Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/11/14

It’s gets a little boring when you listen to an artist’s latest album and find that the sound is predictable. For the most part, these two artists really haven’t gone outside of their comfort zone except for perhaps a track or two which really perked my ears.

Although this is Ye Eun’s first solo album outside of the Wonder Girls, I really didn’t know what her sound would be like. However, I was listening to a few tracks and immediately I thought of Sunmi’s single album. I can’t say that I’ve really like the album with the exception of “다운 (Nothing Lasts Forever) (Knockdown (Nothing Lasts Forever))”.

The tracks starts off simply with her voice and the piano and it’s quite beautiful. Although she’s singing through a mic filter, there’s a raw quality to her singing unlike the other tracks which feel overproduced. The song is about regret and the lost of love and the emptiness is whole heartedly felt. You can hear it in the hollowness of the song and her voice.

Ha:tfelt (Ye Eun) – 다운 (Nothing Lasts Forever)

핫펠트(예은) – 다운 (Nothing Lasts Forever)

다운 (Nothing Lasts Forever)

슬프도록 밝던 너
아프도록 웃던 너
아름다운

궁금한 게 많던 너
하고픈 것도 많던 너
참 아이다운

그때 네게 해주지 못한 말들
그땐 네게 할 수 없었던 말들

Nothing lasts forever
Nothing lasts forever
모든 건 언젠가 사라질 것
마치 없었던 것처럼

But I’m here to remember
You’ll always be remembered
기억할게 너와나 and this winter

널 보내는 사진 속
누구보다 멋진 너
조금은 낯선
지키지 못한 약속들이
마음 깊이 남아
날 괴롭혀

그때 네게 노랠 불러줬다면
그때 네게 이 노랠 불러줬다면

Nothing lasts forever
Nothing lasts forever
모든 건 언젠가 사라질 것
마치 없었던 것처럼

But I’m here to remember
You’ll always be remembered
기억할게 너와나 and this winter

왜 하필 너냐고
때론 신을 원망한다던 너
Have you found the reason why?
내게도 알려주겠니

Knockdown (Nothing Lasts Forever)

Sadly, the bright you
Painfully, the smiling, you
Beautiful

Curious about a lot of things, you
Wanted to do a lot of things, you
Seemingly childlike

The things I wouldn’t say to you then
The things I couldn’t say to you then

Nothing lasts forever
Nothing lasts forever
Everything will eventually disappear
Like it didn’t even exist

But I’m here to remember
You’ll always be remembered
I’ll remember, you and I, and this winter

Within the pictures you send,
handsome more than anyone else, you
It’s a bit strange
The promises we couldn’t keep
Still remains deep in my heart
It bothers me

If you only sang a song for me then
If you only sang this song for me then

Nothing lasts forever
Nothing lasts forever
Everything will eventually disappear
Like it didn’t even exist

But I’m here to remember
You’ll always be remembered
I’ll remember, you and I, and this winter

Why was it you?
Sometimes blaming the gods, you
Have you found the reason why?
Will you also let me know?

_____________________________________________________

Unlike Ye Eun, I actually really like JYJ’s latest album, “Just Us”. I mean, “Back Seat” is an incredibly addictive song. The album does feature a number of different styles but the styles aren’t really off book from what we expect from JYJ. Except for “서른… (Thirty…)”.

When I first heard the song, I thought maybe I was listening to a new Dynamic Duo track. It’s more of that hip hop meets smooth jazz kind of flavor. However, it’s a Park Yoo Chun solo track in which he’s had a hand in writing all the lyrics and co-composing the song which is pretty impressive.

It’s a song about looking to the future and balancing life, work and friends.  Now that he’s approaching thirty, he’ll face new challenges like going to army.  As he puts it, all people are chasing happiness and what does that mean for him?

JYJ – 서른.. (Thirty…)

JYJ – 서른..

서른..

금요일 저녁 친구들과 가볍게 한 잔
오랜만에 만난 형 동생과
나누는 대화란 별 볼 일 없어
서로 마주 보며 부딪히는 몇 잔
뒤로 흩어지는 씁쓸한 미소
그래도 나 이렇게 산다 저렇게 산다
그 순간 마치 우린 모두 인생사 베테랑
허물없이 시작되는 여자란 테마
각각 기억을 더듬어 시작되는
이야기 속에 모두 숨죽여 변함없어

바람처럼 손끝에 느껴지는 추억이
얼마나 소중한지
알게 된거죠
모든 순간을 담고 산다면
Life is more than ever
you think

어제 마신 술이 덜 깨 속이
부글부글 거실에선 보글보글 된장국 냄새
고양이 세수 대충 치카치카
나이 먹어서 왜 이럽니까
시작되는 가족들의 아침 인사
시작되는 하루 일과
오랜만에 만난 멤버들과
뭐 그렇게 할 얘기가 많은지
촬영 터지는 조명 소리
으컁컁 준수 웃음소리
그 모습 보며 웃는 재중이 형이
여유롭지

바람처럼 손끝에 느껴지는 추억이
얼마나 소중한지
알게 된거죠
모든 순간을 담고 산다면
Life is more than ever
you think

마음에 그렸었던 보이지도 않던
그동안의 나의 모습들이
또 한번 반복되는 시간이 와도
오 다 괜찮을 거야
그것 또한 너의 모습이니까

바람처럼 손끝에 느껴지는 추억이
얼마나 소중한지
알게 된거죠
모든 순간을 담고 산다면
Life is more than ever
you think

군대 갈 때 되니까
감추기 힘든 불안함
그래도 유환이 너 있으니까 괜찮아
어쩌면 산다는 게 다 이런 건가 봐
모든 사람들이 다 이렇게 행복을 찾나 봐
아무리 준비해도
준비되지 않는 인생이란
설레는 그림자 뒤로 걸어가는 행복이란
뭐 괜찮아 그래도
어김없이 찾아오는 공허함 왜일까

동희야 (네 형)
내일 몇 시야 시간
(음 정리해서 말해드릴게요)
야 얘길 해줘야
내가 오늘 한잔하던가 하지
(간단하게 한잔할까요 형님)
어 좋지 소주
(소맥이지요 형님)

Thirty…

Friday night, a simple drink with friends
With a hyung and dongsaeng that I haven’t seen in awhile
Chatting about nothing much
Seeing eye to eye, clinking several glasses
Waning afterwards, bitter smiles
Still, I live like this, I live like that
At that moment, we all become an old hand at life
Without holding back, starting on the theme of girls
Each starting to go through our memories
In the stories, everyone falls silent like usual

Memories feeling like the wind on our fingertips
How precious they are
Is what I’ve realized
If you take in each moment of your life
Life is more than ever
you think

Not sober from last night’s booze
Cooking in the kitchen, the smell of boiling bean paste soup
Quickly rinsing my face and hastily brushing my teeth
At this age, why are you this way?
Starting with the family’s morning greeting
Starting with the day’s work
Meeting my members who I haven’t seen in awhile
Why is there so much to say?
The sounds exploding lights on set
Oohkyahkyah, Junsu’s laughter
Seeing that, Jaejoong hyung smiling
Feeling relaxed

Memories feeling like the wind on our fingertips
How precious they are
Is what I’ve realized
If you take in each moment of your life
Life is more than ever
you think

Drew in my heart, something I couldn’t even see
Images of myself
Even if those times repeat again
Oh, it’ll all be alright
Because that’s another image of you

Memories feeling like the wind on our fingertips
How precious they are
Is what I’ve realized
If you take in each moment of your life
Life is more than ever
you think

Being almost time to go to the army,
the anxiety that’s hard to hide
But still, Yoo Hwan, because of you I’m okay
For some reason, life must all be like this
Everyone must be seeking happiness like this
No matter how much you prepare,
you can’t fully prepare for life
Chasing behind the fluttering shadow for happiness
Well, it’s still okay
But why does this emptiness still follow me?

Hey Dong Hee (Yes, hyung)
What time is it tomorrow? Time
(Hmm, let me organize a bit and get back to you)
Hey, you need to tell me
so I’ll know if I can have a drink today
(Shall we have a quick drink, hyungnim?)
Yea, sounds good. Soju?
(No hyung, it’s soju/beer of course)

Leave a Reply

