Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/18/14

Although I just recently featured music from It’s Okay, It’s Love like two weeks ago, there has been such great music in dramas that I couldn’t help feature some more OST tracks.

Yeah, I know what you might be thinking. Another song from It’s Okay, It’s Love? But the OST tracks are THAT good that I just couldn’t help but feature one from pop album which was almost two weeks ago. In fact, all the songs on the pop album are great and I just recommend them all as they give the drama such interesting and new layers. Brandon Pacheco is like the 2nd generation Justin Bieber whose track, “Soul,” adds that youthful, rock-out quality while “Heavy” by Killin Time Band gives it that edgy but hauntingly absorbing, brass band sound.  And can I just say that I love the way this drama is filmed?  The cinematography is really beautiful.

The song that caught my attention at first was Kae Sun’s “Ship and The Globe”, whose real name is Kwaku Darko-Mensah, Jr. The song was originally released in 2012 by this Ghanaian/Canadian singer and I just love the urban folk sound of the track.

Although at first, I couldn’t stop chuckling at the sight of Jo In Sung grooving to the song but just like Gong Hyo Jin’s character, Ji Hae Soo, I grew incredibly fond of his attempt at dancing.

The song itself is quite simple but it’s not at all banal or boring. Within the simplicity, he exudes such happiness and suddenly Jo In Sung’s grooving and dancing makes sense. The song seems to be saying that people make mountains out of a molehill when it comes to attaining happiness but that’s because we misunderstand what happiness truly is. It’s been right there all along.

Kae Sun – Ship And The Globe

Kae Sun – Ship and The Globe

Oceans apart and it’s heavy on my heart
Roll and row but my rolling game too slow
I’m happy you know

I’m spending my time watching the ship and the globe
Why beauty’s in the simple things
Your sweetness and your elegance
I’m happy you know

Paa pa pa paa pa pa paa papa pa paa paa 2X

Oceans apart and I’m sailing on my dreams
Roll and row but my rolling game too wild
I’m lost in your smile

I’m spending my time watching the ship and the globe
Why beauty’s in the simple things
Your sweetness and your elegance
I’m happy you know

Paa pa pa paa pa pa paa papa pa paa paa 2X

(Break)

Paa papa paa pa pa paap paa paaa 4x

_____________________________________________________

The other track that I’ve been eagerly waiting for is Ivy’s “내 맘을 아나요 (Do You Know How I Feel?)”. Ivy is known as this sexy songstress with her sexy dance moves, probably enhanced by her scandal a few years back. However, she’s a strong vocalist and I think she was a great singer to select for this track.

The song is so fitting for the drama, Joseon Gunman. Circumstances and concern for each other’s safety has kept these two lovers apart. Lee Jun Ki’s character Park Yoon Kang has more than enough episodes pretending that he wasn’t who he was and it was starting to become this ridiculous elephant in the room. It’s not that I didn’t find the drama unbelievable but I also couldn’t fathom how much longer Park Yoon Kang could go on denying this fact.

However, Ivy’s voice is so good at expressing that pain and longing that when he finally admits who he is her voice lifts the burden of his identity from the drama. It was such a relief to see that and to see the OTP get together that I’ve must have watched the end of Episode 12 more than a dozen times.

아이비(IVY) – 내 맘을 아나요

내 맘을 아나요

알고 있어요 그대 마음을
곁에 없어도 난 느낄 수 있죠
감은 두 눈
그댄 꿈처럼 다가와
늘 내 안에 있죠

닿을 듯해 그댈 부르다
돌아서는 내 맘을 아나요

늘 바라보고 있어도 그리운 사람
늘 그대 곁에 있어도 보고픈 사람
조금만 더 가까이 다가가고 싶지만
난 아무 말도 못하고 바라만 봐요

나보다 더 그대 더 아플까
애써 웃는 내 맘을 아나요

늘 바라보고 있어도 그리운 사람
늘 그대 곁에 있어도 보고픈 사람
조금만 더 가까이 다가가고 싶지만
난 아무 말도 못하고 바라만 봐요

그대가 너무 그리워
혼자서 쓰다 지우는 이름
그대인 걸 이제 어떻게 하죠

난 그리울 땐 차라리 눈을 감아요
나 눈을 뜨면 그대가 사라질까 봐
잊으려 애써봐도 하루도 잊지 못해
더 아무 말도 못 하고 그대만 봐요

난 영원토록 그대만 사랑하겠죠

Do You Know How I Feel?

I know how you feel
Though I’m not near you, I can feel you
With both of my eyes closed,
you come near me like in a dream
I always keep you with me

Like I can reach you, I call out to you
Turned around, do you know how I feel?

Always looking upon you, that person I long for
Always as I stand near you, that person I miss
Want to get a bit closer to you
Can’t say anything but look on

Are you hurting more than I am?
Striving to smile, do you know how I feel?

Always looking upon you, that person I long for
Always as I stand near you, that person I miss
Want to get a bit closer to you
Can’t say anything but look on

I miss you so much
Alone, writing and erasing your name
Now what am I gonna do now that I know it’s you

Rather than longing, I just close my eyes
If I open my eyes, worry that you might disappear
Though I tried to forget you, I haven’t forgotten a single day
Can’t say anything more but just look upon you

I will only be in love with you, forever

Leave a Reply

