Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/29/14

Autumn is my favorite time of year and my tastes in music does change when the weather turns a little colder. It’s not that I no longer want to listen to upbeat, poppy music but there’s something about this weather that makes me reflective. Here are two indie artists who are reflect the themes of the Fall.

I know Big Baby Driver because of all the K-Drama OSTs she’s contributed to. Her latest album is called “A Story of a Boring Monkey and a Baby Girl” and it’s very folk-alternative pop. It may not be a popular genre but I do like her style. I do love the album’s title track called “Baby You”. It’s super cute but because the lyrics are in English, I didn’t feel the need to translate them here. There are a few other tracks that are written in English as well and while her grammar isn’t great, they are pleasant to listen to.

The song that I like from the album is “아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서 그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네 (Like Nothing Happened, Turned Around and Just Left)”. It’s suuper long. There is something very reflective about the lyrics, which is about a loved one leaving without so much as a goodbye fanfare. The style of the strumming guitar sounds a bit honky tonk country, which I’m not really a fan of. I do listen to some country but you will never catch line dancing. However, it’s Big Baby Driver’s vocals that makes it have a very feel from the first notes of the track. It’s very feminine but not overly emotional. Plus, I love how the backing vocals has this haunting quality to make it feel like a ghostly presence of the one who had left. It’s quite an intriguing song.

Big Baby Driver – 아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서 그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네 (Like Nothing Happened, Turned Around and Just Left)

빅 베이비 드라이버(Big Baby Driver) – 아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서 그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네

아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서 그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네

해는 지고 밤은 성큼 다가와
문을 걸고 작은 불을 밝히네
턱을 괴고 너를 생각해
모로 누워도 너를 생각해

전등처럼 환하고 예쁜 네 모습
제비처럼 까맣고 하얀 너의 눈
하루종일 널 그리네
어느 아침 떠난 널 그리네

아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서
그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네
아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서
그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네

저 멀리 다시 올 수 없는 거리에
아무도 춥지 않는 땅이 있다며
어느 아침 넌 내게 물었지

함께 길을 떠나겠냐고
주저하는 나를 두고 돌아서서
아주 가볍게 떠나버린 너
주저하는 나를 두고 돌아서서
아주 가볍게 떠나버린 너

아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서
그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네
아무렇지 않은 듯 뒤돌아서서
그냥 그렇게 떠나버렸네

Like Nothing Happened, Turned Around and Just Left

The sun sets, and night is around the corner
Lock the door, a small light illuminates
Prop up my chin and think of you
Though I lie on my side, I think of you

Like a lamp, it’s bright, your beautiful image
Dark like a swallow, white your eyes
I long for you all day
Long for you who left one morning

Like nothing happened, turned around
And just left
Like nothing happened, turned around
And just left

Far away, where you can’t return
Is there a place where no one gets cold
You asked me one morning

Do plan to leave together?
Leaving my hesitating self and turned around
And left with such ease
Leaving my hesitating self and turned around
And left with such ease

Like nothing happened, turned around
And just left
Like nothing happened, turned around
And just left

_____________________________________________________

I love Sosimboys because their style varies from album to album. Sometimes it can be jazzy, sometimes it can be folky and other times it can be loungy pop. For some reason, “그대가 가을이라면 (If You Are the Autumn)” sounds like a gospel song to me. I can’t quite pinpoint which gospel song exactly but I feel like I’ve sung at retreats and church events when I was little. Regardless, it’s a beautiful ballad. The song is mostly calm but emotions brim over with its crescendo of voices and beautiful harmony of the two members.

As for the lyrics, I love that there are all these metaphors about nature expressing how he’s going to love her. It’s one thing to just say that you love someone which is special on its own accord but there’s a whole new level to be able to show it through various actions and expressions of love.

*Note: “Cosmos” means the flower also known as the Mexican aster.  Not to be confused with cosmos as in the space.

Sosimboys -그대가 가을이라면 (If You Are the Autumn)

소심한 오빠들(Sosimboys) – 그대가 가을이라면

그대가 가을이라면

어느새 바람이 서늘하게 부네요
시간이 무심히도 빠르죠

그대를 만나고 벌써 몇번째인가요
우리가 맞이하는 가을이

애뜻한 손길에 미안함이 많아요
괜히 그대를 고생만 시켰네요

그대를 만난건 가장 큰 선물이죠
살다보니 행운도 따르네요

나는 그대의 나무가 되리라
오롯한 마음, 그늘이 되리라
해지는 노을 그림자 되어
지켜주리라
그대가 가을이라면

나는 그대의 바람이 되리라
눈부신 하늘, 구름이 되리라
한들한들 코스모스 되어
춤을 추리라
그대가 가을이라면

그대의 계절이 되리라
그대의 노래가 되리라
밤하늘의 별이 되어
비춰주리라
그대가 가을이라면

If You Are the Autumn

Suddenly a chilly wind is blowing
Time is indifferently so fast

After meeting you, how many times has it been?
The autumn that we’re encountering

Sorry about my confusing gestures
Seems I just made things hard for you

Meeting you was a great, big present
As I live and breathe, it seems even I’m lucky

I will be your tree
Perfect heart, I will be your shade
Become the shadow in the fading sunset
And protect you
If you are the autumn

I will be your wind
Radiant skies, I will be your cloud
Become a trembling cosmos*
And dance for you
If you are the autumn

I will be your season
I will be your song
Become the star in the night sky
And shine for you
If you are the autumn

Leave a Reply

