Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/4/14

I am still reeling over the last scene of Episode 4 of It’s Okay, It’s Love from last week and have been replaying that episode over again in my mind. Although it didn’t come for a shock to many watchers, I just didn’t see it coming. Upon seeing the trailer for this drama, I was expecting a silly, modern and urban romcom. What I wasn’t expecting (but always hope for) was the depth and this drama is hitting all the right notes for me. I didn’t quite understand the motives of many of the characters and thought it was odd to see that the drama start off its first episode with a prison scene but now it all seems to fit.  I sincerely hope that this drama doesn’t break my heart because it has so much potential.

The other thing that I love and am obsessed about when it comes to this drama is the music. It’s not just the songs that are on OST that’s great but the other tracks you hear throughout the episode have such a refreshing sound that it’s like I’ve found an oasis in the desert.

However, today’s tracks are from both single releases. Cast member D.O’s fellow EXO group member Chen treats us to the song’s first OST track called “최고의 행운 (The Best of Luck)”. It’s an upbeat pop number expressing how he’s incredibly lucky to find love. The thing that you can almost miss if you blink is, similar to Jang Jae Yul’s (Jo In Sung) playboy persona in the drama, that he describes himself as sweet. Which can come off as arrogance but I’m thinking that overconfident sounds more fitting. It appears that love brings out the best in the singer because it gives him the strength to conquer all and that’s pretty attractive.

첸 (EXO) – 최고의 행운

최고의 행운

아무래도 난 니가 좋아
아무런 말도 없이 웃던 나를 안아줘 babe
오늘을 기다렸죠
그대 달콤한 나를 봐요 그대 ye
지켜줄게요 babe
매일 매일 꿈을 꾸죠
그대 손을 잡고 날아가 영원히 언제 까지나

보고 싶은 나의 사랑 운명 이죠
피할수도 없죠
every day I’m so lucky
숨겨왔던 내 맘을 고백 할래 너를 사랑해

떨리던 내 입술도 그대 설레던 이 마음도
그대 내 사랑이죠 babe
이런게 사랑 인걸 알죠
그대가 있어 행복 하죠 ye
사랑이예요 babe
매일 매일 꿈을 꾸죠
그대 손을 잡고 날아가 영원히 언제 까지나

보고 싶은 나의 사랑 운명 이죠
피할수도 없죠
every day I’m so lucky
숨겨왔던 내 맘을 고백 할래 너를 사랑해

나의 모두를 걸만큼 널
사랑하고 아껴준다고 그대 약속할게요 워
시간 지나 모두 변해도
이 세상이 끝난다 해도 나의 사랑아 아

그대 내게 행운이죠 피할수도 없죠
every day I’m so lucky
숨겨왔던 내 맘을 고백 할래 너를 사랑해

The Best of Luck

Anyways, I like you
Smiled without words, hug me, babe
I waited for you today
Look at my sweet self, your ye
I’ll protect you, babe
Every day, every day, I dream
Holding your hand and fly, forever, indefinitely

It’s fate to miss my feelings of love
You can’t escape it
every day I’m so lucky
Hidden my heart, I want to confess that I love you

Trembling my lips and your trembling heart
You are my love, babe
I know that this is love
The fact that you’re here is happiness, ye
It’s love, babe
Every day, every day, I dream
Holding your hand and fly, forever, indefinitely

It’s fate to miss my feelings of love
You can’t escape it
every day I’m so lucky
Hidden my heart, I want to confess that I love you

Like putting everything on the line
Love you and appreciating you, I’ll promise you, woah
Though time passes and everything changes
Though they say the world is ending, my love, ah

You are my luck, can’t escape it
every day I’m so lucky
Hidden my heart, I want to confess that I love you

The other track is more of a traditional ballad but the song doesn’t come off as sappy.  As expected of this female duet, Davichi, is great at bringing the emotions to the surface. I simply love the music video for the song. Scratch that, I love both music videos for this drama because there’s so much great footage to use from the drama itself as it is shot beautifully. This one, though, depicts the push and pull that we’re seeing from the main characters as they begin to fall to for each other. It’s not going to be easy but perhaps love can make the insurmountable possible.

The other thing that I love about this drama is that love is depicted in so many different ways. Love is not something that’s just for the OTPs. Jang Jae Yul’s brother has tried to kill him on multiple occasions and yet Jang Jae Yul loves him unconditionally. You want there to be some kind of reconciliation between the brothers and hope that love will be able to conquer what’s come between them. I just can’t wait for that side of the story to unfold.

다비치 – 괜찮아 사랑이야

괜찮아 사랑이야

내 맘이 보이니 왜 사랑인거니
다시는 하지 말자던
사랑 참 많이 바보 같지

왜 행복 한 거니 니 얼굴이 떠올라
내 곁에만 있어줘 영원히 너를

꽃 흔들리듯 바람에 니가 다가와
내 맘 두드리던 그런 너를 사랑해

가슴이 아파 널 보면
괜찮아 사랑이야
부족한 이 맘을 또 나를 사랑을
받아 줄수 있겠니 나를

왜 웃기만 하니 내 눈을 바라보며
이 떨림을 간직해 나를 안아줘

꽃 흔들리듯 바람에 니가 다가와
내 맘 두드리던 그런 너를 사랑해

가슴이 아파 널 보면
괜찮아 사랑이야
부족한 이 맘을 또 나를 사랑을
받아 줄 수 있겠니 나를

이런 나를 사랑해줘
사랑해 널 oh love

It’s Okay, It’s Love

Do you see my heart? Why is this love?
Saying let’s not do this again.
Being in love is stupid, right?

Why are you happy? Thinking of your face
Just be next to me, forever

Like a flower shakes in the wind, come to me
Knocking on my heart like such, I’ll love you

My chest is in pain whenever I see you
It’s okay, it’s love
This inadequate heart, again my love
Can you accept me?

Why do you keep laughing when you look me in the eyes?
Treasure this nervousness, embrace me

Like a flower shakes in the wind, come to me
Knocking on my heart like such, I’ll love you

My chest is in pain whenever I see you
It’s okay, it’s love
This inadequate heart, again my love
Can you accept me?

Love me as I am
I love you, oh love

Leave a Reply

