Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/15/14

It’s not strange for a lot of music from girl groups to sound the same. They emphasizing the sweet or the sexy and frankly, there’s no depth with the lyrics, sound or style. However, here two groups that show how strong and independent they can be while showing off a side of whimsy.

Sunny Hill is an interesting girl group, as far as girl groups go. Even without Kim Jang Hyun, who was previously the only male member of the group.  I think I’ve heard a wide variety of styles from them but I like it best when they try to go out of their comfort zone. Obviously, the title of “Get the x out” was something that caught my eye.

However, what really got me was the whimsical tone that matched the attitude reflected in the song. There’s an amusement park nature to the song as the melody has a condescending but humorous tone. There’s a moment of tender honesty with “I love you and I hate you. I’m not you,” but then the attitude sneaks back in with, “I don’t give a…”

Sunny Hill – Get the x out

써니힐(Sunny Hill) – Get the x out

Get the x out

친한 친구들도 말 한 마디
처음 본 사람도 말 한 마디.
“듣고 있니? 듣고 있니?
왜 넌 다른 길로 가려 하니?”

어떻게 사는지 궁금하지
남들의 생각도 궁금하지.
숨이 막혀. 숨이 막혀
남들의 시선을 먹고 사니?

I love you and I hate you
I’m not you. I don’t give a

얼굴도 표정도 똑같은걸
생각도 똑같아. 넌 누구니?
기가 막혀. 기가 막혀
너조차 모르는 네가 됐어

I love you and I hate you
I’m not you. I don’t give a um

세상 사람들만큼
수많은 사람들만큼의 길이 있는 거야
왜 자꾸 너와 똑같은
날 원하니 난 니가 아닌데

얼굴 없는 사람들 조그만 세상에
다 모여 곁눈질만 하네
왜 자꾸 너와 똑같은 날
원하니 난 니가 아닌데

get the x out
get the x out
get the x out
get the hell out of my life
get the x out
get the x out
get the x out
get the hell out of my life
get the hell out of my life

Get the x out

Words of close friends of mine
Words of a person I just met
‘Are you listening? Are you listening?
Why do you keep going a different way?’

You’re wondering how to live
You wonder what other people think
Suffocating. Suffocating
Are you living on other people’s looks?

I love you and I hate you
I’m not you. I don’t give a

Face and expressions are the asme
Think the same way. Who are you?
Can’t believe it. Can’t believe it
Even you became a person I don’t know

I love you and I hate you
I’m not you. I don’t give a um

As much as the people of this world
There’s a path for the many people
Why is it always the same for us?
Do you want me? I don’t want you

Faceless people in the small world
Together just looking from the corner of our eyes
Why is the day always the same for us?
Do you want it? I don’t want you

get the x out
get the x out
get the x out
get the hell out of my life
get the x out
get the x out
get the x out
get the hell out of my life
get the hell out of my life

_____________________________________________________

I’ve been seeing the group name, BESTie, since last year. Especially on tracks where a few members featured with other artists. I guess I’m not really sure why I wasn’t inspired to give them a listen. Upon listening to their latest mini album, it’s clear to me that they are pretty good singers.

“롤러걸 (Roller Girl)” is a typical K-Pop song but the melody is complicated enough to need good voices to make it peppy and have a consistent harmony. Similar to Sunny Hill, the song is about establishing the theme of the strong, independent woman. It’s up the boys to get past all the superficial layers they put one when trying to impress a girl. Yes, they want something real but almost like a rollercoaster, it’s trying to make through all the ups and downs and enjoy the rush of a relationship. It’s a very feel-good song with a 90’s pop sound.

BESTie -롤러걸 (Roller Girl)

베스티(BESTie) – 롤러걸 (Roller Girl)

롤러걸 (Roller Girl)

항상 말로만 사랑해 가벼운 늑대들
아주 말로만 뻔뻔해서
보여 네 속이 다 보여
Who do you think you are
I’m strong, sweet, beautiful

한 마디를 해도
마음에 꽂히는 진심을 담은 난
그런 사랑만을 찾아 Oh Yeah
넌 꼭 그래 주길 바래
Just say that you love me baby

Show! I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
내 기준에 너를 맞춰
Up and down, sing it! Up and down
Welcome to my show!

I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
쉽게 본거라면 Get away
진짜 사랑을 원해 원해 원해
I’ll give you one more chance

뚜 뚜루루 뚜루루루 Boy
What you gonna do
날 보고 있니 나도 널
오 오 우워

뚜 뚜루루 뚜루루루 Boy
What you gonna do
이건 마지막 기회가 될 거야
I’ll give you one more chance

난 감동할지 몰라
어떤 선물보다
오직 날 위해 변한다면
들려 내 마음이 흔들려
You got to show your mind
I’m strong, sweet, beautiful

한 마디를 해도
마음에 꽂히는 진심을 담은 난
그런 사랑만을 찾아 Oh yeah
넌 꼭 그래 주길 바래
Just say that you love me baby

Show! I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
내 기준에 너를 맞춰
Up and down, sing it! Up and down
Welcome to my show!

I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
쉽게 본거라면 Get away
진짜 사랑을 원해 원해 원해
I’ll give you one more chance

Ain’t no time, ain’t no time
내게 내게 더 다가와
Feel so right, feel so right
두근 두근대는 이 순간
머뭇거리다 놓치고 말거야
난 네 주위만 맴도는 롤러걸

Show! I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
내 기준에 너를 맞춰
Up and down, sing it! Up and down
Welcome to my show!

I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
쉽게 본거라면 Get away
진짜 사랑을 원해 원해 원해
I’ll give you one more chance

뚜 뚜루루 뚜루루루 Boy
What you gonna do
날 보고 있니 나도 널
오 오 우워

뚜 뚜루루 뚜루루루 Boy
What you gonna do
이건 마지막 기회가 될 거야
I’ll give you one more chance

Roller Girl

Always saying I love you, phony wolves
Always blatant with just your words
I see it, I see through you
Who do you think you are
I’m strong, sweet, beautiful

Though I say one thing
Sticking to your heart my honesty
Looking for that kind of love, Oh Yeah
You’re always like that, you expect to receive
Just say that you love me baby

Show! I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
Meet my standards
Up and down, sing it! Up and down
Welcome to my show!

I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
If you look at simply, Get away
Want, want, want a real love
I’ll give you one more chance

Doo Doo Roo Roo Doo Roo Roo Roo, Boy
What you gonna do
Are you watching me? I’ll also to you,
Oh oh woo woah

Doo Doo Roo Roo Doo Roo Roo Roo, Boy
What you gonna do
This will be the last chance
I’ll give you one more chance

I don’t know if you might be moved,
more than any gift
Only if you promise to change for me
Do you hear it? My heart is wavering
You got to show your mind
I’m strong, sweet, beautiful

Though I say one thing
Sticking to your heart my honesty
Looking for that kind of love, Oh Yeah
You’re always like that, you expect to receive
Just say that you love me baby

Show! I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
Meet my standards
Up and down, sing it! Up and down
Welcome to my show!

I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
If you look at simply, Get away
Want, want, want a real love
I’ll give you one more chance

Ain’t no time, ain’t no time
Come closer to me, me
Feel so right, feel so right
Pitter pattering this moment
If you hesitate, you’ll lose it
I’m the one just circling you, Roller Girl

Show! I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
Meet my standards
Up and down, sing it! Up and down
Welcome to my show!

I’m a I’m a I’m a Roller Girl
If you look at simply, Get away
Want, want, want a real love
I’ll give you one more chance

Doo Doo Roo Roo Doo Roo Roo Roo, Boy
What you gonna do
Are you watching me? I’ll also to you,
Oh oh woo woah

Doo Doo Roo Roo Doo Roo Roo Roo, Boy
What you gonna do
This will be the last chance
I’ll give you one more chance

Leave a Reply

