Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/24/14

You can’t deny that ALi is a powerful, ballad singer. She certainly continues to showcase her talent in her latest mini album, “Turning Point”.

The album is filled with a number of songs about heartbreak and breaking up.  The album’s title track is “펑펑 (Crying Buckets)” is just that. The song is pretty catchy that I’m sure will make many fans will want to sing along at a noraebang.  The word “펑펑 (Pung Pung)*” is an onomatopoeia meaning to shed profusely and is using associated with crying or raining.

The song is pretty catchy that I’m sure will make a great track to sing at the noraebang.  However, ALi’s got a booming voice that projects the pain expressed in the word pung pung.   I’ve also heard that the music video is powerful because of the performances but unfortunately it’s not available in my country just yet.  I’ll update this post as soon as it is made available.

ALi – 펑펑 (Crying Buckets)

알리(Ali) – 펑펑

**엉엉 – Ung Ung meaning to wail. An onomatopoeia to emulate the sound of wailing.

펑펑*

그런표정 하지마요
아파 눈을 감으면
다정했던 모습과
너의 웃는 모습이 떠올라

잘지내란 말은마요
슬퍼지려 할때면
따뜻했던 목소리
자꾸 내귓가에 맴돌아서

오늘도 널 잊어보려 애써도
안감힘을 써봐도 잊혀지지가 않아

펑펑* 울고싶은 날엔
널 보고싶은 날엔
그리움이 울컥 차올라
미쳤나봐

엉엉** 울고싶은 날엔
널 안고싶은 날엔
사랑하나봐 난 아직도

그런말은 하지마요
점점 힘이들때면
사랑하단 말보다
차라리 모질게 떠나줘요

가네요 점점 멀어져 가네요
붙잠으려 해봐도 어쩔수가 없자나

펑펑 울고싶은 날엔
널 보고싶은 날엔
그리움이 울컥 차올라
미쳤나봐

엉엉 울고싶은 날엔
널 안고싶은 날엔
사랑하나봐 난 아직도

그래 이쯤에서
그만 놓아줘 이별했잖아
더이상 눈물 흘리고 싶지않아
사랑한 기억도
함께한 추억도 지워 지워

펑펑 울고싶은 날엔
널 보고싶은 날엔
그리움이 울컥 차올라
미쳤나봐

엉엉 울고싶은 날엔
널 안고싶은 날엔
사랑하나봐 난 아직도

Crying Buckets

Don’t look at me that way
Close my eyes because of the pain
Your tender image
Your smiling face comes to mind

Don’t say that you wish me well
Just as I’m feeling sad
Your warm voice
Keeps circling my ear

Even today I try to forget you
Though I try with all my strength, I can’t forget

On days when I want to cry buckets
On days when I miss you
My longing is suddenly filled to the brim
Must be crazy

On days when I want to cry audibly
On days when I want to hug you
I must still be in love with you

Don’t say those words to me
When things keep getting harder
Rather than saying you love me
It’s better if you treat me badly and leave

Leaving, little by little you’re getting farther away
Even if we tried to hold on, there’s no use

On days when I want to cry buckets
On days when I miss you
My longing is suddenly filled to the brim
Must be crazy

On days when I want to cry audibly
On days when I want to hug you
I must still be in love with you

Yeah, it’s about time
Stop and let me, we’ve broken up
I no longer want to cry anymore
Even recollections that we were in love
And memories we shared, erase, erase

On days when I want to cry buckets
On days when I miss you
My longing is suddenly filled to the brim
Must be crazy

On days when I want to cry audibly
On days when I want to hug you
I must still be in love with you

As is typical of diva vocalists, sometimes the focus is on their ability to belt out and hold a note but I think ALi is a multidimensional singer which is why I think she’s often chosen to sing Drama OSTs.  “취중전화 (Drunk Dialing)” is a song that shows more of ALi’s tender side.  It gives the feeling that the tale depicted in the song is occurring in the middle of the night hence the hushed tones and yet the pain is still tangible.  This song really showcases her maturity in her singing.

ALi – 취중전화 (Drunk Dialing)

알리(Ali) – 취중전화

취중전화

아무말이든 괜찮아
취해 하는 말 듣고만 있지만

전화해줘 참 고마워
그 말 난 못하겠지만

너무나 그리웠어요
내 이름 부르는 그대 목소리

잘 사냔 행복하냔 말에
가슴 메어 오지만

날 사랑한다고
나 없인 정말 안되겠다고

그대가 울지만 내 눈물을
그대가 볼 순 없지만

아무말 해줄 수 없어요
우린 이미 늦었죠

나도 보고 싶다고
한시도 잊어본 적 없다고

말하고 싶지만
돌아와 달라고 소리쳐
그댈 잡고 싶지만

전화길 잡고만 있죠
간신히 숨만 또 내쉬고 있죠

그대가 채 끊지 못한 채로
잠이 든 걸 알면서도

그대의 숨소릴 듣고있죠
우린 정말 늦었지만

Drunk Dialing

Any word is okay
Even though I’m listening to drunken words

Call me, I’m really thankful
Even though I can’t say those words

I really missed you
Calling my name, your voice

Asking if I’m doing well, if I’m happy
Even if my chest is about to burst

Saying that you love me
Saying that you can’t really live without me

Even if you’re crying, my tears
Is something that you can’t see

Unable to say anything
It’s already too late for us

Saying that I also miss you too
At the same time, haven’t forgot anything

I want to say that to you
Shout that I want you back
To hold on to you

Just holding onto the phone
Barely breathing and exhaling

Because you haven’t hung up the phone
Even if I know you’ve fallen asleep

I’m listening to you breathing
Even if it’s too late for us

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/24/14

Leave a Reply

