Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/28/14

So I’ve been tuning into Laws of the City in New York which features celebrities trying to survive in the city. One of the members on the program is Moon (aka Kim Moon Chul) from the indie band Royal Pirates and I’ve been wanting to get into their music after watching Moon on the show. He’s a fantastic guitarist.

The band itself is made up of three members: Moon on lead vocals and guitar, James on bass and Soo Yoon on drums. Their latest single is “Betting Everything” which is the official theme song of the latest season of Laws of the Jungle in the Indian Ocean. Not to be confused with the city edition. There are two versions of the song, the Korean version and the English acoustic version. I only listened to the Korean version, thinking the English version wouldn’t be that much different.

Upon listening to the actual tracks, the songs are vastly different in feeling. At least to me but you can be the judge. I guess there’s something to be said for the studio polished sound of the Korean track. The track is more upbeat and hopeful which makes sense since the song is about overcoming obstacles as evidenced by the hardships the Jungle team faced this trip though I only know from seeing the news reports.

Royal Pirates – Betting Everything (SBS ‘정글의 법칙 In 인도양’ 삽입곡) (Betting Everything (SBS’ Laws of the Jungle in the Indian Ocean Theme Song))

로열 파이럿츠(Royal Pirates) – Betting Everything (SBS ‘정글의 법칙 In 인도양’ 삽입곡)

Betting Everything (SBS ‘정글의 법칙 In 인도양’ 삽입곡)

앞이 캄캄해져
내 세상의 태양이 지나봐
널 기다린 내 맘이
하늘에 저 달처럼 지쳤어

밤거리에 반짝이는 불빛
하나 둘 켜지면
나 이 밤을 견딜까

아프면 안돼
지쳐 쓰러지지마
I’m betting everything
나 가진 모든 힘을 써

하루에도 몇 번을
포기하고 싶어도
단 한 방울의 희망이 또 나를 살린다
I’ll do anything 내 전부를 걸어
I’m betting everything

밤새 비가 내렸나
눈떠 보니 내 맘엔 웅덩이가
깊은 바다를 이룬대도
난 두렵지 않아 허우적대도

비가 내린 뒤엔 땅이 굳고 더 단단해진다
나 이 밤을 견딘다

아프면 안돼
지쳐 쓰러지지마
I’m betting everything
나 가진 모든 힘을 써

하루에도 몇 번을
포기하고 싶어도
단 한 방울의 희망이 또 나를 살린다
I’ll do anything 내 전부를 걸어
I’m betting everything

Come back to me

아프면 안돼
지쳐 쓰러지지마
I’m betting everything
나 가진 모든 힘을 써

하루에도 몇 번을
포기하고 싶어도
단 한 방울의 희망이 또 나를 살린다
I’ll do anything 내 전부를 걸어
I’m betting everything

Betting Everything (SBS’ Laws of the Jungle in the Indian Ocean Theme Song)

Everything is bleak in front of me
My life’s sun must be setting
My feelings waiting for you
Tired like that moon in the sky

On the town at night, the lights twinkling
One, two, they turn on
Will I be able to make it through this night?

Stop hurting
Don’t faint from exhaustion
I’m betting everything
Using all the strength I’ve got

Several times a day
Though I want to give up
A single drop of strength, again revives me
I’ll do anything, putting my all on the line
I’m betting everything

Did it rain overnight?
As I open my eyes, there’s a puddle in my heart
Though a deep sea materializes
I’m not afraid, even though I thrash around

After the rainfall, the ground dries and hardens
I’ll make it through this night

Stop hurting
Don’t faint from exhaustion
I’m betting everything
Using all the strength I’ve got

Several times a day
Though I want to give up
A single drop of strength, again revives me
I’ll do anything, putting my all on the line
I’m betting everything

Come back to me

Stop hurting
Don’t faint from exhaustion
I’m betting everything
Using all the strength I’ve got

Several times a day
Though I want to give up
A single drop of strength, again revives me
I’ll do anything, putting my all on the line
I’m betting everything

On the flip side, there’s something very retrospective about the acoustic track. Clearly, the lyrics have a slightly different meaning than the Korean version which is why I wanted to present both tracks even though it’s the same song.

While the Korean track may be the theme song to Laws of the Jungle, the acoustic version really made me think of the last episode of Laws of the City. Moon is always wearing a smile and flirting up with the ladies on the show that it was shocking to hear him reveal this sad story about his past.

Baek Jin Hee had been on the computer looking up the history of all the members when she discovered that Moon’s older brother had died. He was the original bassist for the band. Moon revealed he lost his brother to a car accident and that particular day was the anniversary of his death.

I can’t tell you how many tears I shed while listening to the heartbreaking story. So this English track just made me think how much Moon has overcome to continue working with the band and making it thus far. He put everything on the line just so he could make their dreams come true.

Royal Pirates – Betting Everything (Acoustic/English ver.)

로열 파이럿츠(Royal Pirates) – Betting Everything (Acoustic / English ver.) (SBS ‘정글의 법칙 In 인도양’ 삽입곡)

Betting Everything (Acoustic/English ver.)

I’ve been living a lie
the world I knew before is a memory.
And I keep thinking about her
I never knew I could feel this empty.

Oh the price I pay it everyday
I am wearing myself thin
but I can’t stop, I need you
I’m gonna hold on
I don’t want give you up
I’m betting everything that I have got on you and me
Honey you’re the only one
I could never let you go
I already lost it all if I can’t make you see
I’ll do anything to win you back for good,
I’m betting everything

My life was black and white
but you came and colored in my everything.
And I don’t want to be blind
but without you there is nothing I can see

Oh the price I pay it everyday
I am wearing myself thin
but I can’t stop, I need you
I’m gonna hold on
I don’t want give you up
I’m betting everything that I have got on you and me
Honey you’re the only one
I could never let you go
I already lost it all if I can’t make you see
I’ll do anything to win you back for good,
I’m betting everything

Come back to me

Leave a Reply

