
사랑이 시작되는 순간
용기내어 말해줘요
“Let’s Fall in Love”

그대의 수줍은 그 미소가 참 좋아 보여요
가끔은 그대 좋은 향기가
종일 나를 설레게 해

If he loves me
그대가 나를 사랑 한다면
이제는 말해봐요
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Oh he loves me,
사랑이 시작되는 순간
용기내어 말해줘요
“Let’s Fall in Love”

어서 빨리 말해줘요
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Let’s Fall In Love

one, every morning as though you brushed past
As though we met
and two, looking at me,
you greet me impishly

three, two in the afternoon as though by fate
as though you’ve arranged it
four, carefully pass a cup of coffee

Your shy, smile appears quite nice
Occasionally, your pleasant scent
Makes me nervous all day

If he loves me
If you love me
Tell me now
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Oh he loves me
The moment that love begins
Gain confidence and tell me
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Your shy, smile appears quite nice
Occasionally, your pleasant scent
Makes me nervous all day

If he loves me
If you love me
Tell me now
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Oh he loves me
The moment that love begins
Gain confidence and tell me
“Let’s Fall in Love”

Hurry up and tell me
“Let’s Fall in Love”

_____________________________________________________

Unlike the sweet, nostalgic sound exhibited by J Rabbit, f(x) is better known for their electro pop with an eclectic edge. Certainly a song about love will have a different sound coming from them.

What I really like about “나비 (Butterfly)” is the mysterious nature of the melody. You’re not really sure which direction the track will take. The romantic side comes from the lyrics with words like, ‘In our own language, tell me.’ The song instinctively reaches out to make a connection using the metaphor of the butterfly to represent a mystical creature that connects through emotion. The chorus in which they singing about spreading the wings seems to indicate their desire to be protective and make a powerful transformation in doing so.

While the song isn’t totally off-color from what we expect of f(x), I do like this track much better than “Red Light”. Maybe it’s the constant changing tide of the melody within “Red Light” that makes the pieces feel so familiar but disparate. Perhaps I just need to spend more time with the song to get used to it but “나비 (Butterfly)” has a captivating sound while keep that melodic theme consistent throughout.

f(x) – 나비 (Butterfly)

f(x) – 나비 (Butterfly)

나비 (Butterfly)

우리 둘 우리 둘만의
언어로 말해
하나 하나 퍼즐
숲 맞춰 갈래 Yeah
갈래 갈래로 길이 퍼져 가면
너의 궤도 위 Butterfly
두 날개를 펴
아이 같이 다 처음인 감정
숨겨둘래 감추고 싶어
날개를 펴서 네 품을 나는 나
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
네 안에선 사랑이 피어나
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
로직 속에 또 얽힌
터널을 탐험 할래 Oh
어둠마저 밝힌
네 중심이기에 Yeah
박힌 뇌리 속 그 안에
네 손을 잡고 Oh
선율 위로 또
내 Butterfly 날개를 펴
떨려오는 태초 같은 시간
네 공간엔 빛이 뿌려져
날개를 펴서 네 품을 나는 나
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
네 안에선 사랑이 피어나
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
눈 깜짝할 새
나를 놀래켜 신기한 너
아름답고 또
아름다운 너 신비한 너
날개를 펴서 네 품을 나는 나
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
내려앉아 네 향길 맡을래
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
La La La La La La
La La La La La La
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비
La La La La La La
La La La La La La
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
하얀 나비

Butterfly

Us, in our own
language, tell me
One by one, the puzzle
Will you match up the forest? Yeah
Within the divided parts, if the road branches out
Orbiting above you, Butterfly
Spread both wings open
Like a child, it’s like a new feeling
Want to hide, want to hide you
Spreading my wings, I’ll fly around your embrace
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
In you, love blossoms
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
Tangled again inside logic
Want to explore the tunnel, Oh
Even illuminating the darkness
Because of your focus, Yeah
Stuck in memories
I’ll hold your hand, Oh
Above the melody again
Spreading my butterfly wings
Like the times of a trembling start
Want to sprinkle light in your space
Spreading my wings, I’ll fly around your embrace
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
In you, love blossoms
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
In the blink of an eye
You tease me, the amazing you
Beautiful and
The beautifully mysterious you
Spreading my wings, I’ll fly around your embrace
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
Landing, I want to smell your scent
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
La La La La La La
La La La La La La
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly
La La La La La La
La La La La La La
Hey Yey Yeah Hey Yey Yeah
White butterfly

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/14/14

  1. I’m not really into the country-sound, but I like J Rabbit’s more light/folk-ish songs. Some of them are so cheerful or relaxing- my quiet-happy music. *sigh* ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

