Just Bananas About: Week of 8/15/14

What a whirlwind KCON has been!  I want to thank the folks who made it to the Women in K-Drama panel and the great questions they’ve asked.  Here’s a recap of the weekend complete with the KCON convention, the Mnet Countdown concert, the celebrities I stalked, the sites I visited and the food.  Can’t leave out the great food we had this weekend.  For those that made it out this weekend, hope you had a blast!

So the KCON convention was a full two-days and it was chock full of random stars walking around which included Lee Seung Ki and Lee Seo Jin.  I desperately wanted to get into the Lee Seung Ki and Lee Seo Jin Artist Engagement Audience on Day 2 but it’s done by lottery.  Sadly, I didn’t quite get the ticket I wanted but I did stalk them afar.

However, seeing Lee Seung Ki walking around the market on Day 1 to promote education for girls did make my day.

While walking to the tent with the goodie bags, I saw the hosts of Danny From LA talking to Jung Joon Young.  Despite his abrasive personality in Variety shows, he seems pretty personable as he tried to engage with the audience.

I also visited the Running Man tent which had great games inspired by the show.  There was even a random “Yoo Jae Suk” sighting. 😉

And of course, I can’t leave out the concert.  The episode of Mnet Countdown is actually out but it compounded both days of the concert into one.  Here are some videos and pictures from the two nights but I have to admit that I totally messed the videos up this time.  I meant to buy a new camera before heading out to LA but I couldn’t quite settle on it.  I had forgotten that I can’t take pictures while taking video so unfortunately there’s a lot random clicking during the songs.  So I have to totally apologize about that.

I’d actually recommend that you watch the broadcast version instead but if you want to see it from a different angle, I’ve posted them below.  The first night, we had some reeeeally awesome seats.  Not in the GA section as I’m too old to be standing the whole time and jockeying for a good position so it’s actually better that I have established seats.  The second night, I was a lot further back but still it wasn’t too bad.

The opening act on Day 1 featured Jun Sung Ahn, who is a great violinist of YouTube fame.  He did a cover of Taeyang’s “Eyes, Nose, Lips” but afterwards he suddenly broke out into a dance.  I didn’t know he could also dance.  Who knew?  Could he be the next Henry?

I gotta say that I do love VIXX’s “저주인형 (Voodoo Doll)”.  It’s a bit Backstreet Boys.  I know the Backstreet Boys dance is based off of Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” but trust me, it’s more Backstreet Boys than it is Michael Jackson.  If the Backstreet Boys’ “Everybody” dance is the next generation of “Thriller,” I guess you could consider “저주인형 (Voodoo Doll)” the next generation of “Everybody”?  Maybe?

IU is the only female artist that was scheduled for Day 1. As you might expect, she was super cute.  She wasn’t confident about her English but I think she did a pretty decent job.

“금요일에 만나요 (Let’s Meet on Friday)” is actually a video I shot with my phone instead of my camera.  Despite not being able to zoom as much as my camera, I actually think this video looks better than my camera.  Go figure.  It’s probably because it’s actually HD quality.  While this song is actually a duet, I missed the part where Teen Top’s Niel joins her.

I have to admit that I chuckled when I first saw B1A4’s outfits but they’re just super cute, especially when they do the leprechaun dance in “Solo Day”.  And isn’t Sandeul adorable?

My favorite Teen Top song is “긴 생머리 그녀 (Miss Right) (Long, Straight-Haired Miss)” which I’ve featured before.

And my favorite artist of Day 1 was G-Dragon.  You can probably tell by the numerous videos I took.  He just commanded that night.

Day 2 started off with BTS (aka Bangtan Boys) and they had a lot of energy that started the night off well.

I didn’t really love Jung Joon Young’s first mini album but I did fall in love with “Teenager” from his latest album.  Later on, he did a rendition of Michael Jackson’s “Black or White” complete with a weird crab dance.  Ooooh Jung Joon Young.  Only you could dance like that to a Michael Jackson track.  Embarrassing but totally hilarious.

I don’t think I’m as familiar with SPICA as I am with other idol groups but for a girl group, they’ve got a funkier sound.  Below is from their latest release which is an English album with the title track, “I Did It”.

CNBLUE.  Siiiigh.  I wish I took more video of them but I was running low on memory card space.  Plus, the way the stage is setup made it difficult to get all of the band members in one shot.  It’s not like they’re a dance group so they don’t quite move as a pack.  However, each member had their own side of the stage with Jung Yong Hwa moving inbetween the two walkways between songs.  Sorry, I couldn’t really capture Lee Jung Shin as he was on the opposite side.

Day 2 ended with, of course, SNSD.  Unfortunately, the girls were down to 8 members as Soo Young was busy filming her new drama out in September.  I really wanted the girls to do “I Got a Boy” but after seeing their outfits, it didn’t seem likely.  However, they did pick a great selections of their hit tracks throughout the years.

Other sites, I got to visit while out in LA was Santa Monica Pier, the Griffiths Observatory and Grauman’s Chinese Theater for Actor Ahn Sung Ki and Actor Lee Byung Hun’s handprints.  I didn’t really do a full tour of LA as I’ve been there before but stopped at a few places I missed seeing last time.

Of course, that also meant that I got a little shopping done.  Yay, I did find the LAX to JFK t-shirt from Kitsons that I mentioned in my Jessica and Krystal recaps.  It’s long sleeve so not quite the weather at the moment for me to wear it around yet but it’s super soft.  Can’t wait for the Fall.

Finally, I can’t end this post without mentioning all the great food we had from S’mores at the Yellow House to Gopchang and Pork Skin at Ahgassi Gopchang (a Kang Ho Dong chain) to the food at the KCON food market.  Mmm, now I’m hungry all over again.

To see more pictures from last weekend, head over to the Musings of Chunkeemonkeeato Facebook page to see the complete set.

Leave a Reply

