Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/1/14

If you haven’t realized it lately, I’m pretty obsessed with Royal Pirates. Thanks to Laws of the City in New York, I got to know Moon (aka Kim Moon Chul) and the fact that he’s a talented musician with a way with the ladies. However with Bassist James Lee and Drummer Kim Soo Yoon, it’s their music that really making them my favorite new band of the year. I mean, have you seen their ALS Ice Bucket Challenge?  I know that it hasn’t been so long since I last featured them in a playlist post but bear with me and you’ll fall head over heels for them, too.

“하루다 지나가겠다 (Haru) (The Whole Day Could Pass Us By (Haru))” is a song off their latest album release, “Love Toxic”. They say that when you’re having a good time, you don’t realize how fast time flies. The thing that probably tops the list is when you’re with someone you’re really into. Combine that sentiment with a good looking trio crooning to this track. How can you resist?

Royal Pirates – 하루다 지나가겠다 (Haru) (The Whole Day Could Pass Us By (Haru))

로열 파이럿츠(Royal Pirates) – 하루다 지나가겠다 (Haru)

하루다 지나가겠다 (Haru)

전형적인 미인은 아니지만
볼수록 매력적인 니가 좋아
여성스러운 목소린 아니지만
들으면 들을수록 정이 들어
연락은 자주 못하지만
항상 보고 싶어
일분 일 초마다
너만 쳐다보다 하루다 지나가겠다
널 보다 아무것도 못하겠다 우-
너만 생각하다 하루다 지나가겠다
니 생각에 오늘 밤 잠이 안 오겠지만
어쩔 수 없이 너 때문에
하루 다 지나가겠다
우린 너무 다른 점이 많지만
내 부족한 부분을 니가 채워
아무리 봐도 너는 내게 항상 아름다워
누가 뭐라해도
너만 쳐다보다 하루다 지나가겠다
널 보다 아무것도 못하겠다 우-
널 매일 생각하다 하루다 지나가겠다
니 생각에 오늘 밤 잠이 안 오겠지만
어쩔 수 없이 너 때문에
하루 다 지나가겠다

The Whole Day Could Pass Us By (Haru)

You’re not a classic beauty but
The more I see you, I like the charming you
It’s not a feminine voice
The more I hear you, getting used to hearing it
Can’t keep in touch that often
But I always miss you
1 second of every minute
Looking at you, the whole day could pass us by
Watching you, can’t do anything else, woo
Thinking about you, the whole day could pass us by
Might not be able to sleep tonight thinking of you
Can’t help it because of you
The whole day could pass us by
We’re so different but
Where I’m lacking, you make up for it
No matter how I see you, you’re always beautiful to me
No matter what anyone else says
Looking at you, the whole day could pass us by
Watching you, can’t do anything else, woo
Thinking about you, the whole day could pass us by
Might not be able to sleep tonight thinking of you
Can’t help it because of you
The whole day could pass us by

“You” is a song off their album earlier from this year, “Drawing the Line”. With a soft start, the song changes tempo to a more upbeat, alternative rock sound. The charm of this song is the fact that it has a very familiar sound that it would be easy to rock out to for anyone who is new to it. Where the Royal Pirates element comes into play is the romantic crooner quality, especially heard in Moon’s voice.

The other great thing about this band is that since two of the members are Korean-American, they often try to do English versions of all of their tracks. In “Love Toxic,” they’ve added the English version to this song but I’ve provided both versions below. I believe all the members of the band sing in some way and I’ll admit that I’m still learning their voices but if you want to hear James, who has a deeper voice, check out “Betting Everything”.

Royal Pirates – You

로열 파이럿츠(Royal Pirates) – You

You

언제부턴가 매일
널 생각하다 난 잠이 들어
그리 오래되지 않은 기억이 다시 떠올라

비가 내리면 너와 함께 비를 맞으며
홀로 걸었던 이 거리를
이젠 너와 함께 갈 텐데

시간이 멈춰버린 것처럼
우린 발걸음을 세우고
아무런 일도 없었던 것처럼 미소 짓겠지
because it’s you

Fallen in love with you
Cause it’s you
How I miss you

너 아닌 다른 사람은 필요없어
특별하니까
너 같은 사람을 찾을 순 없어
너뿐이니까
지나가버린 추억으로 돌아간다면
멀리 보이는 네 모습 보며
달려갈 텐데 널 향해

시간이 멈춰버린 것처럼
우린 발걸음을 세우고
아무런 일도 없었던 것처럼 미소 짓겠지
because it’s you

Fallen in love with you
Cause it’s you
How I miss you

오랫동안 말하지 못한 게 있어
너를 사랑해
앞으로 만날 모든 사람보다
너를 기억해

시간이 멈춰버린 것처럼
우린 발걸음을 세우고
아무런 일도 없었던 것처럼 미소 짓겠지
because it’s you

시간이 멈춰버린 것처럼
우린 발 걸음을 세우고
아무런 일도 없었던 것처럼 미소 짓겠지
because it’s you

Fallen in love with you
Cause it’s you
How I miss you

You

Don’t know when but every day
I fall asleep thinking of you
The memories aren’t that old but it comes across again

When it rains, as we get rained on together
This street that I used to walk alone
Now I can walk with you

Like time has stopped,
we stand still
Like nothing happened, I smile
because it’s you

Fallen in love with you
Cause it’s you
How I miss you

Don’t need anyone else that’s not you,
because you’re special
Can’t find a person like you,
you’re the only one
If I go back to a past memory
If I see you from faraway,
I’ll run towards you

Like time has stopped,
we stand still
Like nothing happened, I smile
because it’s you

Fallen in love with you
Cause it’s you
How I miss you

Couldn’t say this for the longest time
I love you
From now on, always, more than anyone else,
I’ll remember you

Like time has stopped,
we stand still
Like nothing happened, I smile
because it’s you

Like time has stopped,
we stand still
Like nothing happened, I smile
because it’s you

Fallen in love with you
Cause it’s you
How I miss you

 

Royal Pirates – You (English Ver.)

로열 파이럿츠(Royal Pirates) – You (English Ver.)

You

Oh baby I don’t know what I’d be without you,
I’m going crazy
You’re the only one that I can hold onto
to keep me grounded
I’ve got a feeling, I feel it when I’m thinking of you
You are the reason,
I feel like there is nothing I can’t do,
cause of you

I couldn’t find my way without you girl
but now I’m right where I want to be
I was in the dark but now you’re all I see
I want the rest of my life with you

Falling in love with you, cause of you
Oh how I need you
Oh baby there’s no other girl
I want but you, I want to keep you
You’re the only habit that I just can’t lose,
I think I need you

I’ve got a feeling, I feel it when I’m thinking of you
You are the reason,
I feel like there is nothing I can’t do,
cause of you

I couldn’t find my way without you girl
but now I’m right where I want to be
I was in the dark but now you’re all I see
I want the rest of my life with you

Falling in love with you cause of you
Oh how I need you~
Oh baby I don’t know what I’d be without you,
I’m going crazy
You’re the only one that I can hold onto
to keep me grounded

I couldn’t find my way without you girl
but now I’m right where I want to be
I was in the dark but now you’re all I see
I want the rest of my life with you

I couldn’t find my way without you girl
but now I’m right where I want to be
I was in the dark but now you’re all I see
I want the rest of my life with you

Falling in love with you cause of you
Oh how I need you

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/1/14

Leave a Reply

