Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/10/14

After 5 long years, MC Mong is finally back with a new album.  There are many critics who oppose his comeback due to his military enlistment scandal and while I’m not in a position to weigh in on that matter I still looked forward to listening to new music from him agian.  His album is titled “Miss Me or Diss Me” and while some may have seen that as kind of a challenge to his anti-fans, I think if you listen to the album you’d see that he acknowledging that there are two opinionated groups when it comes to MC Mong.  One that wanted him to comeback and the anti-fans who did not.

I love almost all of the songs on the album so I had a hard time picking out only a few because there’s so much that I could comment on about each track.  The album clearly showcases MC Mong’s unique style of music.  I can’t tell if I’m just loving the nostalgia of hearing his style of music again or if the songs sound dated because it’s been 5 years but I don’t think I’m alone in loving it because it’s been making quite a statement on the charts.  My favorite songs on the album, in no particular order, are “고장난 선풍기 (Broken Fan)” featuring Gary and Sistar’s Hyorin, “What Could I Do” featuring Bumkey and “Whatever” featuring Girls’ Day’s Mina and narration by MC Mong’s BFF, Haha.

“내가 그리웠니 (Did You Miss Me)” and “죽을만큼 아파서 Part. 2 (Because It Was Deathly Painful Part. 2)” seems to directly address his reluctance to comeback and the hurt he felt while “0904” takes the melody of “죽을만큼 아파서 Part. 1 (Because It Was Deathly Painful Part. 1) with different lyrics sung by a little girl.  The date itself is a significant and painful memory in MC Mong’s life as September 4th is not only his birthdate but September 2010 is when officials began to conduct an investigation behind his military enlistment deferment in which he stopped all of his activities and went into seclusion.  Since then, there have been rumors that he’s been producing music behind the scenes while on hiatus for artists such as Sistar, T-ara and NS Yoon-G.

Overall, the three title songs represents one of the three themes of the album.  “내가 그리웠니 (Did You Miss Me)” represents longing, “도망가자 (Let’s Run Away)” represents love and “마음 단단히 먹어 (Be Strong)” represents strength.  This last track is quite interesting because MC Mong is quite aware of the criticism he faces with his comeback.  Does he deserve it?  Is he worth it?  I’m not entirely sure that he’s convinced and I think it was a good decision that he not out there promoting the album.  I’m sure that even the music shows haven’t lifted his ban from the networks but even still he’s got a lot of supporters who were there for him 5 years ago and still beside him today.  So in that sense, it’s an uplifting song aided by Ailee’s powerful vocals that shows how lucky and rich he feels to have such loyal friends and fans sticking by his side even through the darkest of times.

MC Mong -마음 단단히 먹어 (feat. 에일리) (Be Strong (feat. Ailee)

MC 몽 – 마음 단단히 먹어 (Feat. 에일리)

마음 단단히 먹어 (feat. 에일리)

내일 더 힘들 거야
그러니 지금부터 마음 단단히 먹어
사랑도 못할 거야
지금부터 억지로 웃는 법을 넌 꼭 배워

사랑은 이미 내게 사치 같아
뿌리 없는 나무 같아
사랑한다 말 한마디 못 한지도
몇 년이 지났는지 까마득해

애써 웃는 척 하기도 지겹다 이젠
낯선 사람과 또 거릴 둔다
치사한 놈으론 이미 내가 대세
오늘도 숨만 쉬고 있어 그냥

울지마 웃지마
넌 이미 자격 박탈
내 꿈도 미래도 모두가 다 박살 나
나에게 주문을 걸고 또 물어
살아야만 해 마음 단단히 먹어

아련한 어린 날의 기억처럼
까마득히 다 지워지고
다시 내일이 오는 것처럼
시간에 묻혀 다 잊혀 질 거야

너무 늦은 건가요 It’s too late
난 매일 꼭꼭 숨어버린 술래
내 안부 좀 묻지 마요 마음 알잖아요
will you love me when I come back

내 놀이터에 나를 못 들어오게 한 벽이
세워지고 사랑을 못해 심해지는 병
엎친 데 덮친 격 산 넘어 산
뭔가에 낚인 듯 강 넘어 강

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
life is too quick
so don’t try to run away

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
love can be sick 길 잃은 기러기야
여기가 너의 집이야

아련한 어린 날의 기억처럼
까마득히 다 지워지고
다시 내일이 오는 것처럼
시간에 묻혀 다 잊혀 질 거야

구름이 지고 비가 갠 후엔
언젠가 숨어있던 햇살이 널 비춰 줄 거야

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
life is to quick
so don’t try to run away

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
love can be sick 길 잃은 기러기야
여기가 너의 집이야

아련한 어린 날의 기억처럼
까마득히 다 지워지고
다시 내일이 오는 것처럼
시간에 묻혀 다 잊혀 질 거야

Be Strong (feat. Ailee)

Tomorrow will be more difficult
So from now on, be strong
You won’t be able to fall in love
From now on, learn to force a smile

Love already seems like a luxury for me
Like a tree without roots
Not able to say the phrase I love you
Blanking out on how many years it’s been

Now even pretending to smile is exhausting
Keeping my distance from strangers
I’m widely known as the shameless guy
Even today I’m just breathing

Don’t cry, don’t smile,
you’ve already been deprived of your rights
My dreams, future, everything has been destroyed
I cast a spell and ask again
Must live on, be strong

Like a vague memory of childhood
Becomes completely erased
Like tomorrow approaches again
Bury it in time so that it will all erase

Is it too late? It’s too late
I’m the seeker that hides every day
Don’t ask how I’m doing, you know how I feel
will you love me when I come back

My playground won’t let me enter because of a wall
That goes up, a severe sickness that won’t let me love
To make matters worse, a mountain after mountain
Like being tricked, a river after river

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
life is too quick
so don’t try to run away

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
love can be sick, a goose that’s lost it’s way
This is your home

Like a vague memory of childhood
Becomes completely erased
Like tomorrow approaches again
Bury it in time so that it will all erase

After the clouds pass and the rain stops
Somehow the hiding sun will shine on you again

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
life is too quick
so don’t try to run away

love can be sick
I gotta take the pain away
love can be sick, a goose that’s lost it’s way
This is your home

Like a vague memory of childhood
Becomes completely erased
Like tomorrow approaches again
Bury it in time so that it will all erase

As I mentioned above, one of my favorite songs on the album is “What Could I Do”. Not only do I love the smooth voice of Bumkey but I love the slow rhythmical style of this track. The song is about living life to the best of his ability. Sure, at times he fails at it and makes mistakes. MC Mong’s lived life in seclusion and the world’s changed so much since he was out there making his own music. He’s got to get up to speed but it’s a slow process.

MC Mong – What Could I Do (feat. 범키) (What Could I Do (feat. Bumkey))

MC 몽 – What Could I Do (Feat. 범키)

*썸 타는 = to have a “some” type of relationship, not a serious relationship
**SNS = Social Network System like Twitter, Facebook, etc.

What Could I Do (feat. 범키)

너도 임마 정신차려줘
나이만 자꾸 먹어서
what could I do
so what could I do

하루 하루 변해가네 다
사랑 놀이 지쳐가네 다
what could I do
so what could I do

뭔 놈의 회사 건물
전체가 또 금연 건물
억지로 옥상까지 올라가 담배를 물고
요즘 썸 타는* 그녀에게
애 타는 문자를
답 없는 문자에 라이터는 두고 온

내가 이렇지 뭐 아저씨 같지 뭐
애인 생기면 뭐 해보고 싶니 넌
결혼 생각도 안하고 넌
놀고 싶겠지만
내가 그렇지 뭐 아저씨 같지 뭐

I’m so sorry 엄마
왜 자꾸 날 쳐다봐
가슴이 먹먹해진 듯이
뭔가 우울해

너도 임마 정신차려줘
나이만 자꾸 먹어서
what could I do
so what could I do

하루하루 변해가네 다
사랑 놀이 지쳐가네 다
what could I do
so what could I do

간절히 원해 썸 아닌
somebody to love
요즘은 편지보다 문자를 많이 눌러
뭔가 정적이지 않은 사랑의 표현들
순수성이 떨어진 요령만 난 느는 듯

But every day I pray for you
우리 함께 늙어가자
let me stay with you
And every single night I wait for you
간절히 원해 썸 아닌
somebody to love

I’m so sorry 엄마
왜 자꾸 날 쳐다봐
가슴이 먹먹해진 듯이
뭔가 우울해

너도 임마 정신차려줘
나이만 자꾸 먹어서
what could I do
so what could I do

하루 하루 변해가네 다
사랑 놀이 지쳐가네 다
what could I do
so what could I do

매일 바라보기만
남의 SNS** 몰래 훔쳐보기만 해
자꾸 못된 맘이야
나란 사람 참 별로구나

나이를 먹어도 정신을 못 차려
철이 안 들어
행운 같은 건 없는 걸까
자고 일어나
so what could I do

너도 임마 정신차려 줘
나이만 자꾸 먹어서
what could I do
so what could I do

하루 하루 변해가네 다
사랑 놀이 지쳐가네 다
what could I do
so what could I do

What Could I Do (feat. Bumkey)

Hey you, pay attention
You just keep getting older
what could I do
so what could I do

Day by day, things are changing
Playing game with love is getting tiring, all of it
what could I do
so what could I do

How could some office building
Totally become a no smoking area
Forced to go to the roof with a cigarette in my mouth
These days, to a girl I’m having something with*
I send her an anxious text
Don’t get a reply back and I’ve left my lighter

I’m like that, like this old man
When you find a girlfriend, what do you want to do?
You don’t think about marriage,
just might want to mess around
I’m like that, like this old man

I’m so sorry, mom
Why do you keep looking at me?
Like my heart has become gloomy,
I’m somehow depressed

Hey you, pay attention
You just keep getting older
what could I do
so what could I do

Day by day, things are changing
Playing game with love is getting tiring, all of it
what could I do
so what could I do

Genuinely want it, not just something but
somebody to love
More than letters, people send more texts
Expressing love that’s somehow not stagnant
Losing my innocence by learning the ropes

But every day I pray for you
Let’s get old together
let me stay with you
And every single night I wait for you
Genuinely want it, not just something but
somebody to love

I’m so sorry, mom
Why do you keep looking at me?
Like my heart has become gloomy,
I’m somehow depressed

Hey you, pay attention
You just keep getting older
what could I do
so what could I do

Day by day, things are changing
Playing game with love is getting tiring, all of it
what could I do
so what could I do

Every day just looking at
Taking a sneak peek at other people’s SNS**
Just keep having bad intentions
I’m really not a good person

Though I get older, I can’t get with it
Not able to mature
Is it because I’m not lucky?
I sleep and wake up
so what could I do

Hey you, pay attention
You just keep getting older
what could I do
so what could I do

Day by day, things are changing
Playing game with love is getting tiring, all of it
what could I do
so what could I do

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/10/14

  1. you’re right, he has this certain sound that’s so pleasing to listen to. gah, i miss him so much. it saddens me to see him get hated on but oh well at least we finally have new great stuff from him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

