Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/20/14

Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of folk music so these 3 artists have been frequenting my playlist. Some people might not be fond of the folk genre, perhaps it’s too close to country but especially in K-Pop the genre is most often fused with other genres to make it more palatable.

Jang Bum Joon’s first solo album came out a few months ago but rather than feeling like a summer album, it feels more like an autumn album. Even without his Busker Busker bandmates, he’s got quite a lot to offer as a musician. “내 마음이 그대가 되어 (내마그) (My Heart Becomes Yours (My Heart Yours))” is a folk rock ballad. I know that a lot of genres all in one but he sings the song about love and heartbreak with tenderness but with a maturity. Even though he’s singing all the lyrics, there’s something very quiet about the song. It prompts a reflective reaction as the lyrics constantly refer to the woman being silent, wordless.

Jang Bum Joon -내 마음이 그대가 되어 (내마그) (My Heart Becomes Yours (My Heart Yours)

장범준 – 내 마음이 그대가 되어 (내마그)

내 마음이 그대가 되어 (내마그)

새벽 3시 니 생각에 지쳐
담밸 피다
맘에 밟힌 머리끈
너 없는 차가운 이 밤

말이 없는 너는
마치 나를 잊은 것 같아
수많은 변명에도
말이 없던 그 입술

사랑한단 말조차
부족할 때가 있지만
시간은 흘러가고
이런 나는 나는 어떡해

말이 없는 너는
마치 나를 잊은 것 같아
수많은 변명에도
말이 없던 그 입술
사랑이 중요하다며
다른 건 필요 없다며
쓸어내린 머리칼과
몰랐던 처음이 되어

내가 만약 사랑한다고 하면
내가 만약 그대로 그대로

말이 없는 너는
마치 나를 잊은 것 같아
수많은 변명에도
말이 없던 그 입술
사랑이 중요하다며
다른 건 필요 없다며
쓸어내린 머리칼과
몰랐던 처음이 되어
어차피 그런 거라고

My Heart Becomes Yours (My Heart Yours)

Tired of thinking of you at 3AM,
I smoke a cigarette
Haunting my heart, your hair tie,
Without you, this night is cold

You’re silent,
at last, you must have forgotten about me
Countless excuses but
those lips are silent

Even words that I love you
may seem lacking but
Time keeps passing
But this version of me, what am I going to do?

You’re silent,
at last, you must have forgotten about me
Countless excuses but
those lips are silent
Said that love was important
That you don’t need anything else
You brushed down your hair and
go back to the start when you didn’t know anything

If I said I love you
If I… that way, that way

You’re silent,
at last, you must have forgotten about me
Countless excuses but
those lips are silent
Said that love was important
That you don’t need anything else
You brushed down your hair and
go back to the start when you didn’t know anything
Anyhow, that’s how it is

_____________________________________________________

Superstar K4 winner, Roy Kim, follows up his first album just a year later with “Home”. Although he’s only 21 years old, he has a fondness for folk music as his mother liked old school folk artists like Lee Moon Sae, Kim Kwang Seok, Kim Hyun Shik and Ahn Chi Hwan. His time in North Carolina may also have something to do with his fondness for this genre as well.

The interesting thing about Roy Kim’s voice is that he’s got a deep and smooth voice perfect for folk music. He also knows where to put the accent on the certain words in order to make it sound impactful. Although it starts off slow, the song amps up as he begs his love to stay by his side. Similar to Jang Bum Joon, lips and words play an important part in this song as he doesn’t want her to say that she’s leaving him.

Roy Kim – 날 사랑한다며 (If You Love Me)

로이킴 – 날 사랑한다면

날 사랑한다면

너를 처음 본 순간
난 하루에도 몇 번씩
피식 웃었고 내일을 기다렸지
너가 내게 온 순간
난 하루에도 몇 번씩
너를 그리고 미래를 기대했지
내게 남겨진 너의 미소로
난 또 하늘을 날았고
꿈 속에 빛나는 널 만나서
날 사랑한다면 내 곁에 머물러
더 많은 날들을 추억으로 감싸줘
날 사랑한다면 너의 그 입에서
떠난다는 말은 떠난다는 말은 마요

서로가 지칠 때
넌 내가 찾길 바랬고
난 너가 말 한대로 난 너를 잡았었지
우리 함께 했었던 그 많은 추억들은
현실이라는 변명에 사라졌지
내게 남겨진 너의 미소로
난 또 하늘을 날았고
꿈속에 빛나는 널 만나서
날 사랑한다면
내 곁에 머물러 더 많은 날들을
추억으로 감싸줘
날 사랑한다면
너의 그 입에서 떠난다는 말은
떠난다는 말은

날 사랑한다면
내 곁에 머물러 더 많은 날들을
추억으로 감싸줘
날 사랑한다면
너의 그 입에서 떠난다는 말은
떠난다는 말은 마요

If You Love Me

The first time I saw you
I, several times a day,
Smiled slyly and waited for tomorrow
The moment you came to me
I, several times a day,
Longed for you and looked forward to the future
What remained with me is your smile
And again I flew the heavens
Meeting you who shone in my dreams
If you love me, stay by my side
Cherish the memories of many more days
If you love me, from your lips
Don’t say that you’ll leave, that you’ll leave me

When we both grew weary,
you hoped that I would find you
Like you said, I held onto you
The times we shared all those memories
It disappeared with excuses of reality
What remained with me is your smile
And again I flew the heavens
Meeting you who shone in my dreams
If you love me,
stay by my side for many more days
So we can cherish the memories
If you love me,
from your lips, words that you’ll leave me
words that you’ll leave me

If you love me,
stay by my side for many more days
So we can cherish the memories
If you love me,
from your lips, words that you’ll leave me
Don’t say that you’ll leave me

_____________________________________________________

Finally, there’s the young Yoo Seung Woo who was also on Superstar K4. At the age of 17, he’s been labeled a prodigy musician. Unlike the more mature folk singers above, Yoo Seung Woo’s song is called “Love”. It’s a cute love song which starts off with the honky tonk of banjos. Despite the very country start, the song isn’t all that hardcore country but leans more on the side of country pop. Who better to sing about young love and make country music sound pleasant than the baby-faced Yoo Seung Woo?

Yoo Seung Woo – Love

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/04-love.mp3%20

유승우 – Love

Love

uhm 서로 눈을 바라본다 마치 연인처럼
바라보는 이 느낌이
너무 좋아 하늘의 새처럼
부끄럽지만
눈을 먼저 피하기 싫어
우리 서로 마주치는 눈동자에
내 모습 비친다
이게 눈 맞았다는 건가
보다 둘이서
괜히 안아 주고 싶다
빨리 다가가서 oh
love 굳이 말을 안 해도 알 수 있는 것
사랑이란 그 사람만 알고 싶은
love 눈빛만 봐도 느낄 수 있죠
내가 그댈 좋아하는지 oh oh whoa yeah

첫눈에 반한 느낌을 오늘에 알았죠
눈앞에서 아른대는
이 느낌을 어떻게 말해요
사랑이라는 게 정말 이런 건가 봐요
생각하며 웃음짓는
그런 사람 바로 그대예요
이게 눈 맞았다는 건가
보다 둘이서
괜히 안아 주고 싶다
빨리 다가가서
love 굳이 말을 안 해도 알 수 있는 것
사랑이란 그 사람만 알고 싶은
love 눈빛만 봐도 느낄 수 있죠
내가 그댈 좋아하는지 oh

어때요
나 싫지 않은 눈빛이네요
좋아했으면 날 좋아했으면
love 굳이 말을 안 해도 알 수 있는 것
사랑이란 그 사람만 알고 싶은
love 눈빛만 봐도 느낄 수 있죠
내가 그댈 좋아하는지
oh whoa uhm woo whoo

Love

uhm We’re looking upon each other like lovers
This feeling as we’re looking
It feels good like a bird in the heavens
It’s embarrassing
but don’t want to be first to avoid eye contact
Within our encountering pupils,
I see my image reflecting back
Does this mean our eyes have met?
Or rather, we both
Want to hug each other in vain
Hurry up and get close, oh
love, even if we don’t say it, feel like I know it
Love means you want to get to know that person
love, even if I look at their eyes, you can feel it
That I like you, oh oh whoa yeah

The feeling of love at first sight, I just realized it today
Glimmering in front of my eyes,
How can I describe this feeling?
Love must really be like this
When you think of it, you smile
That person is you
Does this mean our eyes have met?
Or rather, we both
Want to hug each other in vain
Hurry up and get close
love, even if we don’t say it, feel like I know it
Love means you want to get to know that person
love, even if I look at their eyes, you can feel it
That I like you, oh

How do you feel?
Your eyes doesn’t seem to say you hate me
If you liked, if you liked me
love, even if we don’t say it, feel like I know it
Love means you want to get to know that person
love, even if I look at their eyes, you can feel it
That I like you
oh whoa uhm woo whoo

Leave a Reply

