Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/17/14

It’s been awhile since I did an OST post. There are two tracks that I’ve been listening to on repeat as well as enjoying the dramas so far.

Modern Farmer is one of the two weekend dramas I’ve been enjoying. I wouldn’t say that the drama is innovative or breaking the storytelling mold but there’s a lighthearted family atmosphere to it. Lee Hong Ki is also pretty good at playing these self-absorbed but underneath has a heart of gold character.

Obviously, he’s a singer first so I knew it wouldn’t be long before he does a track on the OST. I still listen to his track from The Heirs OST even though I didn’t make it past Episode 3 of that drama.

However, I was surprised to see that the first part was not by Hong Ki but by Woo Hyun from Infinite. I didn’t even read the track listing but upon listening to it I immediately recognized that it wasn’t Hong Ki’s voice as his voice is recognizable from a mile away.

It finally became apparent when I saw the drama release the acoustic version of the same song. The lyrics are the same so I put both versions down below. It’s a pretty simple song and yet I find it addictive which is also how I feel about the drama as well.

Woo Hyun [Infinite] – 사랑이 올 때 (When Love Comes In)

우현 [인피니트] – 사랑이 올 때

Lee Hong Ki – 사랑이 올 때 (Acoustic ver.) (When Love Come In (Acoustic ver.))

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/01-ec82aceb9e91ec9db4-ec98ac-eb958c-acoustic-ver.mp3%20

이홍기 – 사랑이 올 때 (Acoustic ver.)

사랑이 올 때

사랑이 올 때는 나도 몰래
사랑이 올 때는 조심스레
사랑이 올 때는 소나기처럼
이게 사랑인가 봐
사랑이 올 때는 달콤하게
사랑이 올 때는 꿈을 꾸듯
날 감싸고 널 볼 때마다
마냥 행복한 듯 미소만
내 맘 들릴까
바람에 실어 보낼까
또 내 맘 보일까
남몰래 새겨 그릴까
세상 가득 사랑이란
말로 물들어 가면
기다릴게 사랑해
내 말 전해 줄 때까지
사랑을 할 때는 순수하게
사랑을 할 때는 바보처럼
사랑을 할 때는 아이처럼
지금 사랑하나 봐
사랑을 할 때는 솔직하게
사랑을 할 때는 아낌없이
다 주어도 행복 하단 건
지금 너를 사랑 하나 봐
내 맘 들릴까
바람에 실어 보낼까
또 내 맘 보일까
남몰래 새겨 그릴까
세상 가득 사랑이란
말로 물들어 가면
기다릴게 사랑해
내 말 전해 줄 때까지
너만 사랑한다고
아직 못한 나의 고백이
들리니 사랑이 오는 걸
너도 나와 같다면
내 말 들릴까
사랑에 빠진 내 말이
또 내 눈 보일까
사랑에 빠진 내 눈이
하루 종일 사랑이란
말만 나를 맴돌고
사랑할게 하늘도
우릴 지켜 줄 테니까

When Love Comes In

When love comes in without me knowing
When love comes in carefully
When love comes in like a rain shower
This must be love
When love comes in sweetly
When love comes in like a dream
Whenever I see you cover for me
Like I’m always happy just smiling
Can you hear my heart?
Cart it away on the wind
Again can you see my heart?
Secretly should I carve it somewhere?
The world is full of love
If I color it with words
I’ll wait for you, I love you
Until my words reach you
When you fall in love innocently
When you fall in love stupidly
When you fall in love like a child
I must be in love now
When you fall in love honestly
When you fall in love generously
Even if I give it all, I’m happy
I must be in love with you now
Can you hear my heart?
Cart it away on the wind
Again can you see my heart?
Secretly should I carve it somewhere?
The world is full of love
If I color it with words
I’ll wait for you, I love you
Until my words reach you
I love only you
Still haven’t done, my confession
Can you hear it? Love is on its way
If you are like me
Can you hear me?
My words admitting I’ve fallen in love
Again can you see my eyes?
My eyes showing I’ve fallen in love
All day long, love is
a word that circles me
I will love you because the heavens
will also watch over us

_____________________________________________________

Misaeng is entirely a different kind of drama with so many layers to peel back. Despite the somber cinematography, it’s not a sad drama. It’s a drama with sad moments but each episode usually ends with an uplifting thought or heartfelt message.

I can relate to each of the office newbies on the show from the clueless Jang Geu Rae (Im Shi Wan) or the smart, hardworking but underappreciated Ahn Young Yi (Kang Sora) to the annoying but happy-go-lucky Han Suk Ryul (Byun Yo Han) to the I’m too good to waste my time with the insignificant jobs Jang Baek Ki (Kang Ha Neul). The drama does an excellent job at showing the everyday ups and downs of their jobs.

Han Hee Jung’s “내일 (Tomorrow)” seems to really capture that daily, bittersweet vibe of the show. You work and you toil and what’s the result? And yet, I think the true gem of this show is capturing the small workplace victories. That’s what pushes you through to tomorrow.

Han Hee Jung – 내일 (Tomorrow)

한희정 – 내일

내일

모두가 돌아간 자리
행복한 걸음으로 갈까
정말 바라던 꿈들을 이룬걸까

밀렸던 숙제를 하듯
빼곡히 적힌 많은 다짐들
벌써 일어난 눈부신 해가보여

또 하루가 가고
내일은 또 오고
이 세상은 바삐 움직이고
그렇게 앞만 보며 걸어가란
아버지 말에 울고

셀수록 가슴이 아픈
엄마의 늘어만 가는 주름
조금 늦어도 괜찮단 입맞춤에

또 하루가 가고
내일은 또 오고
이 세상은 바삐 움직이고
그렇게 앞만 보며 걸어가란
아버지 말에

또 한참을 울고
다짐을 해보고
어제 걷던 나의 흔적들은
푸르른 하늘위로
나의 꿈을 찾아 떠나고
난 고집스런 내일 앞에 약속을 하고
매일

Tomorrow

The spot where everyone returns to
Shall I walk with happy steps?
Will my dreams I hoped for really become a reality?

Like doing homework that’s overdue
Like the many promises that’s been written down
See the sun that’s already risen

Another day passes
Tomorrow comes again
This world moves hurriedly
Walking only facing forward like that
Cry at my father’s words

My heart hurting immensely
My mom’s increasing wrinkles
Even if it’s a little late, an it’s okay kiss

Another day passes
Tomorrow comes again
This world moves hurriedly
Walking only facing forward like that
My father’s words

Cry again for a long time
Make promises
The traces of myself of my walk yesterday
Above in the blue skies
Go to find my dreams
In front of the stubborn tomorrow, I make a promise
Everyday

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/17/14

Leave a Reply

