Just Bananas About: Week of 8/29/14

I’ve been behind on Real Men for the last few weeks but when I saw articles about last Sunday’s episode, I decided to catch up. I can’t tell you how excited I was to see the female edition of Real Men.

There are two reasons for that. Yay, female empowerment! And I would think it’s a different kind of mentality when Korean women enter the military force compared to men. Obviously, there’s a physical distinction between males and females but I would imagine that there would be a difference in mindset. Most males are required by law to enlist in the army, while that’s not the case for women. I will be honest though. If I were a Korean citizen, I would totally be okay that equal rights don’t extend to women for this particular law. I just don’t think I would have the physical and mental strength to not be the black hole of the squad. Having said that, I’m in awe of women who voluntarily enlist in the military, regardless of the country.

The female celebrities cast in Female special of Real Men are Actresses Hong Eun Hee, Kim So Yeon, Ra Mi Ran and Girls’ Day’s Lee Hye Ri, G.NA, Infinity Challenge Comedian Maeng Seung Ji and Olympic Short Track Speed Skater Park Seung Hee.

Right off the bat, I was looking forward to seeing Kim So Yeon, Lee Hye Ri and Park Seung Hee. I was mildly curious about Maeng Seung Ji only because she was so wacky on Infinity Challenge with her ‘Oppa, do you remember me?’ antics.

While she played a deadly assassin on Iris and Athena, Kim So Yeon is not very athletic. It was hard to watch as she huffed and puffed and moan painfully around the track.

Maeng Seung Ji literally had me holding my head in agony as she showed up to basic training wearing a cut-off t-shirt that featured her belly button. I love that Hong Eun Hee tells her husband, Actor Yoo Joon Sang, on the phone who can’t say anything but laugh. He also narrated this first episode. And after being taught how to respond to the army instructor, she immediately forgot. Making her one of the two black holes in the troop.

G.NA showed up late and brought her hair dryer, makeup and other unnecessary luggage. At one point, she was planning to bring her dog. Perhaps it was a joke but suddenly the thought of Henry and his ridiculousness popped into my head. Is it a K-Pop idol/Canadian thing? Because I know my Canadian friends are nothing like them.

The kicker is when all the women were asked to take their makeup off and their army instructor believed G.NA kept her fake eyelashes on. She went even so far as to pull them.

Lee Hye Ri seems to generally have a lively personality but was disciplined for laughing and talking during lunch as they were instructed to eat silently.

It’s interesting to see the women constantly looking around while they were eating. I’m not sure that I would have been able to swallow the food.

There’s a strict code in the army and as newbies, the women haven’t yet acclimated to the life yet. During the scene when the women were asked to pack their personal belongings, the women got in trouble for eating food in the room. Their army instructor, who seems to have an incredibly keen sense of smell, was able to sniff out the honey bread that Ra Mi Ran had handed out. Feeling remorseful for getting her unit in trouble, Mi Ran shed some tears, which is totally to be expected. Their female army instructor immediately chastises her for the tears.

I have to admit that she is one of the scariest people I’ve seen on the show combined. I know that the attitude is tool to whip the newbies in shape. After all, the army is not a joke. However, I hope we do get to see that other side of her on the show. That is, if there is another side to her.

I’m really rooting for these women as I want them to show what we’re made of. For the women that want to serve alongside the men, they have every right to do so. Although they may do things differently, they have just as much courage and strength as their male counterparts and I hope this special will showcase that. What did you think of the Female Special?

4 thoughts on “Just Bananas About: Week of 8/29/14

    • I did think about that and a part of me wonders if the producers asked them to play up clueless and thoughtless side for television. After all, it is a show meant to entertain despite the misnomer of the reality genre. As for Henry, I don’t have an answer for you because I honestly think that’s just what he’s like. However, he’s always great to watch when you come home from a really bad day at work or school. 🙂

      Like

    • Hi, I’ve been looking around for you to see if I’m able to find full subs of the episodes. Right now, it’s looking like only fans of Girl’s Day are translating her segments of the show. So you can try to check that out. Hopefully, someone can translate the full ep in the future. However, if you have questions about a particular scene, please let me know. I’ll try my best to answer them. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

